We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 202 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&Bs / inns

Hotel Esplanade Chambers

2, Chandni Chowk St | 2nd Floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700072, India
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Esplanade Chambers to your Saves list
Hotel Esplanade Chambers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Sachin S London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (89)
  • Photos (45)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    22
    2
    7
See reviews for
11
26
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is ideal for travellers like me on a budget. Extremely clean and well maintained with very friendly and polite service. The concierge is happy to offer suggestions on things do around the City and arrange for amenities like taxis, toiletries and medicines on request. Would highly recommend to friends who are visiting Calcutta on business or pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel last week... The rooms are of ok size, but bathrooms are not properly/clean....... It has the smallest lift I have ever seen.... 1 suitcase and 1 person at a time! .. People are rude... My mother asked water at 4:30 am and what we got is a rude answer that their service will only start... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this review

hello Thank you for writing the review .It is always a difficult task for an owner to digest a bad review. We will pay Greater importance to cleaner bathrooms . True...... the lift is custom made .as it is a period structure . The Waiters make sure that there is water etc in the room for the night . Which... More

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

New Delhi, India
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first impression was not great as it is located on a crowded street but they make up for this by providing excellent facilities. Given my budget, it was an ideal place for me to stay. They offer high-speed free wifi, complementary breakfast and laundry service. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the staff was very hospitable. The manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dont go by pics of room ..its taken by professional ...worst breakfast ..worst service They will give breakfast in your room nd only option will be puri sabzi nd omlete of poor quality Tv old fashiones of 90,s Ac will not have remote Dirty bedsheet ..dirty almirah....

Was this review helpful? Yes
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this review

Hi ,Thanks for your Review , True we are a B&B establishment and listed so on TRIPADVISOR site. Complimentary breakfast is simple. Being a simple B&B .we do not run a full kitchen ,but the boys are ever willing to fetch the food from well known nearby restaurant .Gypsy on the ground floor serves Indian and Chinese and the chain... More

Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We are using this hotel since two years, but the staff, services are so poor that this time we decided to change the hotel. Reception desk is so poorly managed that if you talk to reception person, he is so arrogant, we just cant tell you. Food facility is also not good. they use to bring food from outside for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for writing a review . As you are an old guest .and you have had a bad experience this visit . Please email me At info@esplanadechambers.com, at length ,so that i can understand where we slipped up and rectify the issue . We would not like to lose an old guest . Your reviews go a long... More

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a decent room which was spacious and suited to our needs. My room mate is a smoker, there was a huge bay window with a ledge where she could smoke. There were trellises outside our window where we hung out laundry for drying. The floors were marble even the bathroom. We had a huge tub and hot water.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Google map is wrong, if u want to navigate, put these coordinates: 30.20877009999999; 74.9586868. We (with parents and a small baby) stayed in two deluxe AC rooms and worth every penny (1400 per night, through Go Ibibo). Had some heat labile medicines, which the manager Aftab kindly helped to place in hotel freezer. Clean rooms, clean linen, bath. everything is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Don't let the neighbourhood put you off, the hotel room itself is clean and spacious. Stayed in room with the twin beds and the bathroom came with a bath tub! The staff is really friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is decent, and the lift is a novelty in itself Definitely a good place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

After having a bit of a rough time with the hassles of sudder street, I checked into Hotel Esplenade Chambers with my wife hoping for a relaxing time and to just feel perfectly safe. This was the case for us in spades. The first two nights of our stay we were in a room that costs roughly £20 and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is very average overall. The room in which i stayed, was very dull lite. The bed sheets reminded me of a hospital room. They only change the bed covers every alternate day. The location being an electronic market hub is not so good for women to stay. We always had trouble... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Esplanade Chambers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Esplanade Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Chambers

Address: 2, Chandni Chowk St | 2nd Floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700072, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esplanade Chambers India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in central kolkata ,Esplanade Chambers is a neat and clean BUDGET hotel .Offering complimentary breakfast and high speed internet connection .All the rooms are aircondditioned and bathrooms have running hot water.We are two minutes walk from Chandney Metro Station and very near to the various tourist spots of the city. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

See which rooms travelers prefer