We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Darjeeling hotels

Seven Seventeen

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   H.D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Seven Seventeen to your Saves list
Seven Seventeen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #21 of 78 hotels in Darjeeling
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014
dr_amitabh New Delhi, India
  • Overview
  • Reviews (179)
  • Photos (81)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (59)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    82
    17
    13
    16
See reviews for
58
63
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jammu City, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked package through Yatra.com. On our arrival the room shown to us ( 404) was in a terrible condition and on our prolonged arguments room was changed which was bit tolerable but with windows opening to a narrow street and facing local residential building with no privacy. On our arguments the manager told us to check out if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is not ur intention to anoint but apprise you with a fact that Room no 404 is a must sought room among rooms to stay because firstly it is wooden and as a result warm but dont know what happened that you did not like the room. Sir our hotel is a personally owned property every guests... More

mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

While hotel is near to main market the road leading to hotel is very narrow and there is continuous smell of garbage next to the main reception. Our room was filthy with stained bedsheet. We could hardly sleep and could not stay there for more than 8 hours.The restaurant had too many flies and breakfast was pathetic. The hotel does... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay here with us. Hotel Seven Seventeen is a family run hotel, me i look after the general administration, wife looks after the purchase,brother looks after the production department and my sister in law looks after the laundry and cleanliness of the hotel after all this is our only way... More

Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Plus points first: 1. Proximity to main taxi stand (about 15 to 25 minutes by walk) and to Nehru Road (where good restaurants are - about 10 minutes by walk). 2. Receptionist helped us with arranging taxi for local sight-seeing at reasonable rate at short notice (though that teenaged driver turned out at the end of the day to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review

Dear Guest first of all I would like to inform you that you have stayed in New Heritage 717 which is a different hotel by seeing through the photographs which you have uploaded. This pictures are not of our hotel . Hotel Seven Seventeen and New Heritage Seven Seventeen are 2 diffferent properties having different entrances,rates, facilities, and also different... More

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Good rooms , Nice staff and above average restaurant. The only issue is that the access is very crowded but then that is true for all hotels in Darjeeling. The hotel is located at a walking distance from all major markets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midnapore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel seven seventeen is very comfortable for us...room service is up to the mark...circumstances in the hotel is good... the negative point is ...the hotel situated in the market... the short route from hotel to mall is very narrow and tough...and there is no street lamp.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are yearning for a taste of the local flavor, want to get a close look at the tibetan culture & heritage and enjoy some really delicious tibetan food (momos, thukpa et al), you should look no further than seven seventeen. We stayed here in Dec 2013 around new year's time. The stay was really pleasant. The rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

As charming as the town of Darjeeling, we truly enjoyed this 5 story hotel close to jeep taxi drop off, great shops, the main market and good restaurants. We found it very central and enjoyed the views over the town. We only walked a block or three with our bags from the jeep taxi rank that came from Sikkim. At... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

As per tripadvisor it is showing as a 3 star hotel but my booking is confirmed in new heritage seven seventeen which i dont think is a 3 star hotel. The rooms are not upto the mark. Room service is not well that much. Also the room is too small there is no towell in the bathroom. There is no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had stayed at the hotel for two days in May 2014 and it was a pathetic experience. The prices charged were close to Rs.5000/- per night but the room wasnt worth it. The hotel looks very gloomy although the rooms have been decorated in Tibetan style as shown on the website. The bathrooms need renovation and hot water is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for giving detailed information regarding your experiences staying here with us. Sir I would like to inform you that when the management made this hotel at H D Lama Road the roads were broad neat and clean but after the Gorkhaland agitation every nook and street corner building has mushroomed and also no of... More

bangalore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Getting to this hotel will be a task in itself , because of narrow roads and all the parking etc, . Every corner you see tibetan art facts and they have good souvenir shop in the lobby . Hot water is only limited period of time and bathroom anglo indian commode is a bit of a disappointment . Feel rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for giving detailed information regarding your experiences staying here with us. Sir I would like to inform you that when the management made this hotel at H D Lama Road the roads were broad neat and clean but after the Gorkkhaland agitation every nook and street corner bulding has mushroomed and also no of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Seven Seventeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Address: H.D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seven Seventeen 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
44

See which rooms travelers prefer