We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Everest

Certificate of Excellence
1 A.J.C. Bose Road | Near Circuit House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Everest
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Villa Everest
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    43
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at Villa Everest for 2 nights and I was truly impressed by its large rooms with a fire place & one gets great views of Mt. Kanchendzonga from the rooms. It is a family run hotel, Mrs Nita Edwards the owner makes sure the guests have a memorable stay at Darjeeling. Also on Check In one gets a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is family run, has limited rooms, all of them facing the mountains. Rooms were delightful,huge, with sitting areas, one of the rooms had a fireplace...don't know if it was working as we went in June.Our room was on the first floor. The mall is quite a walk more than 10 mins from the hotel.Food was good not great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorhat, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My travel agent tricked me into taking this hotel promising value for money deluxe property and great online reviews. etc....but the hands on experience was shocking. Its a very very average joint. With average rooms and poor meals and service. The so called "Deluxe" room given to me was squeezed in between a small reception with loud phone bells ringing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MonlomRongong, Owner at Villa Everest, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We would like to thank you for your feedback on our property. We regret that your experience at Villa Everest was not up to your standards. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced. However we would like to point out a few things that you have mentioned: 1. As you had booked from a travel agent we do... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are travelling to Darjeeling, this hotel can be a perfect choice. It is 10 minutes walk from Mall road and the rooms are lovely. It has a great homely feel too. The room heater was complimentary during our stay. With regard to the food, please ensure you order everything in advance and give them at least 45 minutes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonlomRongong, Owner at Villa Everest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for you great review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading our menu. We would like to welcome you back to Villa Everest and give us an opportunity to serve you better. Thank you More 

Kolkata
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A quaint little bunglow, you will love Villa Everest the moment you see the white building. If you happen to be in spring, you will be greeted by a Rhododendron tree beside the main gate blooming in absolute red. You will also be greeted by a warm pot of Darjeeling tea by the hosts as you check in. Villa Everest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MonlomRongong, Owner at Villa Everest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reviewing us on tripadvisor. It has bought us great joy going through your review and the pleasure has been ours. We hope to have you here with us again and sending you our love from all of us here at Villa Everest. More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

The most wonderful holiday ever in Darjeeling last February. We were in attic room no 10 from 22nd till 26th February having sweeping views of the Kanchenjunga peaks. A large toilet with power showers in a large cubicle. Electric blankets and room heaters in room. Large room with a sit out area very well maintained. Mrs. Edwards and her team... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MonlomRongong, Owner at Villa Everest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will visit us again and give us another opportunity to serve you better. Thank You More 

Maldives
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Had a lovely and comfortable stay in this lovely Hotel in Feb 2015. Though had a couple of glitches too.The restaurant food was average and everyday they tried to close it early and kept on saying different closing times. As we know of that Darjeeling always has a shortage of electricity so on the first night the management decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MonlomRongong, Owner at Villa Everest, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for reviewing us in TripAdvisor. Firstly I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay here at Villa Everest. The reason we had to switch off the generator at night was due to the fact that we had a old generator that did not provide the power necessary and could break down... More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We were there for 2 nights....wifi speed is very very slow.....also the room heater charges as 250 per night is too high as compare to size and capacity of the heater....nice food...nice view from rooms...overall good hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MonlomRongong, Owner at Villa Everest, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for your review of our property. We apologize for the WiFi speed which was due to some technical issues that our Internet service provider was facing. Regarding the room heaters we had to charge extra as we give very low rates during the off season and hence cannot cover the cost of heaters. However we... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We stayed two nights at Villa Everest. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, although we were chilly at night with no heater in the room. We liked the location which was a short walk from the main part of Darjeeling.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MonlomRongong, Owner at Villa Everest, responded to this review

We at Villa Everest thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us. We will improve on the matter that you have mentioned. We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you better. More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Firstly, the reservation process was quite easy as it was done by contacting Mrs. Nita Edwards and paying a booking amount. We took the attic room on the top floor with an unobstructed view of the surroundings. We got he first view of the the Kanchendzonga range from the room and we were indeed very excited. The hotel is located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MonlomRongong, Owner at Villa Everest, responded to this review

Thank You for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of expanding the menu and hope that the next time you visit us that you will get to experience the changes. Thank you once again for your feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question