We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Darjeeling B&Bs / inns

Hotel Sanderling

2.0 of 5 Inn   |   H.D. Lama Road, | Darjeeling, Darjeeling 734101, India
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sanderling to your Saves list
Hotel Sanderling
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
43%
Ranked #53 of 78 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
  • Overview
  • Reviews (42)
  • Photos (14)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    1
    6
    17
See reviews for
27
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked it for 3 days and it was an disappointment. The entrance is the worst possible entrance for a hotel in a tourist spot. Lots of stairs towards to entrance and then lots of stairs up to the room. Employees are friendly but the service was not so good. The food was ok. For winter, they charge very high... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are try to improve ourselves. I hope that on next time visit you will surely send us positive review. More

Bangalore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its very near the main taxi stand. You will have to walk through a few very narrow lanes and climb a few steps to get to this hotel. Its a dark and dungy place and for once you will be surprised to know you have already entered a hotel (reception seems more like a garage which has carpets and couch).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review

Dear Sir, You have booked the room on double sharing basis through makemytrip but you have one child which age is not in complementary stage. So we just tell them to pay the extra amount to the hotel end but he is totally refuse the part. For that reason he is sending this type of reviews. Our Hotel Sanderling, Darjeeling... More

Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I agree with the SandyM. I stayed in it for 2 nights ( My worst hotel in past 8 years ) It is really a horrible place to stay. The property is not worth even the half of the price they charge you. Very poorly managed shabby location, small rooms with filthy furniture and rags. the managers are not polite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review

First of all we are providing the guest Super Deluxe Kanchenjunga view room which is showing in our hotel website page. At that time of their check in the rainy season is going on so he gets the shabby thing. We are try to satisfy his all the requirement from our end but I think he is expecting more like... More

Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Wrost location, approach to the hotel is stinky. Even please do not book any hotel on HD Lama road as this road is pathetic. Hotel is horrible. These guys are maintaining a very nice website and also their price is very high, which makes you belive that this is a good hotel. There is no view from the hotel. All... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review

Dear Sir, What ever you are saying this actually wrong thing, He has book the room in Deluxe Non View so obviously he can get the view from room and one of the main thing is that as they did not take the extra bed so we just refund the amount to them in hotel end. Also there is one... More

ahmedabad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Visited on 30th April to 2nd May.....The location of Darjeeling hotel -Sanderling was very bad even though the hotel was good from inside. We were on the 5th floor of the hotel and surprisingly there was no lift. other hotels like seven-seventeen -seven seas seems to be better for their location (no idea about their rooms or lift). The approach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review

Our hotel is in Valley not in Road and for that reason we have good view of Kanchenjunga from our maximum of Rooms. And only few of four star category of hotels in Darjeeling have the lift facility. Our staffs behave are very good. Kindly remove the review from Tripadvisor. More

Bangalore, India
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Please dont even think of going to this place. It was booked through some person we knew through someone else and it is by far the worst experience we have had with hotels. Its got the worst entrance. Nothing has been done to make the hotel look hospitable. For the same price trust me, you will get much better hotels.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Indore, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just one and simple advice from me - dont ever think of this hotel if u r planning a vacation . 1st location of this hotel is so gloomy and pathetic , u need to walk 10 minutes form main road then there are steep steps to rise to reach the hotel, it feels like u r in a village... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review

As per the website whatever pics are showing is true pics. And food and hospitality service is very good in our hotel . Actually he just book the room in deluxe non view room but he is demanding for Kanchenjunga View Room in same price which is not possible. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Last year I have visited Darjeeling and stayed in this hotel. 100% advance was already paid, after getting so much promises. Based on the prices, we have paid, I have the following observations for those persons, who are willing to stay in this hotel - 1. Had to wait almost 1 hour, as because rooms were not cleaned (we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review

Total information whatever he is providing in Trip Advisor is absolutely wrong thing. We maintain our room service as well food. More

New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had booked the hotel room after researching on the internet. Everything seemed fine. But when we got there it was extremely difficult to locate the hotel, only one of the phone numbers provided was working, it was the manager's who said he would send someone, but then he called back, we have to find the way ourselves by asking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nandyal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Not recommended. Very bad location, v have to pay Rs.60 to coolie to reach there as no vehicle access possible. They hv charged Rs.60 for cards which we never wanted. No room heater. Not advisable at all. Not much clean.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GLRHotel, Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review

Our hotel is just 17 to 18 down stairs from main road., we hope for this reason collie is not required. If any one just make a call to our hotel reception or manager we will provide service boy to collect luggage from guest.room heater is on extra charges basis. Rooms are on regular cleaning basis - if any guest... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Sanderling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Sanderling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanderling

Address: H.D. Lama Road, | Darjeeling, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sanderling 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sanderling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Sanderling is happy to welcome you in Darjeeling!Situated in the heart of town ,Hotel Sanderling has something more to offer rather than just a mere hotel. With its motto being "Where Hospitality is a way of Life", the Family of Hotel Sanderling ensures that its Guests are treated with 'utmost' hospitality. Nestling in the lap of the Himalayas Darjeeling is the destination for that lazy Holiday when you need to soothe those. Soak up all that Darjeeling has to offer – the walk, the trek, the nature. Long walks, Explore Nature ,History, Trekking, Rafting, Orchids, Himalayas, Buddhism, Or just somewhere to collect your thoughts. ITS ALL HERE!!!!!!!!! We offer you a ticket to transport yourself to a world where time stands still, pollution and noise are unheard of and natural beauty is at your doorstep. Welcome to Hotel Sanderling -- Where Hospitality is a way of life. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer