We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 336 Chennai (Madras) hotels

The Residency

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.49, G.N.Chetty Road,, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Residency to your Saves list
The Residency
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #31 of 336 hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
866Meera Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (256)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (60)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    142
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
56
26
31
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great stay for five nights ,helpful staff. Room was good . The bathroom should have a hand shower better for women instead of wall shower. Toiletries should be provided whether requested or not. At the restaurant food was okay but got boring after the third day. Same fruits everyday, since the mango season is on not one day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings. At the outset I would like to thank you for posting your feedback on the Tripadvisor. I was glad to know that your stay was comfortable. I have made a note of the suggestions highlighted by you and would like to assure you that it would be implemented soon. Looking forward to personally welcoming you back... More

Dhaka Division, Bangladesh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front desk was very helpful, Room service is quite good. The room was comfortable and clean. The wise think to deliver the daily newspaper. But there is no toothbrush, no toothpaste. Breakfast was quite ok. Buffet dinner price is reasonable. I think is good for travelers. Easy communication to everywhere. There is a Big Shopping Mall POTHYs just beside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings. I would like to thank you for taking out some of your valuable time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to know that your stay was comfortable. You have highlighted the absence of certain amenities in the room. I would like to inform you that the same are being provided... More

Tiruchirappalli, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Utter waste for money, no proper room service, the hot kettle was dirty, no brush, no paste, no bath slippers, late room service.... ultimately a waste of money!! Utter waste for money, no proper room service, the hot kettle was dirty, no brush, no paste, no bath slippers, late room service.... ultimately a waste of money!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings At the outset I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had to go through during your recent visit to our hotel. I have made a note of the points that you have highlighted and I will ensure that remedial measures are implemented immediately. As you know that we are a hotel... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. City was very hot but Air Condition was working very good everywhere in the hotel. Room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was limited for continental breakfast lovers but still a good choice who can not eat spicy meals in the morning. There are three wheelers autos!! in front of the hotel but you need to be careful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings. I would like to thank you for taking out a few moments to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. It was pleasing to know that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel. We at The Residency truly value your feedback and sincerely hope that you would give us many more opportunities to serve you in the... More

Thanjavur, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Seems to be a very popular hotel. They have a nice 24 hour check in policy which came in handy. Only one of our booked rooms was ready at 6AM and the other took nearly an hour, with us gradually losing patience, in spite of ample forewarning. The rooms themselves are well equipped, small though, with even an LAN port... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings. I would like to thank you for taking out a few moments to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was glad to know that your stay at The Residency was comfortable. Looking forward to personally welcoming you back to The Residency. With best wishes D.Charles Fabian General Manager More

mumbai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

stayed in this hotel for 2nights. Great hospitality as usual. Missed the Thursday music session as we were too occupied. Hotel GM Char(ming)les was kind enough to personally meet and greet us, The new symbolic welcome by placing the hand on the heart (H2H) was very nice. We saw this being practiced religiously by one and all which indicates the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Greetings. I would like to thank you for taking out some time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our services. Your observations on our greeting the guest with HwH was delighting. It will motivate the staff to serve you better. Looking forward to personally welcoming you... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The rooms are clean (obviously with a bit of wear and tear) and the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is quite modern and the food quality is of a high standard. It was easy to commute from the hotel as autos were always running outside the lobby. A pleasant stay. I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings. I would like to thank you for taking out some time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to know that your recent stay at The Residency was comfortable. Looking forward to a long term relationship with you and personally welcoming you to The Residency. With best wishes D.Charles Fabian General... More

Pune
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Very clean, great breakfast, smart well trained staff. Located in deep interiors of Chennai, during peak hours it takes a while just to get on to mount road but great location if you want to shop in T nagar area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings. At the outset I would like to thank you for taking out time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. I was glad to know that your stay at our property was comfortable. Looking forward to personally welcoming you to The Residency. With Best Wishes D.Charles Fabian General Manager More

Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My second stay at this hotel was as good as the first one. Perfect hotel for the business traveler - large buffet spread, free breakfast, free wifi, same prices for double occupancy, great location and a GYM!!

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings. I would like to thank you for taking out time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to know that your second visit to our property has been comfortable. I sincerely hope that you would give us many more opportunities to serve you in the future. Looking forward to personally welcoming... More

new jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have stayed many times at this hotel, they have maintained the property well. the construction in the hotel is over. The breakfast buffet is free and a grand spread. the staff is pleasant and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings. At the outset I would like to thank you for taking out some time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to know that your stay was comfortable. Our allegiance to personalized services lies in your feedback and encouragement. Looking forward to personally welcoming you back to The Residency. With best... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency

Address: No.49, G.N.Chetty Road,, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style
#18 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras) #22 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras) #22 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras) #28 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
112

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Residency and other travelers.
1 question
13 days ago

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer