We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deccan Plaza

Hotel website
36 Royapettah High Road | Royapettah, Chennai (Madras) 600014, India
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deccan Plaza
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Deccan Plaza
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    78
    45
    15
    16
See reviews for
51
16
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

an affordable rate, with a convenient location , that is what makes the stay good. the washrooms need a little make over, apart from that it was a pleasant stay in deccan plaza. parking facility is available.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear Guest, We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed couple of days @ Deccan Plaza and found the hotel to be decent enough for a family to stay. The good thing is it is in an excellent location. The room was not so flashy. The complement breakfast provided by them was good and we felt the staff were polite enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear Guest, We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is very good , well maintained and good ambiance. The breakfast was very good, with a lot of variety.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Guest, We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Deccan Plaza on January 20th for a night. The rooms are reasonably sized The place seems quite old. There was a constant sound from the room's AC which was quite irritating. The food in the restaurant during the dinner and breakfast was quite good and food also tasted nice. The staff was friendly.Overall, a very basic place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Ms.Karishma S, Greetings from Deccan Plaza Hotels!!! It was both our privilege and our pleasure to have you at our Hotel “Deccan Plaza”, during your brief sojourn. We wish to thank you for graciously posting your comments on Tripadvisor, as it is on the basis of your valuable feedback that we can focus on areas that need our immediate... More 

South Ari Atoll
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The worst experience. Wanted to Book room online. Asked these guys why there is a huge difference between their quote and online rates. They told me why are you wasting our time, if you want to book online. I unfortunately discovered this online discount after having paid advance to Hotel. They refused to entertain/ explain and did not refund my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Guest, Greetings... Online price will be less as per terms & conditions, If you have any payment pending from hotel kindly mail us the the details to fom@deccanhotels.com or contact +91 9840946105, Regards, John Irudhaya Raj.M Front Office Manager. More 

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

I stayed at Deccan Plaza in April 15 for a night. The good thing about this hotel is its excellent location which is quite close to the Marina beach. The rooms are reasonably sized but the hotel has obviously seen better days. The place seems quite old although i saw some efforts to modernize the place. The room I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Deccan Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Deccan Plaza Hotels!!! It was both our privilege and our pleasure to have you at our Hotel “Deccan Plaza”, during your brief sojourn. We wish to thank you for graciously posting your comments on Trip advisor, as it is on the basis of your valuable feedback that we can focus on areas that need our immediate... More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I have been staying at this property since 2012. Looks like the maintenance of rooms is not on the agenda for the Management. Beds are very hard. Risk of developing cramps are high. Restaurant staff are too young to handle discerning customers. Arrangements for a Buffet at the start is good. After couple of servings the place is in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Deccan Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Deccan Plaza Hotels!!! It was both our privilege and our pleasure to have you at our Hotel “Deccan Plaza”, during your brief sojourn. We wish to thank you for graciously posting your comments on Trip advisor, In all rooms Hard beds changed last year, as it is on the basis of your valuable feedback that we... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

The place is pretty comfortable. The room has basic amenities and the staff is very helpful. The ambience of the place is also very nice. Pretty decent place to stay for a couple of days. Location is also very convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Deccan Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I had high expectations from this 4 star Hotel but experienced it to be comparable to any 2 star property. The room is just okay and lack few very basic things like hand towel, good shower, snacks and chips to munch if you are hungry midnight. The room has very peculiar floor which is sticky and one cannot walk a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Dear Guest, Greetings from Deccan Plaza Hotels!!! It was both our privilege and our pleasure to have you at our Hotel “Deccan Plaza”, during your brief sojourn. We wish to thank you for graciously posting your comments on Trip advisor, as it is on the basis of your valuable feedback that we can focus on areas that need our immediate... More 

Mysore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We stayed at this hotel when we had to visit the US consulate at Chennai. It is conveniently located close to both offices of the US consulate and its definitely recommended for people coming for the same purpose. Besides this, here is a general review of the hotel: Pros: >Well mannered staff who are sincere in their efforts to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

Dear Guest, Greetings from Deccan Plaza Hotels!!! It was both our privilege and our pleasure to have you at our Hotel “Deccan Plaza”, during your brief sojourn. We wish to thank you for graciously posting your comments on Trip advisor, as it is on the basis of your valuable feedback that we can focus on areas that need our immediate... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay