We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shalimar Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel deals
August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
The Shalimar Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 399 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
SP61 Chicago, Illinois
Add Photo

395 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    227
    96
    41
    17
    14
See reviews for
93
58
61
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (395)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had stayed here years ago and based on my experience stayed again. Once again a wonderful stay.I had a nice spacious room, with super comfortable mattresses. The food as last time was really good especially the Indian cuisine. The pastry shop had some real treats. Very convenient location and really good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. 1-My brother and I came in to the hotel with a Makemytrip booking, and we were made to wait for an hour and then we were declined check-in. 2-When I asked for a reason for why they declined our check-in, they said "your age is not appropriate" while holding my driver's license which clearly proves that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first destination on our brief 2 week holiday to India,we started with Mumbai. chose this hotel on recommendations then followed by positive reviews on Trip Advisor.Happy with our stay here,we had 2 rooms and we all enjoyed the city and this lovely small boutique hotel. The staff are very nice. Rooms are very good and the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had stayed in this hotel on my last visit to India. It was going to be an overnight stay so I decided to stay here again. I was flying back home via Mumbai. The hotel was very good, staff were efficient, I remember the Indian food being very good in the hotel restaurant. Met an old friend for dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A really good hotel made the even better by the exceptional service given by:- Gerry the evening Maitre de and the following waiters whose names we got to know:- Damodar Nerru Abhrohec Arun Not forgetting our room valet, Baban

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear O D Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us. We are pleased to note that you had a good stay with us and were happy with our services. We look forward to your continued patronage and support. ThanQ Best regards Manoj Mathew General Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice and comfortable hotel situated in the prime South bombay location or Sobo as it is called;the rooms I must say were tastefully done We had 2 rooms and they very nice Accomodating and very friendly staff Good breakfast spread and good Indian cuisine in the restaurant You must try the pastry shop

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DavidMorin11 Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us. It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to all our guests. Your words does indicate that we are moving in the right direction. We look forward to your continued patronage and support. ThanQ Best regards... More 

Seinajoki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my 3 friends were in Shalimar hotel for 3,5 weeks. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Special thanks for receptions boys Joseph and Omkar for good advices what to do on free-time and weekends in Mumbai. I hope that we will come back there someday!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear voivoi123 Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us. We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were happy with our services. We look forward to your continued patronage and support. ThanQ Best regards Manoj Mathew General Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I liked this hotel, personalised service, good and clean rooms. Its an inexpensive hotel as compared to the other 5 star hotels in South Bombay. Its a 4 star hotel but good in all ways. Only no pool. But overall excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrea12osp Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us. We are pleased to note that you had an excellent stay with us and have carried back fond memories. We look forward to your continued patronage and support. ThanQ Best regards Manoj Mathew General Manager More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Shalimar for two weeks may 2015 a nice 4star hotel with nice staff,but must compliment the restaurant staff,Damodar,Abhishek,Arun,and chef Ramesh,i must say these guys were fantastic,i was in Mumbai for some dental work and was struggling to eat the buffet breakfast,restaurant staff to the rescue without prompting made me something off the menu everyday fab!! 4 star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick w Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us. We are pleased to note that you were very happy with your stay and our services. We look forward to your continued patronage and support. ThanQ Best regards Manoj Mathew More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited a batch mate staying here. Toilet exhaust not working resulting in foul smell in corridor & rooms. Wi Fi didn't connect. Housekeeping pathetic. Carpets weren't shampooed. Too much noise from road in room. Acoustic insulation is a must here. Gulmarg Restaurant food is good but too noisy. Reception staff don't even wish! Forever glued on to desktop! Only positive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rajesh M Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your visit to the hotel. We have never claimed to be a complaint free hotel, as “service” is a relative issue, wherein the same level of service can be viewed as outstanding on one hand and absolutely poor on the other. We have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay