We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bentley's Hotel

17, Oliver Road, | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Hotel amenities
Bentley's Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #137 of 391 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015
MrRehanShaikh Ahmedabad, India
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    87
    66
    27
    39
See reviews for
19
84
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (233)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I have stayed twice here. The first time I got a good room with shining tiles, fair-sized bathroom and good service in the building where the reception is.. This time I opted for the building across the road since they had a balcony room there. The room, although brighter than the previous one, was less cleaner. The tiles were dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We stayed here twice in early 2015, in 2 different rooms. General points about the place: Good: Hot water Friendly staff Great location Mainly quiet Not so good: One room full of mosquitoes (main building) Extra mattress provided on floor really hard Expensive wifi Breakfast included but really low quality Overall I'd recommend it. Mosquito nets would have improved sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grenoble, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for a week, I saw the goods and the bads of this hotel. Goods: staff are friendly, smiling and helpful when asked calling taxis and fares. The reception is open 24hrs, no time dragging when checking out at 6am. Bads: no credit card accepted, whereas the room price is considerably high comparing other places in India. The room is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I stayed at this hotel. The room and bathroom were clean and staffs were kind. If you want a cheaper room of this hotel, then choose no window room. The room has no window but is not dark.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

When we arrived in Mumbai, we found out that we haven ´t a confirmation from the hotel and we were without accommodation ... but luckily Bentley's hotel was very courteous and although we didn´t have a reservation, they have free room for us!!! This is a good value hotel in a great location /our Indian´s friend recomend the Colaba location/... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

This is a good value hotel in a great location, just a short walk to the Gateway of India. We had a triple room which was large and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this for a budget stay in Mumbai.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

I stayed at Bentleys on the first and last nights of a fortnight holiday in India. On the first night it was fine - overpriced, but clean and central. On the last night however, our room was broken into while we slept - and my phone was taken. The night staff were shocked and helpful - but since then, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Homi K, Manager at Bentley's Hotel, responded to this review

The reason we were unwilling to write the letter as desired by the customer was because: All rooms in our hotel have internal latches which are independent of the key and cannot be opened from outside. Even the window has not only a safety grilled but also fine mesh for mosquito protection with no chance of any entry or theft.... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 and found it great value for money. It's in a really central location and in a nice street. We stayed in building across the road from main hotel and we were more than happy with our room. Huge room with 4 beds and A/C. Had tea and coffee free and great security.Staff very helpful to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ystrad Mynach, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Overpriced for what you get- basic room with en suite (rough guides quoted prices have gone up to 1740 rupees for cheapest room), but not too bad for Mumbai. Staff were friendly, and the service was fine. Location is really good, right in the middle of Colaba, so you don't need to spend much time in the hotel. Major failing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Bentley's is full of character, an old hold in an historic district, but that is about all it has. The rooms are spacious but old, the furnishings barely functional, the breakfast basic but edible. Hotels in Mumbai are expensive and you don't get much for your money. If you want a very cheap place to stay in the heart of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question