We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 95 Shimla hotels

Hotel Surya

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Circular Road, Near Victory Tunnel | Himachal Pradesh, Shimla 171003, India
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Surya to your Saves list
Hotel Surya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
35%
Ranked #70 of 95 hotels in Shimla
  • Overview
  • Reviews (102)
  • Photos (34)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • More
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    28
    14
    31
See reviews for
44
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall given a choice I would have given this hotel 0 stars for lack of professionalism, hospitality, courtesy, warmth, ambience, safety, hygiene, culture. Specially avoid considering lack of generator and poor unhygienic kitchen. The owner was around and he was least interested in checking on the issues, he is only interested in minting money. I visited Shimla on 4th July... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Dear Sir, We thank you for your feedback. We are very unhappy to learn that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us . We have been serving guests since the past 26 years and the title of your feedback is not very pleasing and to state the same would be misleading. Everyone works to make money but being... More

Ludhiana, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

hotel surya is just 'osum'!!and its even better when u have to stay for 3-4 days or more!!totally value-for-money hotel!! it was the most memorable trip.. :) the service was also excellent....i'm loving it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear Sir Greetings of the day.....................................! Thanks for selecting our services for your Shimla trip with your family. We are also very thankful to for writing us. We are in the process to make your stay comfortable and rejoice-full. All major changes that were required has been done to make your journey more comfortable. Also enjoy this winter with us.... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Still staying in this hotel .. get warm welcome by front desk person but never seen a single smile on service staff. Very poor food quality in fact I can say very high prices of food and management use to provide very cheaper quality raw materials for kitchen. Not a single trained chef/ quality control supervisor is appointed. I am... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had i got little time to check about this hotel on Trip Advisor, I would have gone with the common wisdom of fellow friends of Trip Advisor and would have avoided this hotel. But its a matter of fate that I stayed in this hotel. I can certainly call this is as The Worst hotel I have ever stayed. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Management response:

Dear Sir, Thanks for your feedback. We apologize to the fact that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We agree that electricity has been a troublesome factor since the past few months due to which the lifts were not working. However we are shortly in the process of making an electricity back up provision for the same. Thanks... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The stay here was a complete disappointment. Surely not value for money. Rooms: We were first given the rooms which was so super tiny that we had no place to keep the luggage or walk around the room. That room's bathroom was stinking. We had to manage there for one night and then we were shifted to a better room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in this hotel and it was an awful experience! The bed sheets were stained, smelly and dirty. There was no hot water to the shower, no toilet paper in the bathroom and the general cleanliness was appalling. We had a restless nights sleep and couldn't wait to leave. Avoid this hotel at all costs!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

Dear Sir/Madam Greetings of the day....................! Thanks for your visit to our Hotel. Also thank for writing us. We apologies for inconvenience you faced during your trip. We are now in the process to keep things in a systematic manner. At the time of your stay Hotel was under some major renovations. So tings were not in proper channel. At... More

Dehradun, India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

No power back up No water No proper room service. Untidy rooms I irresponsible staff and management. Fake pricing and provide fake agents for city tours trip advisor is big company you must check the status of hotels before offering a star rating or place in your website. You must take care of that so that the client will not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear sir, Thanks for your feedback. We apologise for the discomfort caused to you during your stay. Water shortage is one of the biggest problems in the city but we would like to inform you that we have our own boring of water. We are working on getting the power back up facility and soon should have the same. The... More

Ghaziabad, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

It was a good hotel. Buffet was great. Has old and new wing. New wing is better. Close to mall road. Worth visiting again. Thanks. Food was great. Bathrooms could be better . Kid friendly. Hygiene was good. Parking constraints

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Dear Sir Greetings form Hotel Surya Shimla............................ Thanks for visiting us. Thanks for writing us. Your feedback and experience will help other visitors to find suitable destination in Shimla. Visit us again Thanks N Regards Team Hotel Surya Shimla. More

New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We travelled to Shimla during Feb 14th till Feb 17th 2014.We booked a Deluxe room at Hotel Surya.This is a 'Value for Money' hotel due to several reasons: 1.The location is good.Mall Road shopping area is just a few stairs away. 2.Hotel has its own parking and is easily accessible by vehicles which is a great convenience as you don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Dear Sir, Thanks for your valuable feedback. We are very happy to read your review regarding our well located hotel in the heart of the city with adequate parking and close proximity to the Mall road. Thank you for appreciating our staff. Your feedback would be a good source of encouragement for them. Our rooftop restaurant definitely is a good... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very good location and better priced compared to others. 3 star rating describes it aptly. you can walk down to mall road. carry your own toiletries and towel. insist on a valley view room as other rooms are not so well maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Dear Mr.Joshi, Thanks for your valuable feedback. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our good location and our close connectivity to the Mall road. Regarding the toiletries and the towels we are working on the same and shall definitely improve the same. We welcome you again in the near future, Thanks n regards Team Hotel Surya More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Surya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Surya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya

Address: Circular Road, Near Victory Tunnel | Himachal Pradesh, Shimla 171003, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Surya 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Shimla

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on circular Road, and connected to Mall Road (5-10 minutes walk) by Hotel's own elevators. The hotel has 60 elegantly designed guest rooms including Deluxe Rooms, Luxury Room, Honeymoon suites, Executive Suites and Super Deluxe Family Suites. We offer most modern guest amenities, which include in room Tea / Coffee Maker, Digital Cable , WIFI Internet connectivity, CCTV at reception, Travel desk, In-house laundry service and doctor on call.Delicious dining options at ‘’ 180 Degree Roof Top - a multi cuisine Restaurant’ that will satisfy your taste buds. - From an appetizing breakfast to light snacks and sumptuous dinners. When it comes to planning meetings and events, the hotels experience will ensure your function is flawless. It can cater 15 persons conferencing to 250 persons banqueting. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer