We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jyoti Mahal Guest House

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
2488-90 Nalwa Street, behind Imperial Cinema | Chuna Mandi=Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Special Offer
Complementary Drop Off!!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Jyoti Mahal Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was OK but the photos are very old. It is tired, faded and in need of painting. The fountain is dirty and has no water. Some staff not very polite. Our first room was very noisy and they changed us to a better room with a good, hot shower. Watch out for dodgy salesmen in reception who claim to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed off and on at the Jyoti Mahal since it opened. I am grateful to the owners and staff for always making me feel at home and endlessly trying to accommodate my requests. This hotel doubles as a meeting point for travelers: the beds are comfortable, the staff always helpful, the restaurant food is tasty and good for... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruthojen
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

a potentially nice place with good looking furniture, stylish decoration, clean rooms (but sheets and covers with holes), a nice rooftop restaurant, but he whole place is not very well kept and looks a bit old which is too bad. The rooms are around a courtyard, very loud as well as the noise from the above restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank ismael69
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is beautiful ..... great location in the Hub of Bazaar Street..... Its the perfect location if you want to experience real Delhi. The Staff are very helpful and always willing to help out with what ever need you have. It does need a little maintenance and some TLC but at the price you pay I think its great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucasgrobler
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

This hotel has spectacular architecture, beautiful art and furniture pieces. Unfortunately, the place was filthy with decades of grime everywhere. Even the roof top restaurant had a fridge with flaccid mouldy food on display Nepalese staff where friendly but front of house totally unhelpful. We cancelled our 4 night stay for later this week based on this.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanvari
jyotimahal, Guest Relations Manager at Jyoti Mahal Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, i want to let you know that there was cleaning some boys therefore it shows like that. front of house they were not our staff then why should you wrote in our hotel's review. they are from booking.com. you didn't book for 4 days. we did not received any booking. More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

This little oasis is the perfect place to stay in Delhi, the staff are extremely helpful and the hotel ambience is wonderful. We enjoyed some delicious meals on the rooftop and had a specious room that was very comfortable. Would highly recommend staying here!

Helpful?
Thank Caitlynn R
Vista, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

I had a confirmed reservation for 3 nights and they even scheduled a car to pick me up at the airport. I confirmed that I would be arriving very late - 1 a.m. - and they reassured me that was fine. But when I arrived at the airport - no pickup. I thought perhaps because my flight was late? Then... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kimjoy_Vista
Las Rozas, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

Dissappinted as i stayed 5 days. Two of them as tourism but the others as we had no choice as my sister had an emergrmcy and we end up im hospital almost 3 days. I asked many times not to charge normal price or change at last as individual as we were not using room. They said to talk and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ArankayOga
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

The hotel is built and decorated in the beautiful Lakshmi style, you can take stylish Indian themed photos on every corner. Some rooms are with a courtyard view and thus silent, others are not so lucky. Not overly clean and shows signs of neglect, I guess the help are thalf blind. Rooms are either very hot and have no air... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susanna R
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

Nice place, next to the metro, nice team.... so convenient, juste un bémol le petit déjeuner pourrait être un peu plus sympa.... the decoration of the room are nice, miss a lamp to read next to the bed

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank zoejustine
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.7 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#12 of 666 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.4 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 666 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Prime Balaji Deluxe @ New Delhi Railway Station Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#18 of 666 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 666 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay