We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tungara Calipso Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
3rd Street, between E and Central Avenue | Across the Municipal Building, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010, Panama
Tungara Calipso Hostel
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    28
    20
    10
    17
See reviews for
4
21
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Between the hours of 5pm to 3am, a fellow backpacker and I were moved into 3 different rooms, all with bed bugs. There was not a massive amount but bed bugs are bed bugs. On a more positive note the staff gave us a full refund, sincerely apologized and offered a couple free drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the dorm for almost 2 weeks and for me there was not a thing to complain about! Tungara has good mattresses, friendly and helpful stuff available all day, lockers in the room, the best bar in town just in front (but not to be heard at night), good wifi and free coffee and water refill. Plus while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great vibe and great people working there. The room, beds and bath were clean and animalfree. The kitchen was well equiped and always restored with new pans or spices. The proper bar was full of delicious drinks and good souls to meet and hang out. All in all, would always stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

Booked in advance as I was doing Spanish school with Habla Ya (which I would recommend if you're in Bocas). But there's a reason why they have such a firm refund policy & demand a deposit with booking... you turn up and are faced with a grotty hostel without the service to make it Bad because... - unhelpful receptionist desk.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We were booked into this hostel for 1 week as we were having Spanish lessons with Habla Ya. You have to pay a 50% deposit when booking and the remainder upfront when you arrive. Every email explicitly states that they do not offer any refunds - there is a reason for this!! As soon as you get to the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chimi changa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in a private room in early/mid feb 2014. The hostel seemed ok. Popular gringo bar out front and wasn't that noisy in the room either, staff seemed friendly, the a/c worked well and location is also great. However we woke in the middle of the night getting eaten alive by bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
panamajoules, Owner at Tungara Calipso Hostel, responded to this review

We're really really sorry that this happened to your girlfriend and you should have received a complete refund. It's totally our fault that our staff didn't make the best decision. In regards to the bed bugs, unfortunately during high season we hadn't been able to have it 100% under control since travelers bring them with them. After this and another... More 

Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

The people in the hostel is really cool, the hostel is clean enough but not super clean. Rooms are way too tight. The people is really cool, but there are no common areas to hang out. In the end everybody gets to be in a small terrace, or outside in the street. Also, the prices where pretty high in high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
panamajoules, Owner at Tungara Calipso Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. We've just changed management and we're making improvements. We've completely redone furniture in guest area downstairs by kitchen so that more people can hang out and be comfortable. We've also taken bunk beds out of the rooms where people have told us it's too crowded. Upstairs in the hallway and balcony area, we've also made sofas with recycled materials... More 

Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We booked the Tungara Hostel at Bocas cause we thought it would be fine by the Internet adds but, do not be fooled. It was the worse experience we have ever had at a hostel. We booked a private room for 5 nights and after the first night, we requested the manager to refund us the remaining nights as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
panamajoules, Owner at Tungara Calipso Hostel, responded to this review

We really apologize about your mattress. The day immediately after you gave your feedback. It was replaced with a brand new one, which we would have really liked if you could have enjoyed, but you decided to leave. In regards to the water temperature, we've never stated anywhere that we have water heaters. Being in the Caribbean, with temperatures exceeding... More 

Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff, awesome activity board that let me fill up my days and nights with great budget-friendly activities. We had a few critters running around in our room, but I believe it was an incident that affected all hostels on the block. That being said, the cleaning staff worked every day (although some days I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
marbella
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

nice hostel for party people ,have also met students ,that go to school early morning , I liked it stayed here for 4 days , its not dirty , im fluent in spanish and have spoken to the cleaning ladies and i saw they clean everyday and nice airco at night. I have spoken to the people of the reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question