We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tungara Calipso Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
3rd Street, between E and Central Avenue | Across the Municipal Building, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010, Panama
Special Rate
Beds in Dorm Rooms at $15
Tungara Calipso Hostel
Add Your Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    28
    20
    9
    17
See reviews for
4
21
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked in advance as I was doing Spanish school with Habla Ya (which I would recommend if you're in Bocas). But there's a reason why they have such a firm refund policy & demand a deposit with booking... you turn up and are faced with a grotty hostel without the service to make it Bad because... - unhelpful receptionist desk.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were booked into this hostel for 1 week as we were having Spanish lessons with Habla Ya. You have to pay a 50% deposit when booking and the remainder upfront when you arrive. Every email explicitly states that they do not offer any refunds - there is a reason for this!! As soon as you get to the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chimi changa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in a private room in early/mid feb 2014. The hostel seemed ok. Popular gringo bar out front and wasn't that noisy in the room either, staff seemed friendly, the a/c worked well and location is also great. However we woke in the middle of the night getting eaten alive by bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
panamajoules, Owner at Tungara Calipso Hostel, responded to this review

We're really really sorry that this happened to your girlfriend and you should have received a complete refund. It's totally our fault that our staff didn't make the best decision. In regards to the bed bugs, unfortunately during high season we hadn't been able to have it 100% under control since travelers bring them with them. After this and another... More 

Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

The people in the hostel is really cool, the hostel is clean enough but not super clean. Rooms are way too tight. The people is really cool, but there are no common areas to hang out. In the end everybody gets to be in a small terrace, or outside in the street. Also, the prices where pretty high in high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
panamajoules, Owner at Tungara Calipso Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. We've just changed management and we're making improvements. We've completely redone furniture in guest area downstairs by kitchen so that more people can hang out and be comfortable. We've also taken bunk beds out of the rooms where people have told us it's too crowded. Upstairs in the hallway and balcony area, we've also made sofas with recycled materials... More 

Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We booked the Tungara Hostel at Bocas cause we thought it would be fine by the Internet adds but, do not be fooled. It was the worse experience we have ever had at a hostel. We booked a private room for 5 nights and after the first night, we requested the manager to refund us the remaining nights as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
panamajoules, Owner at Tungara Calipso Hostel, responded to this review

We really apologize about your mattress. The day immediately after you gave your feedback. It was replaced with a brand new one, which we would have really liked if you could have enjoyed, but you decided to leave. In regards to the water temperature, we've never stated anywhere that we have water heaters. Being in the Caribbean, with temperatures exceeding... More 

Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff, awesome activity board that let me fill up my days and nights with great budget-friendly activities. We had a few critters running around in our room, but I believe it was an incident that affected all hostels on the block. That being said, the cleaning staff worked every day (although some days I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
marbella
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

nice hostel for party people ,have also met students ,that go to school early morning , I liked it stayed here for 4 days , its not dirty , im fluent in spanish and have spoken to the cleaning ladies and i saw they clean everyday and nice airco at night. I have spoken to the people of the reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 Nights. The room was ok but for 4 people although I was travelling alone. The Location is good next to the parc but the staff was not really friendly and welcoming and I think you find better deals for the same or less money on Isla Colon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very basic. The reception staff are not very friendly. No milk (whether real or powdered) for the morning coffee, "free pancakes" but there was no sign of them. No wifi in rooms, just by the reception desk. It is attached to a bar but this is very expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I stayed at Tungara for two weeks as I was studying spanish at "Habla Ya". It is not a good place to stay if you're studying! The bar downstairs can get VERY noisy and as it is on the mainstreet it's noisy most of the time... I was completely exhausted after a couple of nights with only a few hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question