We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Tangalle hotels

Tangalla Bay Hotel

Tangalla Bay, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tangalla Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Tangalla Bay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asiatravel.com
47%
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Tangalle
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012
WeroHB76 Munich
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    6
    6
    10
See reviews for
8
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

for a couple of relaxing days very recommendable. If a few eyes, we are not all in keeping Germany from the terrace approximately 50 meters the water, good food, just ideal for lazy. Also around the hotel there enough purchaseor SpA possibilities. Partly high waves for surfing. Good. Very good Easy access to transport into all directions, by train, taxi,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colombo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Made a first time visit to this well known hotel and was pleasantly surprised with the friendly staff and good service. We chose the place as we had very little choice but enjoyed the food and the great view of the sea. Will certainly come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canberra
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Good sized rooms and great view. Cleanliness of the hotel was a little down, but the rooms were clean inside. just the main areas were a little dirty and a few flies/mossies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed one night at the Tangalle bay hotel in mid April. We thought the hotel was fabulous by its images. Checking in was ok and the receptioist was helpfull. When we arrived to the room, it was shocking. The stairway to the rooms was dark and full of mosquito's. Rooms looks pretty old in overall and lack of maintenance.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Tangalla Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My sincere apologies for the shortcomings mentioned in your review on Trip Advisor. It is only natural that you expect a higher level of service from Tangalla Bay by Jetwing, as the comments we have received from guests over the last year, particularly about the food, have been most positive. However, we are extremely saddened that in this... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I booked in this hotel only to go next day to Yala national park. hotel is good and clean, spacious room and lovely beaches. but Mosquitoes are every were due to the lcoation and open window in toilet. The area has not much to see. hotel is suitable as transit if you have plans, otherwise, it will be boring to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Tangalla Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Yes, over the years Tangalla Bay by Jetwing has been preferred as a transit point to visit Yala, Udawalawe, and Kataragama. But since of late, a vast majority of our guests tend to spend more than 05 nights, while we also have guests staying with us... More

UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at Tangalla Bay in January 2012 after spending the previous 10 days touring Sri Lanka. The hotel's setting and design is very striking, though it would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems as there are many long stairways. We had booked for two nights but we left after one day, as there were a number of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Tangalla Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept my apologies for your stay being disappointing at our hotel. I do recall receiving a complaint, similar to your experience, in mid February 2012, which came through a 3rd party who was arranging the tour, and am very sure it is the one and the same, simply because that’s the only complaint we have got since... More

Birkerod, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Hotel architecture is impressive, but room are dull no bed lamps no decoration on the wall, just white wall. Inside of hotel, you could be in Amsterdam or boutique's hotel in New York, I was missing a local ethnic touch. We stayed at 4 hotels and my 4 kids thought that this one was the best , and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Tangalla Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor, and we are happy to learn that you and your family had an enjoyable time with us. Yes, the modernist architecture of the 70’s is loved by many of our guests. We will most certainly take note of your idea of adding an ethnic touch to our interiors, along... More

Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two night. The room is very big, clean, with safe, TV, fridge and terrace. Our room was a little dangerous - I felt down from stairs between bathroom and bedroom. Every food was very delicious, extremly Valentine's dinner. WIFI was good in the reception hall, sometimes also in rooms. The beach was clean, no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Tangalla Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of every member of my team, let me thank you for your kind words and encouraging comments. All our efforts are focused towards making the stay of our guests as enjoyable as possible, and we are happy that you carry pleasant memories of Tangalla Bay by Jetwing and Sri Lanka. At the same, time we will... More

sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night near the end of our Kuoni Safari tour. Good point out of the way first. After a long day myself and my wife had a dip in the infinity pool whilst the sun went down with the local mosque quietly making itself heard in the distance, wonderful. Now the bad points, the hotel is bonkers,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Tangalla Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I read with great concern, your dissatisfaction with the hotel in general and the architecture in particular. While we express our regret at being unable to provide you the expected experience, let me assure you that that your comments on the areas for improvement in our services will... More

Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I and my family enjoyed a lot in Sri Lanka, and particularly, our stay at Tangalle at Tangalla Bay Hotel was extremely pleasant. The rooms were very spacious and the view that they offered was spectacular. I, my wife and the two kids will never forget the pains that the Hotel management took in ensuring our comfort during our stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Tangalla Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words which I will share with my team. We are also happy to note that your entire stay in Sri Lanka was enjoyable. As you would have experienced, Tangalle, is a quiet town loved by travellers from all parts of the world, and is making it’s name as a top destination. We at... More

Been to Tangalla Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangalla Bay Hotel

Address: Tangalla Bay, Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hambantota District > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Tangalle
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away amidst the inimitable charm of Sri Lanka’s Southern coast, Tangalla Bay by Jetwing is a beach resort with an unmistakeable allure. Complemented by its guise as a ship in sail and its unique outcrop over the presiding ocean, Tangalla Bay offers comprehensive guest facilities and gleaming coastal views make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Tangalla Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangalla Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.