We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moonstone Villas

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
336 Matara Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Moonstone Villas
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    116
    44
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
58
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Moonstone, who had arranged our transport to and from our other accommodations. Our villa at the back of the property, away from the road, was perfect, with a large verandah to relax on in the evening. The room was spacious and very clean. All staff were friendly and welcoming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot think of a single thing to fault this place. The pool was crystal clear and clean (a wonderful relief after a few other places had dodgy pools), the grounds and gardens are pretty and quiet, and the restaurant on site is really excellent. The coffee is served French-press style, another highlight after a few weeks of subpar coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Thank you Global Asparagus for your comments on the best way to enjoy a stay in Tangalle - from a lovely quiet base like Moonstone Villas from which you can easily access all there is to see and do. This time of year is not the best for swimming as the sea is often rough - but still lost of... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at Moonstone Villas on 4th and 5th August, after finishing a tour and needing a couple of days to relay and refresh. What a beautiful place we found. Great accommodation, nice gardens along with the lovely Golden Lab and a couple of cute kittens. The staff were very accommodating, as well as the owner Raylene... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Alan, thank you for your review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us as much as we enjoyed having you. We like to help our guests arrange to see the interesting things here around Tangalle - we believe vacation is more than just a stay. It will be hard to top the turtle laying eggs... More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our 3 days stay at Moonstone! Lovely, spacious villa's, well designed in every respect: not just pretty, but with eye for detail. You notice the lovely Canadian owner has traveled herself by the attention for things like good lighting, extra sockets for all your electronics and lots of towels and racks to dry them. Great garden, good pool,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Hello Anne-Marijka - thank you so much for your thoughtful review of Moonstone Villas. We have tried to include all the small things that travellers need in our rooms and appreciate that you have noticed. More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When arriving at Moonstone you instantly relax. Gone are the oppressive heat and the noise of the streets. The Moonstone grounds aren't particularly large, but they are very intimately set up, with a nice pool in the middle, surrounded by trees, flowers and just nine rooms divided over a few little two story buildings. Rooms are very big, nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Hello Jurrien P - thank you for staying with us last week - we all enjoyed having your family and really appreciate your comments. I will share your comments with staff - it is so supportive for them to know their efforts are appreciated. When you come again we hope you will also enjoy our new restaurant style - Moonstone... More 

Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

This hotel is small but each room is spacious, ours was on the first floor and had a huge balcony with comfy seats and a day bed. Inside were two more comfy seats, two double beds with mosquito nets and a reasonably sized bathroom. To our surprise complementary water bottles were only supplied on day1, I have never stayed anywhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Bramwell, Thank you for your review and helpful suggestions. You are correct that with solar hot water, cloudy days are not welcome, but we do have electrical back up for our hot water so it should not be a problem. You were in rm 2 and your water panel was on another building - so water... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

I have stayed at Moonstone every year for the past few years. I return time after time because great service is guaranteed- from the warm, welcoming, courteous stewards to the management who will go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable, as well as help with any tours beyond, and local knowledge. The rooms are well equipped- A/C, Wifi,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

We have a poster in our reception that says,"May all who enter as guests, leave as friends". Our primary goal is to have our guests return year after year because they enjoy their time with us. Warren, thank you for being one of our "extended family", and returning every year. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Caveat Emptor! Truly I made a mistake. A very quaint restaurant with rooms to back it up - Moonstone Villas does boast a sort of rainforest charm, in the way it is laid out. They are aptly labelled as a guest house/travellers inn. We are staying here presently, as I write this review, having chosen the place based on TripAdvisor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

While we always appreciate hearing from our guests, I am disappointed to see that we are being criticized by people who clearly never read our website information before booking with us, nor did they actually read other Trip Advisor reviews. We do not provide 5 star amenities because we are a 3 star hotel which was fully understood by your... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We were lucky enough to choose Moonstone for our stay in Tangalle. It was a beautiful spot. The rooms had spacious beds and lovely baths that were kept immaculately clean. The pool was very well maintained, as were the rest of the grounds. The restaurant was amazing, offering both delicious western and local cuisine. Raelene and Anil were wonderful hosts,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Margaret, thank you so much for your kind comments which I will pass on to our staff. It is so encouraging for them to read reviews like yours, as they take special care in making your room and our grounds the best they can for our guests. More 

Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Raylene, the owner at Moonstone and her staff are very helpful and committed to ensuring your visit is magical. The food was delicious, rooms beautiful and the pool welcoming and always clean and inviting. Don't look anywhere else to stay in Tangalle. You have just found it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Hello Kim and thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your time here with us. Great that you have highlighted our two adjoining rooms which are very popular for families and groups of friends. I hope that you and your friends will visit us here again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.3 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 14 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
10.6 mi away
Turtle Bay
Turtle Bay
#4 of 14 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#7 of 14 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
2.1 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#4 of 60 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
4.8 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 14 in Tangalle
5.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay