We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moonstone Villas

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
336 Matara Road, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Announcement
MOONSTONE VILLAS BRASSERI
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonstone Villas
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Moonstone Villas
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    109
    42
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
55
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is small but each room is spacious, ours was on the first floor and had a huge balcony with comfy seats and a day bed. Inside were two more comfy seats, two double beds with mosquito nets and a reasonably sized bathroom. To our surprise complementary water bottles were only supplied on day1, I have never stayed anywhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Bramwell, Thank you for your review and helpful suggestions. You are correct that with solar hot water, cloudy days are not welcome, but we do have electrical back up for our hot water so it should not be a problem. You were in rm 2 and your water panel was on another building - so water... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at Moonstone every year for the past few years. I return time after time because great service is guaranteed- from the warm, welcoming, courteous stewards to the management who will go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable, as well as help with any tours beyond, and local knowledge. The rooms are well equipped- A/C, Wifi,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

We have a poster in our reception that says,"May all who enter as guests, leave as friends". Our primary goal is to have our guests return year after year because they enjoy their time with us. Warren, thank you for being one of our "extended family", and returning every year. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Caveat Emptor! Truly I made a mistake. A very quaint restaurant with rooms to back it up - Moonstone Villas does boast a sort of rainforest charm, in the way it is laid out. They are aptly labelled as a guest house/travellers inn. We are staying here presently, as I write this review, having chosen the place based on TripAdvisor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

While we always appreciate hearing from our guests, I am disappointed to see that we are being criticized by people who clearly never read our website information before booking with us, nor did they actually read other Trip Advisor reviews. We do not provide 5 star amenities because we are a 3 star hotel which was fully understood by your... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We were lucky enough to choose Moonstone for our stay in Tangalle. It was a beautiful spot. The rooms had spacious beds and lovely baths that were kept immaculately clean. The pool was very well maintained, as were the rest of the grounds. The restaurant was amazing, offering both delicious western and local cuisine. Raelene and Anil were wonderful hosts,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Margaret, thank you so much for your kind comments which I will pass on to our staff. It is so encouraging for them to read reviews like yours, as they take special care in making your room and our grounds the best they can for our guests. More 

Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Raylene, the owner at Moonstone and her staff are very helpful and committed to ensuring your visit is magical. The food was delicious, rooms beautiful and the pool welcoming and always clean and inviting. Don't look anywhere else to stay in Tangalle. You have just found it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Hello Kim and thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your time here with us. Great that you have highlighted our two adjoining rooms which are very popular for families and groups of friends. I hope that you and your friends will visit us here again soon. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Photos don't do it justice. There's a sense of relaxation and charm that you enjoy from the minute you walk up the steps. As you continue past the restaurant area, the buildings look clean and bright and the pool so inviting. Moonstone exceeded our expectations. Not only is the facility great but the staff are wonderful, topped off by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Thank you Eloise, for your comments which tell us you appreciated our staff efforts to make your stay an excellent one. It is great to know that we are achieving our goal and giving our guests the quality we promise. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Small charming property wth 9 roms. Clean, hospitable with great staff and food. Canadian owner is on site and always helpful and accommodating. Good location, a short tuk tuk ride to Tangalle. Worth a stay. The entire property and gardens are well looked after and the pool area is a terrific way to chill and relax. Across the road from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Mary, thank you for your kind words - we are always happy to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. I will pass your review to our staff who will be appreciative of your comments. Please come and see us again soon. More 

Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Large attractive room that is thoughtfully appointed. Rooms have chairs and tables that are great when you are ready to enjoy a bit of cool, air conditioning. The patio includes more chairs and a table, a daybed for snoozing and a rack to dry your bathing suit after a refreshing dip in the garden centered swimming pool. Wifi access is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Thank you "Bon" for this review. It is always good to know that we meet the expectations of our guests, whether they are families, couples or singles. Please come to visit us again soon - we enjoy getting to know our guests even better on the second visit. More 

Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

I arrived dusty and tired from a 5 hour train ride from Kandy, entered the gate from the hectic street, and walked between flowering shrubs, a bright and shaded outdoor dining area, past a crystal clear turquoise pool, slipped my shoes off and dropped my backpack at the entrance of a room that is first rate by any North American... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

hello "LomiLomi" from Kamloops - thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I am glad to see your comments about the sense of peace here in our gardens, and that our surroundings and service match expectations one might have from a North American perspective. It is great to have this affirmative comment. I will pass your comments on to... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We stayed here for two nights recently and really didn't want to leave. The villas are in a great location almost beach side (you just have to walk across the road) and only about a ten or fifteen minute walk from Tangalla town centre. The welcome we received was warm, and we were given two rooms at the back of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaeleneShea, Owner at Moonstone Villas, responded to this review

Dear "Dumplanders" - thank you for your review. We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time here, and particularly that you were happy to have our two adjoining rooms which are often used by friends travelling together. Your comments will be passed on to staff so that they know their efforts are appreciated. Thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.3 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 13 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
10.6 mi away
Turtle Bay
Turtle Bay
#4 of 13 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#8 of 13 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#7 of 13 in Tangalle
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
2.1 mi away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Tangalle
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
4.8 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 13 in Tangalle
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay