We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lake Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Pothgul Vihara | New Town, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lake Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Lake Hotel
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    91
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
55
89
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came on work and stayed over at the hotel. Very nice and well kept modern hotel in the middle of the ancient city. Ten minute drive from the town and easy access from main roads. Rooms are great with AC and good and clean toilets. Food is great very authentic and staff are very friendly and helpful! Would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor, we welcome your feedback,recommendation and appreciation in what was offered to you during your stay Thank for your stay with us! More 

Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We had a nice tour around Sri Lanka in 12 days. We stopped for 1 night in this hotel. It is close to the historic monuments of Polonnaruwa. It has a good pool where we swam after the day. There is a " Lake House " in nearby with the same management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor, we welcome your feedback, Thank you stay with us! More 

Mijdrecht
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

This hotel is rather large and is a typical stop for busses full of chinese tourists, french and the like that take over. The beautiful lake view is by far the best property of this hotel. My 2 lists: The Good: - Location on the lake shore, occasional elephant spotting, lots of birds. - Good swimming pool with proper beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor, we welcome your feedback, for the plus and minus. Minuses are a source for moving forward with rectification. Thank you stay with us! More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

After being robbed by a member of staff associated with this hotel I tried to get the hotel manager to put in writing that i had reported the theft. He refused. He also refused to let me go to the police to report it without him coming with me (clearly wanted to speak to the police officer first) the manger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christopher R, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest As per your comment on tripadvisor you have mentioned that the letter sent to our head office with regard to your complaint wasn't reply. As you can see below our GM had replied to the same on dated 15th Januaty 2015. Further more we reject what you have mentioned in the commet, it is false & damaging. and... More 

Wellington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 via mobile

the hotel has very nice views of the lake. It is very quite. Rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom was a bit too small and simple. We had a great dinner and breakfast. Staff was very nice and helpful. Wifi was only available in the lobby. It would be better to have it in the rooms too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued customer Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor, we welcome your feedback, Thank you for your appreciation of the services given to you from our staff and staying with us! More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We stayed in the Lake Hotel for 2 nights and had a very good time. The rooms were good and clean and the food very good. Breakfast was also super and the staff excellent. We didn't see any elephants but lots of monkeys! Awsome! Just a little problem with the lake-flies but that was not the fault of the Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor, we value your input, which is of much encouragement. Glad that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you very much staying with us! More 

Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

The hotel was really a great disappointment. The location offers advantages: close to the monuments, great lake view, nice pool. But everything else is bad. Bad smell in common rooms. Smelly and dirty rooms. No hot water, unfriendly staff - we asked several times for the hot water and they kept saying lies to us. Food was mediocre. After 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention and apologize to the inconvenience caused. Thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Visited both of the lake hotel locations and on the plus side they both are situated perfectly. That is about the extent of their virtues however and the atmosphere at both is impersonal and generally lacking and the food was very disappointing. To be fair I only visited for food and drinks and the second one ( closer to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention. Thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We had a disappointing experience at The Lake Hotel. Let's start with the positive points though: - good location, nice view - staff was very kind during Christmas dinner Now the disappointments: - not enough light in the room - we had to ask for hand towels and bath mat - we booked a double room with Queen or King... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention and apologize to the inconvenience caused. Thanks for your time and feedback! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We stayed at The Lake for 1.5 days. Staff on arrival were friendly and and ensured that the dinner buffet stayed open until we arrived. There was a decent variety in food. Wifi only worked in the lobby area which was disappointing. Bathrooms were clean, but small and inadequate space to hang towels. Bedrooms were nice and spacious, but weren't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your encouraging comments, staff, location, food, recommending our property. Minus factors are on a corrective process. Much appreciated and many thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (143)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question