We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lake Hotel

Pothgul Vihara | New Town, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lake Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Doha, Qatar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A lovely hotel with very friendly and efficient staff. It is rather secluded and therefore perfect as a getaway, but can be badly located if you would prefer being out and about often. It is quiet and peaceful. The food is good

Helpful?
Thank Alex P
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Meny thanks for visiting The lake Polonnaruwa and placing your very descriptive feedback on the stay as well.We are really grateful for all your positive endorsements given on the service offered by the Hotel.Hope to see you on your next visit to Sri lanka. More 

Sowerby Bridge
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only spent one night here and it was by far the worst hotel of our holiday. The location is to die for however and the lake was a fantastic setting. We spent most of our time sitting outside of room watching the sun go down and up again! We arrived just in time for lunch however the dining room... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1009391BobJ
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,FIrst of all please accept our sincere apologies for the issue you faced during your stay with us.Due to high occupancy and also we are recieving back to back lunch reservation from verious travel agencies and also limited capasicy of our Restaurant you may have faced little uncomfortable..However we as team undestand your disapointment and would request, please... More 

Srilanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You must book a downstairs room as these have your own terrace which gives you a direct view of the lake which is beautiful. The rooms are average and could do with decorating but are clean and well serviced. The bathroom was more of a wet room as the shower water was not contained within the shower cubicle so all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia P
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Meny thank for being part of Lake family and we really appreciate your generosity in placing your view point regarding the stay at uoy Hotel.We have taken your feed back very seriously and will rectify those soon.Hope you would come and see us in your next visit to Polonnaruwa More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is of average standard but rooms are clean. Lighting in rooms not sufficient but view facing the lake is welcomed. Staff are friendly and accommodative. Choice if food can be better. Cycling facility is available to do a tour around the ancient buildings.

Helpful?
Thank Rajeev A
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,It is indeed very kind of you to have place a review on Tripadvisor and we lookforward to see you,when you do decide to come next. More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel that exceeded our expectations. First, every room faced the gorgeous lake. I sat on the terrace of our ground floor room early in the morning with binoculars and saw at least a dozen bird species. The room was not large, but efficient with everything you need, and the shower was quite good. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kronikle
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest.Meny thanks for visiting our property The Lake Polonnaruwa and placing your very descriptive feedback on the stay as well.We are very grateful for all your possitive endorsements given on the service offered by the Hotel.We have value your comments which has been rated 100% which is highly commendable. We looking forward to see you next visit to... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

The most disappointing thing - aside from the cold food, non-renovated rooms (though promised as such on line), stinginess with drinking water (aside from the expense of buying bottles, the plastic waste generated was particularly stupid) - was that their swimming pool was closed, and a sub-standard substitute was offered. Even though there was an equivalent hotel where surely they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alka P
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,Please accept our sincere apologies for the issue you faced during your stay with us.Due to an unavoidable circumstances we compeled to close the Pool for an urgent repaire.But we have arrange altenate pool in next door Hotel for the guest convenience.We do not encourage plastic but most of our guest use to take plastic bottles whent they... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

Family stayed in 2 rooms. Beautiful view of the Parakrama Samudraya (an ancient tank), good rooms, and decent food. They were in a bit of an unexpected rush that day, but they resolved any issues we had quickly. Staff was always kind and helpful and smiling.

Helpful?
Thank Lohita G
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,It was very thoughtful of you to have reviewed on Trip Advisor.We are indeed pleased to hear that you valued our hospilitality.We are really grateful for all your positive endorsements given on the service offered by the Hotel.We lookforward to see you in your next visit to Polonnaruwa. We Wish you Happy New Year 2016 The Management More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

The hotel is located in a very nice place next to Parakrama Samudraya. Love the scenery. Hotel is located very close to the ancient city of Polonnaruwa which makes very easy for the travelers to visit these places. Pool is good but comparatively small. Picked this place from a promotion, and it was well worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank Bhagya_S_K
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,Meny thank for being part of The lake family and we apppreciate your view point regarding the stay at our Hotel.We are indeed glad here that the stay was so memorable.Out staff is our most valuable asset and we are glad that they were friendly and courtious throughout your stay.We lookforward to see you next visit to Polonnaruwa.... More 

Matara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Visited the place for lunch on the 27th December, 2015. The hotel is in a beautiful location right next to Parakrama Samudraya (an enormous lake). They had a decent buffet for the price. The food was great. Really enjoyed it. The restaurant offers an almost panoramic view of the lake. I visited the place along with a group of 12... More 

Helpful?
Thank HarshaM121
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,It is indeed a pleasure to recieve a good review on our property and the Food and services offered.We lookforward to see you next visit to Polonnaruwa. We wish you Happy New Year 2016 THank you The Menegement More 

Bangkok
Level Contributor
244 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Not many decent places for lunch in and around Polannarwa. This Hotel by the lake shore was about 5 mins drive outside town. The place is really clean and well kept, if a bit basic. The dining room has a Great Lake view and local food was finger licking good! Need I say more

Helpful?
Thank Softlanding
Deepal A, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,Meny thanks for visiting The Lake polonnaruwa and placing your very descriptive feedback.Of course your comments which has been rated 100% which is highly commendable.Looking forwards to see you next visit to Polonnaruwa. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (173)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polonnaruwa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#8 of 14 in Polonnaruwa
3.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#3 of 14 in Polonnaruwa
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#2 of 14 in Polonnaruwa
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#10 of 14 in Polonnaruwa
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
1.2 mi away
Siyanco Holiday Resort
Siyanco Holiday Resort
#9 of 14 in Polonnaruwa
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay