We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lake Hotel

Pothgul Vihara | New Town, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Lake Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Lake Hotel
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    87
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
55
84
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (204)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nice tour around Sri Lanka in 12 days. We stopped for 1 night in this hotel. It is close to the historic monuments of Polonnaruwa. It has a good pool where we swam after the day. There is a " Lake House " in nearby with the same management.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mijdrecht
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is rather large and is a typical stop for busses full of chinese tourists, french and the like that take over. The beautiful lake view is by far the best property of this hotel. My 2 lists: The Good: - Location on the lake shore, occasional elephant spotting, lots of birds. - Good swimming pool with proper beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After being robbed by a member of staff associated with this hotel I tried to get the hotel manager to put in writing that i had reported the theft. He refused. He also refused to let me go to the police to report it without him coming with me (clearly wanted to speak to the police officer first) the manger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher R, Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest As per your comment on tripadvisor you have mentioned that the letter sent to our head office with regard to your complaint wasn't reply. As you can see below our GM had replied to the same on dated 15th Januaty 2015. Further more we reject what you have mentioned in the commet, it is false & damaging. and... More 

Wellington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 via mobile

the hotel has very nice views of the lake. It is very quite. Rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom was a bit too small and simple. We had a great dinner and breakfast. Staff was very nice and helpful. Wifi was only available in the lobby. It would be better to have it in the rooms too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We stayed in the Lake Hotel for 2 nights and had a very good time. The rooms were good and clean and the food very good. Breakfast was also super and the staff excellent. We didn't see any elephants but lots of monkeys! Awsome! Just a little problem with the lake-flies but that was not the fault of the Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

The hotel was really a great disappointment. The location offers advantages: close to the monuments, great lake view, nice pool. But everything else is bad. Bad smell in common rooms. Smelly and dirty rooms. No hot water, unfriendly staff - we asked several times for the hot water and they kept saying lies to us. Food was mediocre. After 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention and apologize to the inconvenience caused. Thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Visited both of the lake hotel locations and on the plus side they both are situated perfectly. That is about the extent of their virtues however and the atmosphere at both is impersonal and generally lacking and the food was very disappointing. To be fair I only visited for food and drinks and the second one ( closer to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention. Thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We had a disappointing experience at The Lake Hotel. Let's start with the positive points though: - good location, nice view - staff was very kind during Christmas dinner Now the disappointments: - not enough light in the room - we had to ask for hand towels and bath mat - we booked a double room with Queen or King... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention and apologize to the inconvenience caused. Thanks for your time and feedback! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We stayed at The Lake for 1.5 days. Staff on arrival were friendly and and ensured that the dinner buffet stayed open until we arrived. There was a decent variety in food. Wifi only worked in the lobby area which was disappointing. Bathrooms were clean, but small and inadequate space to hang towels. Bedrooms were nice and spacious, but weren't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your encouraging comments, staff, location, food, recommending our property. Minus factors are on a corrective process. Much appreciated and many thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Colombo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Comfortable room, helpful staff but the meals have space to improve. We stayed one night and had dinner and breakfast. The dinner menu was a mix of dishes that did not go together at all. And the food was cold when served.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention, thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Hotel

Address: Pothgul Vihara | New Town, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay