We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lake Hotel

Pothgul Vihara | New Town, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Lake Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Lake Hotel
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    86
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
54
82
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Wellington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

the hotel has very nice views of the lake. It is very quite. Rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom was a bit too small and simple. We had a great dinner and breakfast. Staff was very nice and helpful. Wifi was only available in the lobby. It would be better to have it in the rooms too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Lake Hotel for 2 nights and had a very good time. The rooms were good and clean and the food very good. Breakfast was also super and the staff excellent. We didn't see any elephants but lots of monkeys! Awsome! Just a little problem with the lake-flies but that was not the fault of the Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was really a great disappointment. The location offers advantages: close to the monuments, great lake view, nice pool. But everything else is bad. Bad smell in common rooms. Smelly and dirty rooms. No hot water, unfriendly staff - we asked several times for the hot water and they kept saying lies to us. Food was mediocre. After 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention and apologize to the inconvenience caused. Thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited both of the lake hotel locations and on the plus side they both are situated perfectly. That is about the extent of their virtues however and the atmosphere at both is impersonal and generally lacking and the food was very disappointing. To be fair I only visited for food and drinks and the second one ( closer to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention. Thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a disappointing experience at The Lake Hotel. Let's start with the positive points though: - good location, nice view - staff was very kind during Christmas dinner Now the disappointments: - not enough light in the room - we had to ask for hand towels and bath mat - we booked a double room with Queen or King... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention and apologize to the inconvenience caused. Thanks for your time and feedback! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We stayed at The Lake for 1.5 days. Staff on arrival were friendly and and ensured that the dinner buffet stayed open until we arrived. There was a decent variety in food. Wifi only worked in the lobby area which was disappointing. Bathrooms were clean, but small and inadequate space to hang towels. Bedrooms were nice and spacious, but weren't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your encouraging comments, staff, location, food, recommending our property. Minus factors are on a corrective process. Much appreciated and many thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Colombo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Comfortable room, helpful staff but the meals have space to improve. We stayed one night and had dinner and breakfast. The dinner menu was a mix of dishes that did not go together at all. And the food was cold when served.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your positive and negative comments are much appreciated. We take note on ares that need more attention, thanks for your time and feedback! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Very good view from the ground floor room that we got. Peaceful surrounding for nature lovers.The room was clean, and the bathroom too. Well maintained too. Hotel staff was friendly, making guests feel welcome. Welcome drink was very nice with a combination of flavours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your encouraging comments, opinion and description pertaining to your experience at The Lake. Much appreciated, hope to see you again. thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

An ideal get away for nature lovers.Hotel is providing comfortable rooms and also a great view.Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.Food is good.If you get lucky you will get to see wild elephants across the lake and dont worry coz they cant come to you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your encouraging comments, staff, location, food, recommending our property to nature lovers. Much appreciated and many thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Mid Cornwall UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Great location for visiting ruins - and for viewing lake which and it's fabulous birdlife. Good swimming pool, food and friendly staff. All bedrooms have great views of the Lake and are quiet. Very good value for money when compared to similar hotels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your encouraging comments, staff, location, food, recommending our property to other future travelers with good value for money. Much appreciated and many thanks for your time and feedback! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Hotel

Address: Pothgul Vihara | New Town, Polonnaruwa 51000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay