We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Senani Hotel

No. 167 / 1, Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Senani Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    74
    72
    25
    11
See reviews for
41
73
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were so looking forward to staying here, it was booked by our tour guide. It was set into the hillside with amazing views over Kandi. On arrival we were given a chilled fruit drink, unfortunately that was the highlight of the stay and it went downhill from there. The room was outdated and the bathroom was pretty disgusting and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SenaniOakRay_Groups, Manager at The Senani Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not exceptional and we do apologise for this. We’ll be sure to pass your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel as this is the best way for us to improve the services & facilities we offer. If you wish to contact us directly to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had great dinner at Senani restaurant, beautiful view and very kind smiling waiters. It is not the cheapest place, that's true, but their biryani with beef and with prawns tasted very good.as does theie curt and honey. Totally recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_isinigems, Manager at The Senani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liniyaa, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that your experience was successful. We wish to see you soon Best regards Indika More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

we had a wonderful experience. me and my friends enjoyed our short vacation in Kandy. The facilities were very good. The food was affordable and excellent as well as the overall presentation. We were delighted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_isinigems, Manager at The Senani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with another travelers. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in your next trip to Sri Lanka.Kind Regards. More 

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

This is one of my favorites places to spend the evening in Kandy. Good service and live music creates a nice atmosphere for you to relax the evening with you loves ones happily. I really like the band there as they comes towards each an every table and play what ever the song that the customer like ... This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_isinigems, Manager at The Senani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Senani Hotel. We appreciate your kind words,In the meantime,I can assure you that we will look into the points you highlighted & looking forward to welcoming you back to Senani Hotel in the near future. Thank you & warm regards. More More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

The Senani Hotel is a modern hotel complete with elevator, a swimming pool and terrific views from high the hill overlong Kandy. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan and TV. We had a single bed put into our room to make it"twin share" this made it a bit squishy and the single was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_isinigems, Manager at The Senani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with another travelers. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in your next trip to Sri Lanka.Kind Regards. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The rooms are spacious but the balcony is smelly; even bathrooms are stinky as there are no exhaust fans. No wall near the stairs which make it dangerous. The toilet locks are not in good shape The service was good. The location is very scenic

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_isinigems, Manager at The Senani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Senani Hotel. We appreciate your kind words,In the meantime,I can assure you that we will look into the points you highlighted & looking forward to welcoming you back to Senani Hotel in the near future. Thank you & warm regards. More More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Initially I got a room on the 1st floor facing the parking, I was not happy, the moved me right away on the other side where you can enjoy the sunrise and beautiful panoramas. Food was ok and wifi not so great :-( My bathroom had no windows, only some wooden shutters that could not be closed, so I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_isinigems, Manager at The Senani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Senani Hotel. We appreciate your kind words,In the meantime,I can assure you that we will look into the points you highlighted & looking forward to welcoming you back to Senani Hotel in the near future. Thank you & warm regards. More 

Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I was traveling with wife and two grown up kids. Stayed in two double rooms on 6 - 9 June 2015. Staff was helpful and friendly. Located at altitude and away from city center, walking uphill is quite difficult. However it was not a problem for us as a coaster with driver (Mr. Neil from Blue Travel - a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_isinigems, Manager at The Senani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with another travelers. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in your next trip to Sri Lanka.Kind Regards. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

We spent one night at the Senani Hotel. It was June, so area was out of season, and there weren't a whole lot of people staying there. The service was great and staff was helpful. A 3 course dinner and breakfast were included with the room which was a delight. However, the dinner was average at best. Breakfast was better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_isinigems, Manager at The Senani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for updating your comment us on trip adviser &looking forward to welcome you back in a near future. Best regards. More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Overall the Stay was good and staff's behaviour was good, Food also good , but located away from the city . from reception to room when walk be careful because the swimming pool user also walk with water pouring and floor was slippery. this is very bad way plan , then too we have to claim by stair case with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_isinigems, Manager at The Senani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Senani Hotel. We appreciate your kind words,In the meantime,I can assure you that we will look into the points you highlighted & looking forward to welcoming you back to Senani Hotel in the near future. Thank you & warm regards. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.4 mi away
Serene Garden Hotel
Serene Garden Hotel
#41 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#31 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#28 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#39 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#42 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#35 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay