We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 162 Kandy B&Bs / inns

Hotel Topaz

3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Anniewatte, Kandy 20967, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Topaz to your Saves list
Hotel Topaz
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
51%
Ranked #65 of 162 Kandy B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Kaz37y Plymouth
  • Reviews (225)
  • Photos (117)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (32)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    85
    63
    31
    25
See reviews for
38
101
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here as part of the Ceylon Tour. Reception staff were very pleasant, but in our experience the restaurant staff were not as friendly as staff in other hotels on our tour. Hotel was being upgraded in areas of the hotel although this didn't directly affect us. The room was clean and quite smart looking. The bathroom was rather small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nagpur
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Topaz is located at a very scenic point of the beautiful country of Sri lanka. The people and the beauty are so pleasantly surprising. Had a wonderful time at the hotel. The staff is courteous and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean. Highly recommended for ppl traveling to Kandy. Just one suggestion, kindly expand your menu to include more... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience on this forum.It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to deliver an impeccable holiday experience to your family as this is what we are here for and this is what we love doing. Thank you for your positive comments in regards to the hotel... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After having had a very tiring day we were enjoying the hotel bar and terrace with a very nice view, breakfast was also full of choice. Hotel staff was so friendly and helpfull, when we arrived to hotel they made us get rest for a while then proceeded our registration. We were able to chose among available rooms to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for a most wonderful and encouraging review about your stay at Hotel Topaz. It is fantastic knowing that your experience with us has been a memorable one. Our greatest endeavor is to make your stay with us relaxing, luxurious and memorable, and we take great care to understand each and every need, so that your stay... More

Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

stayed at this hotel end of february it is perched on a hill and has stunning views over kandy there was building work going on upgrading the hotel it didnt affect our stay however not as pleasing to the eye as it may have been we stayed in one of there upgraded rooms which was perfectly accepatablel there is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear 130campbell11, Thank you for a lovely review of your recent experience at Hotel Topaz. It is wonderful to note that you have had a great time with us,Thank you for some lovely comments with regard to the couteous & attentive service our associates were able to provide you whilst enjoying the atmosphere with a unique view and the meals... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Lovely welcome at this hotel. Room was fine with an amazing view, it was clean and spacious with modern decor(unfinished NO!!!!! Modern). Our safe wouldn't open, it was sorted within 2 mins. The bar staff and restaurant staff were quick, kind and courteous . 14th Feb, food was fabulous, however the barbecue on the roof the next night didn't quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate very much the sentiments expressed regarding our staff and how pleasant your stays have been at Hotel Topaz. We are happy that you indulged in our facilities, enjoying great hospitality and had a great time. We do hope you will visit us again on your next visit to the country.... More

Victoria
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
53 hotel reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

It seems that many hotels in Sri Lanka haven't been updated since the 70s or 80s presumably because of the impact of the civil way. This was one of the better ones that I stayed out with pleasant rooms and a delightful outlook over the hills and the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your encouraging review of Hotel Topaz. We are delighted that you had an awesome experience relaxing in our superb atmosphere and consider our hotel as simply excellent. We appreciate your kind sentiments and look forward to welcoming you again soon. We value your patronage. More

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Fantastic location overlooking Kandy - a good 30 min walk into Kandy but around 300 ruppees by tuk-tuk. It is clean but dilapidated in parts and caught up in an 80's timewarp regarding decor and food. The staff were lovely but there seemed to be a lack of any organisation in the place eg. battery flat in TV remote, battery... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are concerned to note from your review that your stay with us has not been upto your expectation, eventhough you have experienced some memorable moments with the location and our hospitality. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused with the observations mentioned,grey plastered walls in other term ''Titanium finish'' combined with 4 main colours is our main... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at hotel topaz as part of a discover sri lanka tour. Overall we thought it was ok, although some poor points. Food was quite reasonable. The rooms were generally ok, although all in our party were on the 2nd floor and all rooms had unfinished plasterwork in the bedroom and bathroom. We couldn't decide if this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for reviewing about your stay at Hotel Topaz, and we are pleased to note that you have been happy with the food we had on offer and have enjoyed your meal with us.The rooms you stayed in were totally renovated and 100% completed rooms and definitely the grey walls in other term ''Titanium finish'' combination with... More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

On arived made to feel very welcome. The staff were excellent and attentive. As for our room we had the most fantastic view and definately not outdated. My partner does not eat spicy food and that was a concern for us, however that was certainly not an issue at the Topaz. Would I stay here again the answer certainly, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Hotel Topaz,with a five star rating. We are delighted that you had a total indulgence of our facilities and loved our location with a unique atmosphere.Your kind review will assist other travelers to find the right place to spend their stay in Kandy. We do believe in your... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Not least as we had booked the tourmaline ( the sister hotel) but ended up here...and wish we hadn't. The hotel is outdated and although the rooms were reasonably clean the rest of the hotel wasn't. The rooms are not plush, we were supposedly given an upgrade to a suite on the 4th floor because of the issue withe the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had recently at Hotel Topaz. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we have personally discussed your case at length with our team members,Please be assured that we are taking the necessary corrective action to ensure that such incidents are not repeated,We hope that there will be an... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Topaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20967, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Topaz 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
75

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.