We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Topaz

Anniewatte, Kandy 20967, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Topaz
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    184
    89
    36
    28
See reviews for
67
188
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (400)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (113)
All months
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Where ever you go, you will find a smiling staff to serve you....! I stayed in the hotel for couple of days, all the services were just fine. The best thing that I liked in the hotel, is the smiling staff, especially the front office.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is being refurbished which is good news as it has great potential being beautifully situated at a top of a hill over looking Kandy with great views. Bedroom was nicely appointed and the staff all very friendly. Unfortunately the two buffet meals we had- dinner and breakfast were both bland and disappointing which marked down my score on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz and for your review on Trip Advisor. It gives us great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. However, we have taken note of your concern about the food and rest assured that we will look into the matter. Hoping to welcome you again for a greater... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 1 night only, in june 2015, we wished we had stayed longer to see more of Kandy itself. The view from this hotel is fantastic. The hotel, i would say was built in the 1980's. The rooms have been upgraded and quite " trendy". The resteraunt needs A/C as is very warm, However the breakfast and buffet evening meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz Kandy and for your valuable feedback. We are also pleased to note that you were happy with the rooms and amenities and of course our helpful team. Your encouraging review and all your constructive observations are greatly appreciated. we are looking forward to your continued patronage. More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Topaz hotel for quite a few days and while the views driving up are beautiful, the hotel itself is far from perfect. The reception area is dated so it feels like you're in the '80s, they need to massively redecorate. Once you get to the rooms, they are small but fine. The real test is when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night which was more than enough. The reception area is dated, restaurant tired, ripped cushion covers. It was June and very hot - No AC in the restaurant over breakfast so couldn't enjoy. The bedrooms have been updated so were nice, shame the rest of the hotel hasn't - needs a major face lift. Wouldn't stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz Kandy and for your feedback. We are glad you liked the facilities and services, however,we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you when dinning in our rooftop orchid lounge,we are pleased to announce that we have now opened our main restaurant,equipped according to the latest standards and it would be our... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Topaz is a nicely located property high above the city of Kandy. A winding road takes you to the hotel which has good views either towards the city or the mountains on the other side. But there are other hotels with better views in the city. Where it scores is the the quality of the rooms, which are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz Kandy and for your lovely review. It is a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay and found it to be a good. We are so glad you liked your room and amenities and appreciate your encouraging feedback.We have taken due note of the improvements you've highlighted.We trust you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel located up in the hills of Kandy. Rather remote but very beautiful, rooms have a spectacular view. Takes 10 mins to reach the main town. Main attraction of the rooms were the view rather than room itself. Hotel grounds are clean and pool is good

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz Kandy and for your valuable feedback. We are also pleased to note that you were happy with the rooms and amenities and of course our helpful team. Your encouraging review is greatly appreciated and we are looking forward to your continued patronage. More 

Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located on top of one of the many hills overlooking Kandy, this hotel had spectacular views from our room, the bar and restaurant. From the moment we arrived service was excellent. Friendly, helpful and highly professional. Our room was absolutely lovely. Contemporary, stylish, clean and comfortable. The buffet dinner and breakfast offered a wide selection of tasty food. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz Kandy and for your valuable feedback. We are also pleased to note that you were happy with the rooms and amenities and of course our helpful team. Your encouraging review is greatly appreciated and we are looking forward to your continued patronage. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Stayed for one night and after a few problems with air conditioning in rooms we then found out that dinner was unavailable in restaurant due to function. They did arrange transport to their sister hotel and food was lovely. Service was excellent but just a bit remote for us although views were stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to learn that our hospitality, facilities and the nature-friendly environment contributed towards your positive experience.Even though our hotel is only located 1.5 Km away from the center,The scenic beauty surrounding the mountains is cherished by every guest. We look forward to having you with us again when you next travel... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Stayed in the Hotel Topaz just outside Kandy in Sri Lanka. Beautiful location in the hills with spectacular views. Nice & comfortable. Travelling as a single woman on my own, I found the staff helpful especially the female guest relations officers who were exceptionally pleasant and keen to assist during my stay. Rates very reasonable & you can request the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for reviewing followed to your stay at Hotel Topaz.We are happy that you experienced amazing service by our entire team & enjoyed the facilities combined with it.We eagerly await your next arrival to indulge you in our true hospitality once again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (168)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#20 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#24 of 53 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#27 of 53 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#19 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#18 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay