We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Topaz

Anniewatte, Kandy 20967, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Topaz
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    64
    190
    94
    36
    28
See reviews for
72
193
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (412)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (113)
All months
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel during the Kandy perahara on the nights of the largest parade. Our tickets we had organsied for the event fell through and the staff were helpful in getting me seats at the last minute. The room was modern and clean, great views and decor is tastefully done. As per other comments the lobby is stuck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
united kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a one night stop hotel that I could have stayed in much longer The hotel is set high in the hills with wonderful views over Kandy The whole hotel is a beautiful modern design spacious rooms a large clean bathrooms The bar and restaurant were very good with great views out The staff were very good and polite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I only made a quick overnight stay at this place and I was sorry I had no chance to stay longer to experience it better. From the very firt moment upon the arrival till the end the hotel gave a very good impression. Everything was very well kept and maintained, premises spotlessly clean. The room was very spacious with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for the descriptive review of your comfortable stay at Hotel Topaz Kandy. We are delighted that you had a total indulgence of our facilities and liked our property. Your positive feedback of the hotel and its conveniences will assist other travelers to find the right place to accommodate in Kandy. We appreciate very much your kind... More 

Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 1 night only, because another day we go to other hotel near horton plains. We were in may 2015. I like the view from this hotel. It is fantastic. From our room was also great view.. Mountains and palms.. The breakfast and buffet meal was very good, i liked. Nice and clean rooms. Staff good and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay at Hotel Topaz during your honeymoon enjoying a serene atmosphere and a wide selection from the breakfast buffet. Having indulged in our excellent hospitality, we do hope your next stay in Kandy would be spent at our hotel. Thank you for... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice views from rooms with large windows and from restaurant. Few issues with the room with leaking bidet and bathroom door did not close properly. However staff attended with in an hour and fixed the door. Shower mixer was very hard to adjust with either too hot or too cold water flowing despite being Grohe. Food was very basic for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are happy to note that you experienced some memorable moments in your stay with us, enjoying the scenic view of the city & mountains. However, we regret the inconvenience caused due to the water leakage & other minor issues those were rectified by Engineering associates who are available 24-hours for any maintenance issues that crop up daily.... More 

alont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel did a really great job refurbishing the rooms. They are good size, are very comfortable, and look very modern. The lobby and dining areas, however, are atrocious. Such a flashback to the worst part of the 1980s, it's really unbelievable that anyone allows it to run this way. But the worst part is the food. The last time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your stay at Hotel Topaz Kandy, and for your patronage. We have noted your comment and sincerely regret your disappointment over the food. Please accept our sincere apologies and rest assured these issues will be addressed in our on-going endeavour to provide personalized services to our valued guests & we have finalized plans to upgrade... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Where ever you go, you will find a smiling staff to serve you....! I stayed in the hotel for couple of days, all the services were just fine. The best thing that I liked in the hotel, is the smiling staff, especially the front office.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay at Hotel Topaz enjoying a serene atmosphere and the best services from our associates. Having indulged in our excellent hospitality, we do hope your next stay in kandy would be spent at our hotel. Thank you for your valued patronage. More 

Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

This hotel is being refurbished which is good news as it has great potential being beautifully situated at a top of a hill over looking Kandy with great views. Bedroom was nicely appointed and the staff all very friendly. Unfortunately the two buffet meals we had- dinner and breakfast were both bland and disappointing which marked down my score on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz and for your review on Trip Advisor. It gives us great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. However, we have taken note of your concern about the food and rest assured that we will look into the matter. Hoping to welcome you again for a greater... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Stayed 1 night only, in june 2015, we wished we had stayed longer to see more of Kandy itself. The view from this hotel is fantastic. The hotel, i would say was built in the 1980's. The rooms have been upgraded and quite " trendy". The resteraunt needs A/C as is very warm, However the breakfast and buffet evening meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz Kandy and for your valuable feedback. We are also pleased to note that you were happy with the rooms and amenities and of course our helpful team. Your encouraging review and all your constructive observations are greatly appreciated. we are looking forward to your continued patronage. More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

I stayed at the Topaz hotel for quite a few days and while the views driving up are beautiful, the hotel itself is far from perfect. The reception area is dated so it feels like you're in the '80s, they need to massively redecorate. Once you get to the rooms, they are small but fine. The real test is when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (171)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#20 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#25 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
3.1 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#19 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#27 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#21 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay