We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Topaz

3.5 of 5 Anniewatte, Kandy 20967, Sri Lanka
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Topaz
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    119
    72
    34
    26
See reviews for
50
130
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay at Hotel Topaz, unfortunately it was only for one night. On arrival, a warm welcome from all the staff, such a lovely way to be greeted to a new hotel. We were shown to our room, beautifully designed and presented. Two comfortable chairs right at the large window that looked over the hills of Kandy, what... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Helen S, We are also so very glad that you chose Topaz as your preferred hotel for your holiday in Kandy. It was certainly our pleasure to have taken care of your every need whilst you were with us. Thank you for some very kind words in your review and for sharing your thoughts with other travelers. Our team... More

Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Topaz has a beautiful view without a doubt ...but other than the view I did not like anything about the hotel.....it is situated so high that you don't have a car stand-by you can't go anywhere...also there were shortages of towels in the hotel as there were guests in every room...we ordered sandwich n french fries...the fries were literally burnt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. We are pleased that you have been happy with the room facing the most outstanding views over Kandy etc. We have taken note of all the points mentioned in your review, and assure you that we are investigating the same and will take prompt measures... More

Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

fantastic hotel at the top of a mountain with brilliant panoramic views of the town from our room. the service was great. the food was excellent. only one slight criticism the proprietor of the gem shop was a little pushy, however he was polite and if you are firm there is no problem. overall a beautiful hotel and great experience.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are very glad that you chose Topaz as your preferred hotel for your holiday in Kandy. It was certainly our pleasure to have taken care of your every need whilst you were with us on your honeymoon. Thank you for some very kind words in your review and for sharing your thoughts as well as we have... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the whole, a good stay in a well run and well established hotel high on a hill above Kandy. On arrival it wasn't clear if we had a double or twin room - for 2 friends travelling Sri Lanka a twin is essential to preserve sanity and personal space. We were offered a twin, on the ground floor with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your time in placing a descriptive review. We note that your stay with us has not been to your expectation even though you enjoyed some memorable moments. We have taken due note of your observations and thank you for bringing them up to our attention. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you but... More

Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed 2 nights at the topaz.its location is 1.5km from town centre up top of a high hill,which is perfect for views over kandy and you are away from the mayhem of kandy traffic noise. our room was on the 2nd floor and was really nice being modern and spacious,the usual flat screen tv with sat channels,bathroom had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you had a good experience at Hotel Topaz and that we were able to make a lasting impression on you eventhough the choice & the alternative options of food was not upto your expectation. However, we thank you for your time in writing the feedback. Should you wish... More

Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights in this nice hotel. It took a little bit effort for our driver to take us up there. But the view from our room was worth it! On the windows was written "Beware of monkeys. Keep the windows closed" that was comical for us :)). The staff is very polite and helpfull. The only thing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, It is such a pleasure to note that you have had a wonderful experience at Hotel Topaz, and that we have been able to give you the quiet and relaxing stay you have wanted. It is a great motivator for our team to know that you have enjoyed yourself whilst with us, and total satisfaction on your part... More

Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a long day of travel, Hotel Topaz's comfortable, clean room was most welcome. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The breakfast buffet offered a large selection of local favorites. The fresh fruit selection including perfectly ripe mangos and papaya was a real treat. Free wifi was available in the lobby area. I only wish our stay was longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, What a thrill to read your review of Hotel Topaz, and it was definitely an encouragement to our Team, who strive to give you a stay that is perfect and unique in every way. A very personalized service is our forte, and it is something we love to do to ensure that your stay with us is memorable... More

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location for panoramic views of Kandy city and surrounding mountains. Staff very attentive and friendly, room was clean and modern. Buffet food was plentiful but disappointing in presentation and quality

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We thank you for your four star review.we are glad that we have succeeded in giving you some fantastic memories in Sri Lanka and at Hotel Topaz. Thank you for some really lovely comments in your review and for sharing your experience with other travelers. We also noted your observations which we will surely make it a point... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Reaching here it's challenge (As it is on hill) but staying here is more than worth. Awesome View and great atmosphere. Very nice hotel, Healthy breakfast and great staff. Nice collection of gems ornament in the shop in the Lobby as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your great five star review. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay at Hotel Topaz enjoying the great variety of sumptuous food on offer during breakfast and our warm hospitality. Your high recommendation of the hotel would indeed assist other travelers to find the right place to stay in kandy. Thank you! We... More

New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

It is a nice hotel with beautiful view of surrounding hills and green valley. The staff very nice and smiling, specially Rasika, the guest relation officer. Check-in, check-out were smooth. Would like to stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much from the entire Hotel Topaz team for having the previllage to read a happy note in few lines. It is so nice to see success in our efforts to give you the most memorable, enjoyable and unique experience at Topaz.More than anything, we love the fact that you have promised to come back in... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20967, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Topaz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay