We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Helga's Folly

#22 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
70, Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Helga\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What can be said about Helgas Folly that hasn't been said already? This is by far the most enchanting place I have ever been to. From the grounds to the wall murals to the history and an impeccable collection of well preserved antiques and memories hung upon the walls. Everything is full of some sort of magic that keeps pulling... More 

Helpful?
Thank scarlett333
Blythspirit77, Front Office Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Miss Scarlet. Thank you for taking time to write your lovely review which is hugely appreciated by ALL the Folly family. Always such a pleasure having you stay, and much look forward to your next visit in May. Madam Helga who has not been to well, and is being monitored at the moment is so very happy that you... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Having been a active member of helgas folly staff.and treated like their own staff slaves.working 12 to 15 hour days.I belive this to be illegal practise.we arrived and met Helga for all of 5 minutes.not being able to arrange our terms of employment allthough we were not paid.we joined in with the staff working side by side.the staff are great.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

A wonderful place to look around. Full of history about the people who have been in the owners life. Uniquely decorated and painted. It's a bit dark in areas, from blown light bulbs, so a day visit is probably better. Upstairs top floor was like going down a haunted corridor with rustling chandeliers, blown and flickering lights. We were told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pebbles402016
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

We are all very sorry that you wrote this unfortunate review Marc and Jane, as you were not guests here, although you pretend here that you are. Tripadvisor is for genuine guests, not for venting your anger because your services were stopped. All the Folly family are very saddened. This is cheap. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As I read through other reviews, I see very mixed emotions about Helga's magnificent Folly. This is very disappointing as all of the staff and Helga herself work extremely hard to maintain the hotel that just oozes character. The building is 94 years old, You are living in artwork and need to respect that and understand that this is NOT... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashk16
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you too for your very lovely, much appreciated review, which brought the unhappy, sad review below into perspective. Thank you so very much for understanding, and enjoying what our home, which it is not only to madam Helga, her husband and the kitten madam Helga rescued on... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Below is the (unedited) review that our nine-year old son wrote after we visited Helga's Folly in late December 2015. It pretty much sums up the awful experience that awaits anybody intrepid enough to ignore the many warnings regarding this filthy, uncomfortable and overpriced hellhole. The only comment to add to our son's write-up concerns the utter lack of service... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ochsenfeldf
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam. It is sad that you left our home unhappy. A great pity that you did not do your homework on us before coming. Although as you know we were totally full, as was Kandy, I remember you well. The large dining room next to the suite room you took, had been booked for a party sometime back. You... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Maybe it's the monkeys, or the wonderful staff, or the old school glamour, or Helga herself; this hotel is a dream come true! This is amongst the last truly special places to visit in the world - full of charm, stories and art. If you are feeling lack lustre this place will give you a new lease of life- or... More 

Helpful?
Thank raychud
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for visiting us, and thank you for taking your precious time to write your lovely review about 'our' home, which it is to many of us , some whom have been here for many, decades. That you were able to understand and enjoy what Helga's Folly has to offer, gives us all great joy. Thank you... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided to check this out with time to kill around lunchtime. Had a great set lunch of green curry and the dessert itself was worth the walk up the hill. Truly one of kind place and owner, if you are fortunate enough to meet her like we did on our visit. We will certainly be returning!

Helpful?
Thank sbb11578
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for visiting us, and thank you for taking your precious time to write your lovely review here. So very glad that you enjoyed your lunch, and were able to understand and enjoy what our home has to offer. Home to many of us here. Reviews such as yours, makes keeping our doors open a pleasure. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I and my wife with our 3 year old son were in town on business and decided to try Helga's Folly to celebrate our anniversary after reading interesting stuff about it. After an initially slightly strange welcome we were ushered inside. After selecting from the set menu we went inside and then it struck us, the strange and quirky decor.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parthi B
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking your valuable time to write your lovely review, about 'our' home, which it is to many of us apart from madam Helga and her husband. Your review is very much appreciated by all the Folly family, some of whom have been here for many, many, many decades.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Helga's for a friends birthday and we had the most amazing and memorable time . The staff and the food were wonderful and the place itself is just beautiful . Also got to meet Helga at the end of the stay for an added bonus . We will all be going back it's amazing x

Helpful?
Thank Vickyhe
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam. Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you too for taking your valuable time to write your lovely review, which is much appreciated by management and all the Folly family. That you could understand, enjoy and appreciate what 'our' home, which it is to many of us here, apart from Madam Helga and her husband,... More 

Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is really an amazing place. You definitely should visit it to take a look. It's a bit like Alice in Wonderland. We then had dinner there. It's $20 and they had 3 choices (one of them is vegetarian). You cannot order by card, so you had to take one of these 3 whole menus. The food was good but... More 

Helpful?
Thank tinymaggot
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam. Thank you for visiting us. Could you please let us know when you came, which will be a huge help to find out who was at the bar, as we do have all that is on the menu bar Bombay Sapphire which we ran out of and had to wait stocks which took a week. So very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

296 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (295)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (67)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
9.2 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
2.2 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 56 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#19 of 56 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana Guest House
Sevana Guest House
#10 of 56 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#15 of 56 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay