We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Helga's Folly

70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helga's Folly
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Helga's Folly
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    65
    16
    17
    22
See reviews for
37
114
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (286)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars NEW

Popped in to helgas folly to look round. Ended up staying all afternoon and having a wonderful 3 course lunch. It's well worth the visit to see the eclectic mix of art old photos and meet the charming staff. So nice that helga made time to chat to us herself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear madam. Thank you for taking your precious time and trouble to write your nice review, which is much appreciated by all the Folly family. So glad that you enjoyed your meal and understood the house, which is home to many. Glad too that you had the opportunity of meeting and having a chat with our madam Helga. All the... More 

Ballajura, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Amazing place, we came across the by accident and cancelled our 2nd night at our booked hotel to stay here. I just wish we'd had more time to explore, take in all the photos, memorabilia and scrap books of newspaper cuttings. If you can't stay here, then I suggest that you at least go, pay 300 Rs just to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There's a reason this place is famous (or is it infamous). It's outrageous. Ok, so Lonely Planet says it's a bit tired (but frankly I found the Lonely Planet guide to Sri Lanka a but tired too - but I digress) but that's part of its quirky charm. We only went for dinner so saw it in subdued lighting with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for taking your valuable time and the trouble to write your nice review, which is very much appreciated by us all at the Folly. So glad that you could understand and enjoy what Helgas Folly has to offer.. Thank you for visiting us, and look forward to seeing you again. All the very best from us... More 

Rethymnon, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a hotel! What an experience! The hotel is full of history charm and so much art! The artwork on the walls! Dinner was like a time travel and it was superb. However they need to brush up on cleanliness and maintenance. Chairs were falling apart etc. Lol

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to Tripadvisor. Thank you too for your helpful constructive criticism, which is being addressed. Yes it is time that some of the the old chairs are retired, and kept as just sentimentals on view! Always good to have new eyes look at things. Thank you, and hope that... More 

Ramsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went with friends to Helga's recently. An ex Banker and his wife, I've always loved it and I was thrilled that their executive lifestyle hadn't spoilt them for it. I've never 'done' Tripadvisor, I find it a rather vile set up where a lot of usually sour people can air their complaints, without risk of confrontation. There are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Blythspirit77, General Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you so very much for taking your precious time and the trouble to write your gracious review which is very much appreciated by us all at the Folly. So very glad that you could understand and enjoy what the Folly had to offer. Thank you too for also bringing your friends. Thank you again and look forward... More 

Wincanton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights. We were a little apprehensive but we really enjoyed ourselves. As one reviewer said you come here for the rustic charm and any comparison with other hotels goes out the window. It is also priced to take it out of the budget market. Consequently not many people seem to stay here but rather come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write your lovely review to Tripadvisor, which is very much appreciated by all of us at the Folly. So glad that you were able to understand and enjoy the house, which is 'home' to many. So glad too that you mentioned about the monkeys, as although there... More 

Carefree, Arizona, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is definitely a different place , a strange place . we didn't like the fact that we were the only guest that night , nobody just the help that were nice and trying to help us . For 250 dollars we can have stay at the Kandy House .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir from the US. So sorry that your visit was not up to your expectations. We are a private, heritage home, open to guests, with family paraphanalia, which does make it different to other hotels, as our website says clearly on the home page: "Helga's Folly, is not a boutique or starred emporium, just a Sri Lankan's home with... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just wrote my review and started to read other peoples reviews. I just don't get what a bunch of moaners some people are. It's pretty obvious from all the reviews that Helgas folly has a faded rustic charm to it. THATS WHY YOU GO THERE. if you wanted to stay at a travel lodge thats super bland and sterile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you so very much for taking the time and trouble to write your lovely review, which is very much appreciated by us all. Look forward to welcoming you back. All the very best, from us all at the Folly. Thank you again. More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Firstly I wouldn't call Helga's Folly a hotel, not in your normal sense of the word anyway. It is more of a guesthouse. Staying here was definitely an experience and not something we will forget easily! It is right on the hill overlooking Kandy but not really close enough that you can walk into the town but reception can always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Madam. Thank you so much for your helpful Tripadvisor review. Thank you too for saying that that we are not a hotel as such..Very important, as our website:helgasfolly.com , clearly states on the first page"Helgas Folly is not a boutique or starred emporium, if expecting a regular hotel experience, best look elsewhere".. Candles are 'our thing'..Although we have chandeliers,... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

Helga's is one of those places that is disappearing in a homogenised world of franchise hotels and retail outlets. The decor is a collection of paintings, photos, plates, trinkets, skeletons, candles and just about anything else you can imagine. You could spend hours just studying the walls - better than a ticket to a local museum. The food was excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Blythspirit77, Guest Relations Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your kind and gracious review, of 'our' home which it is to any of us here, and so much appreciated by us all. The house was designed and built in the 30's by madam Helgas mother in the Bauhaus style as a home in the hills, which became... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Helga's Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helga's Folly

Address: 70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Helga's Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helga`s Folly Hotel Kandy
Helgas Folly Kandy
Helgas Folly Hotel Kandy
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#10 Family Hotel in Kandy

230 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (229)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay