We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Earl's Regency

84 Tenna Kumbura, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Earl's Regency
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
Review This Hotel

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    365
    198
    74
    29
See reviews for
255
488
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1015)
  • Mar-May only
    (243)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (227)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (232)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (313)
All months
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

My family of 5 adults stayed here for one night on 14 March. We realised that it would have been better to have stayed for 2. Breakfast was good. I love the lighting system in the rooms its awesome - why don't all hotels have this? The bathroom was nice too, even the hair dryer worked properly. The hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were received with much hospitality than I expected. The hotel crew was really caring and friendly. We received a upgraded room for the same price my daughter loved the room very much. The room was built on a natural rock base with naturally elevated floor on the side of the room. Food, amenities and service was just amazing. Really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a nice hotel badly let down by the service throughout. Reception was very slow, service in the restaurant was very poor and after a long walk to my room after check-in it transpired they hadn't given me the card that enabled the electricity in the room. This is a nice hotel and I had a good room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived 3pm to find they were unsure of our booking and rooms weren't ready, despite having booked and fully paid weeks in advance on their own website. Their processes seemed all manual. Staff were not very helpful, smiling but not actually providing service, some were even rude. Staff in dining room very slow to clear tables at breakfast we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough, Wiltshire, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were warmly welcomed at reception and shown to a beautiful room with balcony over-looking the river. We had a couple of problems, we could not find the Air conditioning remote and did not have the correct plugs to charge our cameras. Both were dealt with extremely quickly. As we came down to the Dining room for the buffet we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting Earl's Regency Kandy as your preferred accommodation partner in the midst of the Hill country Sri Lanka and thank you for the time devoted in posting an insightful review regarding your holiday experience on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and... More 

London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

But for one event I would have given this hotel a higher rating. On our second night we were forced to eat dinner in an enormous function room because the main dining room was being set up for a wedding. this meant that we could not eat outside so had to be in freezing air-conditioning and in a room set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest  We would like to thank for the much appreciated preference given in selecting Earl's Regency as your accommodation partner in the midst of the cultural triangle in the hill country, Sri Lanka. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The Earl's Regency is luxury. The pool area is amazing, although the pool is only 4,5 feet deep. The pool bar is a strange conundrum: If you order a drink, even a bottle of beer, the barkeeper calls for a waiter to come and collection the order. After that, the waiter must go back to the hotel, prosess the order,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We would like to thank for the much appreciated preference given in selecting Earl's Regency as your accommodation partner in the midst of the cultural triangle in the hill country, Sri Lanka. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to... More 

Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for only one night here, but really loved it and could happily have stayed longer. We were upgraded to a fantastic suite with balconies around giving us marvellous views. The swimming pool was wonderful and we enjoyed a nice snack lunch there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank for the much appreciated preference given in selecting Earl's Regency as your accommodation partner in the midst of the cultural triangle in the hill country, Sri Lanka. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to... More 

Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. It was our first night in Sri Lanka and was a great start. The rooms, staff and food were lovely. We had a treat as a local wedding took place at the hotel and we were able to watch the traditional dancing. We would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We would like to thank for the much appreciated preference given in selecting Earl's Regency as your accommodation partner in the midst of the cultural triangle of the hill country, Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable review regarding your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note... More 

Winsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Made very welcome on arrival and at all other times by friendly staff. Comfortable spacious room with quiet air con and nice view from the balcony. Discovered later that we were right above the function room and there was a wedding reception on that day with loud music in the evening. Did stop at 11pm though so OK for sleeping.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Earl's Regency, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We take this opportunity to thank you for selecting Earl's Regency and for the time taken in sharing your valuable feedback with us. As you have highlighted in your feedback, we are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the overall facilities and the services that the hotel had to offer during your stay with us. Specifically,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

623 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (600)
Viewed
View from room (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (178)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (118)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question