We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Kandy hotels

Mahaweli Reach Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20564, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mahaweli Reach Hotel to your Saves list
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
67%
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Kandy
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
yasha_pnt Bangalore, India
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    158
    94
    36
    32
See reviews for
104
216
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Mahaweli reach is a beautiful hotel, we had a great time memorable here.We stayed here for 2 nights and were struck by its grandeur. the evenings buffet spread was good and a mix of sri lankan and continental cuisine

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your valuable & encouraging words which are a great source of strength to all of us. We would love to have the pleasure of... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is located on the banks of the Mahaweli river and is very impressive from the first minute you walk into the reception area. The staff can't do enough for you and are very polite and friendly The rooms are spacious and very well maintained and there is a quality feel throughout. The evening meal was fantastic - a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your valuable & encouraging words which are a great source of strength to all of us. We would love to have the pleasure of... More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Of the hotels on Kandy, this is probably the only one that can claim solid links to Sri Lanka's aristocratic past and its' heritage. It is located on the Banks of the longest river in Sri Lanka the Mahaweli river from which the hotel has got it's name. It is an excellent place with majestic architecture and a grand setting.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your valuable & encouraging words which are a great source of strength to all of us. We would love to have the pleasure of... More

St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Mahaweli Reach hotel, Kandy as part of our trip to various locations in Sri Lanka. As part of our trip we stayed 3 nights in Kandy (7 Aug - 9 Aug) to make sure we took in all the sights that were on offer. As we were travelling in August we experienced the festival which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Your kind words give us great encouragement. It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you More

Malta, Europe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I planned to stay for two nights at this hotel on our honeymoon, however we only spent a night and a quarter here. Unfortunately during our first night, at one point, I felt what I thought were mosquitoes so I woke up only to find to my disgust that there were bugs in our bed. We immediately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We regret the unfortunate incident that took place during your stay, despite the efforts taken to control same. However we are happy that we were able to resolve the issues & provide our best & personalized services. We do appreciate & thank you for your co operation & understanding. We will endeavour to create a... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a very attractive Colonial style hotel on the banks of the river Restaurant is very good with very good selections at both breakfast & evening buffets & waiting staff were very attentive & friendly Swimming pool is large However on downside - plumbing is noisy, room bins not emptied, coffee & tea not replenished & bathroom towels of 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that you liked the ambience of our Hotel . We value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our services. It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach ! Thank... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good and quite location with good view of nearby river. great swimming pools and gardens. Restaurant is good but not that great. Hotel also arranges for romantic dine and ride boats on nearby river For couples but has to be booked in advance .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Your kind words give us great encouragement. It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach ! More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights. Found staff generally good and helpful. Room and facilities were nice. It is not 5 star!! However could be placed at higher end of what's available in Kandy. It's a beautiful setting but therein lies the problem. It isn't up to being classed as a good self contained resort. Lacking dining and activities options. It's located... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We truly appreciate your comments & value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our services. It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you More

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here recently and easily one of the worst hotels ever. A truly terrible stay was compounded by the blase, rude and uncaring behaviour of the hotel manager. Had a very nasty experience with one of the staff members that resulted in the Police being called. The manager was abhorrent, didn't care and was more interested in talking about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We wish to inform you that your issues were all addressed by the relevant Managers while you were in our Hotel. Further our priority is to provide all our guests a courteous, personalized and efficient service, which Mahaweli Reach is renowned for. We will endeavour to create a better experience, should you decide to visit... More

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My partner & I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April this year. I would not recomend staying at this hotel. Unfortunately I had a very bad experience in the spa at this hotel & when we approached the manager the attitude we received was less than satisfactory. Both my partner & I were very upset & the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We wish to inform you that your issues were all addressed by the relevant Managers while you were in our Hotel. Further our priority is to provide all our guests a courteous, personalized and efficient service, which Mahaweli Reach is renowned for. We will endeavour to create a better experience, should you decide to visit... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mahaweli Reach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20564, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

284 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (271)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kandy with
any amenities