We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mahaweli Reach Hotel

4.0 of 5 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20564, Sri Lanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    164
    96
    38
    32
See reviews for
107
219
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (474)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (97)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our group of 4 adults, and 4 children ages 2 months to 3 years old, stayed for 2 nights. It was our second time to visit the hotel, and our first time with our children. Pros: * The hotel has a certain colonial charm. The pool area and gardens are very nice. * The breakfast was really solid, with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Peaceful surrounding and a beautiful hotel. Some staff members were extremely good while some had difficulties maintaining the quality of service. There was an loud argument between 2 staff members and us being the only Sri Lankans who were there at that time who could understood the language, we felt very uncomfortable. Apart from that, we had trouble throughout the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were upgrded to a suit, thats very nice. The rooms are big but found 2 lezerds!!! What I didn't like is liying on tourist, in order to go from Kandy to Bentota they took us the long way (Kandy-colombo-bentota) instead of taking us directly!! And took $150 while it only costs $75!! I was really shocked! The food is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great experience at this hotel. Our room was large and comfortable, the staff was pleasant and always ready to help, and the food was good. Breakfast/dinner buffets were well stocked and gave us a good mix of continental and Sri Lankan food. The hotel is situated 5KM from the Kandy city centre and by the banks of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is beautiful. It's design means you're hidden from an open or loud area (like the swimming pool) and I can happily sit away in a spot and watch the world go by without being interrupted. The rooms are large and very colonial. Great views of the river, and it has a beautiful pool. It also has a bath... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach for your holiday We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for your valuable & encouraging words which are a great source of strength to all of... More

vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel had a lovely old feel. The staff are delightful and the food is ok The only issue is that it caters to tour groups and thus the food is buffet style good for a buffet. Lovely big pool and nice rooms well appointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach for your holiday We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for your valuable & encouraging words which are a great source of strength to all of... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It seems like a old time hotel... Its got a lot of wooden furniture with marble in the rooms.. But its a classic... Its a nice beautiful hotel... good service and what more does one require on a holiday.. They have swimming pool, gym spa so all the added benefits too... The room didnt seem too child friendly with too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach for your holiday We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for your valuable & encouraging words which are a great source of strength to all of... More

seattle
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
129 hotel reviews
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My second stay here and was given a 5th floor room with a nice view. Same friendly staff with good housekeeping service. Food is above average and breakfast buffet is of good quality although no new dishes. They do have events here and can be disruptive at times but you can take advantage of a free show this way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach again for your holiday We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for your valuable & encouraging words which are a great source of strength to all... More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel atmosphere and services are great. not that spacious yet very homely and comfortable. a bit distant from main city ( Kandy) typical country style. food is good not superb. again not spacious just restaurant, pool and room space. Additionally you can get boat rides.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that you liked the ambience of our Hotel We value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our services. It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach ! More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at this hotel after a long trip and were looking forward to the hotel we saw in pictures and the rave reviews we'd read. We were immediately disappointed to see that a large marquee was being set up between the swimming pool and the river, effectively blocking off the view from the reception, bar and restaurant area. Worse,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Owner at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We truly appreciate your comments & value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our services. We regret the disturbance you experienced due to the on going construction, however it is our endeavour to upgrade our property in order to provide you a better service should you decide to visit us again.... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20564, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

289 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (276)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay