We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mahaweli Reach Hotel

35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20564, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I wasn't looking forward to my one night at this hotel based in some of the reports but we really enjoyed our stay. The service was excellent from the minute your car arrives at the door of the hotel. Really liked the open plan of the reception areas looking out onto the very large pool ( too cold for swimming... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RosieLincs
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Sitting at the river bank, it is a nice hotel. Clean facilities, big size rooms perfect for family. The garden, manicured lawns add to the beauty of the hotel. When we stayed, it rained. It was nice and cosy to sip famous Sri Lankan tea while watching the rain lashing the river from the Balcony. The river cruise offered by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Santanoo
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a disappointment. We occupied 2 rooms for 3 nights: 1. For all the 3 days major renovation work carried out just outside our rooms with huge noise loud enough to keep you awake from 7 am to 7 pm. 2. AC did not work despite technicians trying out twice. For 3 nights, we slept with fan on. 3. Rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank VivekSangita
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach & taking time to share your valuable comments with us. While we regret that you were inconvenienced in any way, we have taken note of your comments. We always endeavor to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience, that our product is maintained at the highest possible... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Mahaweli hotel is located away from city in Peaceful Location with good Food and Dining spacious Restaurant and Great Swimming Pool .... offer Special Ayurveda SPA treatment with there own indigenous products .

Helpful?
Thank GirishBora
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach & taking time to share your valuable comments with us. It is a pleasure to note that our services & standards were up to your expectations . Your kind words are a great source of strength & encouragement. It was a truly a pleasure to serve you. We... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel but really far away from most of the kandy attractions. If your looking. For some down time and just want to relax I think it would be nice . The staff were really friendly. We stayed in the executive suite and it was very nice and lots of room. My girlfriend and I both got food poisoning the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach & taking time to share your comments with us. We are glad that our product and services met your expectations. While we regret that you were inconvenienced in any way, we have also inquired into the matter and have not found any records of food issues being brought... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms were spacious and clean. We spent the new year which was very enjoyable. Food variety satisfies all taste from western to eastern . Long corridors . We were a group of 24 friends. All were satisfied and would come back again. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Bachir Z
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach & taking time to share your wonderful comments with us. It is a pleasure to note that our services & standards were up to your expectations . Your kind words are a great source of strength & encouragement. It was a truly a pleasure to serve you. We... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A fairly relaxing hotel with large buffet. A little dated and unkempt in areas and could do with a spruce but otherwise fine. We had a room away from river and pool it was all a little underwhelming . Watch out for the biting insects before 630pm!

Helpful?
Thank Katie N
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach & taking time to share your valuable comments with us. We have taken note of your comments & we do have an ongoing programme to control mosquitoes. It was a truly a pleasure to serve you & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach as our regular... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hi , we had a good experience at your hotel during our holiday in January 2016. The rooms are quite spacious . Food quality and items need improvements for vegetarians.. regards Sandeep jain 9830093128

Helpful?
Thank sandeep_012001
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach & taking time to share your valuable comments with us. It is a pleasure to note that our services & standards were up to your expectations . Your kind words are a great source of strength & encouragement. Your comment on the vegetarian option has been noted. It... More 

Whittlesey
Level Contributor
195 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not good to physically challenged, getting up the so called ramp is a 30% incline. Otherwise excellent hotel, as said colonial in many respects. Can be expensive in high season. Buffet selection very good. Large rooms with heaters when cool season. Fairly convenient for Kandy - Wi-Fi worked OK

Helpful?
Thank RoyGerstner
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach & taking time to share your wonderful comments with us. It is a pleasure to note that our services & standards were up to your expectations . Your kind words are a great source of strength & encouragement. Your comment on the ramp has been noted. It was... More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very comfortable stay at this place. Even though it was for just 1 night, it was good. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Excellent service all round. Our bathroom lights were not working and it was sorted out within minutes of us informing the front desk. The buffet for Dinner and Breakfast was also very good.... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobbyThommy
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! Thank you for selecting Mahaweli Reach & taking time to share your wonderful comments with us. It is a pleasure to note that our services & standards were up to your expectations . Your kind words are a great source of strength & encouragement. It was a truly a pleasure to serve you. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

424 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (404)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (90)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (85)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
4.0 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#15 of 56 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
7.9 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#10 of 56 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#21 of 56 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
3.4 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#9 of 56 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay