We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Kandy hotels

Mahaweli Reach Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20564, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mahaweli Reach Hotel to your Saves list
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Kandy
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Osron D Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Overview
  • Reviews (448)
  • Photos (256)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (81)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    151
    94
    35
    29
See reviews for
99
206
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was my first time in Kandy, I needed a hotel which was not too far away from the city centre and had easy access in and out. Also the hotel is needed to be comfortable and luxury with a reasonable price and I think Mahaweli Reach Hotel meets all those categories. Its a huge hotel with friendly staff, good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jacksonville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't know that their guest numbers were down and that is probably why they cancelled the buffet dinner and replaced it with a set menu which was extremely kid unfriendly. Two adults had the set menu food anyway but it was awful and service poor. We ordered expensive Pizza from the snack menu for kids. Be warned a single... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations & appreciate your comments on areas in which we can improve our product & services as we strive to maintain high standards. We will endeavour to create a better experience, should you decide to visit us again. Thank you More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was told that this is a great hotel but when I checked in I was waiting till we checked out, The reception and the rooms were the only pro I can think of. The food was horrible and the waiters weren't interactive and to be found. I liked the snooker area. I don't think I'd visit here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations however we are glad that you were pleased with certain aspects of the hotel. We appreciate your comments on areas in which we can improve our product & services as we strive to maintain high standards. We will endeavour to create a better... More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Location is good but not for relaxation. Food is good but not as we expected.Not enough space to enjoy. Pool is nice but i felt its not clean enough. Overall its a good stay at kandy. Hotel services and qaulity of the rooms are very good. Space is the limitation

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations however we are glad that you were pleased with certain aspects of the hotel. We appreciate your comments on areas in which we can improve our product & services as we strive to maintain high standards. We will endeavour to create a better... More

Nawala , Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

An awesome hotel on the banks of the longest river in Sri Lanka ,the Mahaweli River . Based in the Central hills of Sri Lanka ,Kandy . Everything in this place was excellent from the point of checking in and checking out . You got to stay here to experience it .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that the standards of our Hotel was up to your expectations. Your kind words give us great encouragement. It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach ! More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

On the June 4, 2014, we had a technical seminar in Mahaweli Reach Hotel, Kandy, Sri Lanka. We will say that we had the support given by hotel management and staff. Food and other arrangements were above standard. They showed us excellent hospitality. We had a similar seminars in other hotels in Sri Lanka, we can safely say that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that the technical seminar was a success & that the standards of our Hotel was up to your expectations. Your kind words give us great encouragement. It will be a pleasure to have you & your team with us again & look forward to... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My partner and I booked in here for 2 nights as part of our tour package. When we arrived, it seemed fantastic, lovely pool, and a warm greeting. We were taken to our room which was quite a walk away from the bar/reception.. but it was the honeymoon suite, the bed was decorated with flowers, and the even had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in the outskirts of the Kandy town approx 15-20min from here to Kandy's city center. Large hotel with a small lobby but comfy seating, friendly staff but you need to push a lot to make things the way you like, have everything confirmed in writing just to make sure, Large pool I never dipped in, non... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from MahaweliReach ! We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Your kind words give us great encouragement. We value your comments on areas in which we can improve our product & services as we strive to maintain high standards. It will be a pleasure to have you... More

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is the worst hotel I've visited in srilanka there food has insects in and they don't respect there customers they charge you 2500 RS for a plastic garbage bag there rooms has insects in the swimming pool too there stuff manger doesn't respect costumers and she makes her self shocked of everything there hotel manger Armstrong doesn't care... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach ! We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we appreciate your comments on areas in which we can improve our product & services as we endeavour to deliver service of the highest standard to all our guests. Branded items in the rooms are for sale as souvenirs and guests request... More

Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location, pool, gym, outdoor sports. My concern was that they had construction on and despite we having a baby along they gave it to us. The construction would start early morning and annoy us. If you go please check and choose a room far from construction place. But otherwise all in all a thumbsup for the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from MahaweliReach ! We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Your kind words give us great encouragement. We regret the disturbances that you experienced due to the refurbishing process It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mahaweli Reach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20564, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

256 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (243)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
112

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer