We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanthana House

108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hanthana House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
49
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Falhumaafushi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've traveled in January and needed place to spend a night. Warm hospitality, great homemade food, Internet, beds. Generally it was good experience. The only minus is location. But if you driving or on Tuk Tuk then no problems. Thanks to Pathi and his family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Getting straight to it: Pros: 1. Hospitality by Mr.Pathi and Family. They welcome you to their home and you dont feel like an outsider. 2. Cleaniness. the rooms are spotless and very spacious. The 2 rooms on the top have a large Balcony from where you can see the Forest/hill landscape. Bed is very comfortable, had a good night's sleep.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay so much I extended from 2 - 4 days, the host family & staff are lovely. The guest house is in a quiet location high in the hills, the owner is very knowledgable about the area & happy to answer all & any questions,, and make arrangements if needed. The highlight for me was a cooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were two families with young children traveling together to Kandy. We enjoyed one wonderful night at Hanthana house and wish we could have stayed longer. The host family is so engaging and hospitable - really added to our experience. The dinner prepared was truly the BEST local Sri Lankan meal we had anywhere. We would absolutely stay here again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zürich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed beginning of December 2014 for four nights at the Hathana House, we is to say two adults with two small kids (1.5 and 3.5 years). The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable, the location is a bit outside of Kandy but considering how busy and therefore loud Kandy can be it was a very good location for us,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Pathi and his family were very friendly and the house is clean with nice large rooms and en suite bathrooms and a private outdoor deck. We were happy to have the mosquito netting the first night since we were swarmed by termites but after that we didn't really have too many issues with bugs. They turn the wi-fi off at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in March 2014 and I have waited until the end of the year to write this review. The owner is the most dishonest person I have come across while travelling during 2014. Hanthana House provides nice, clean and comfortable accomodation complete with fair four poster beds / mosquito net beds. Unfortunately the place is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Puchong, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Located away from Kandy town, we get to enjoy the absolute peace during our stay. (They are doing some renovation, but only during day time, we spent most of our daylight hours sight seeing so does not bother us.) Food is absolutely amazing, delicious, plentiful and varies everyday!! Enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back if we are ever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We spend 3 nights there, the owners are very nice and helpful. We had dinner there everyday and we had such a lovely time each time enjoying the sri lankan food. They are donig everything to make sure you are enjoying your stay. Howeverthe dinner are bit more expensive than the other guest house we have been to. They helped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More 

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights. We were greeted with welcome drinks, before being shown the room. The room was big and spacious with a comfy bed and nice en suite. However, the room had its fair share of insect inhabitants which my partner and I were now used to having been in Sri Lanka for about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hanthana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana House

Address: 108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hanthana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay