We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanthana House

108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hanthana House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    26
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
46
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pathi and his family were very friendly and the house is clean with nice large rooms and en suite bathrooms and a private outdoor deck. We were happy to have the mosquito netting the first night since we were swarmed by termites but after that we didn't really have too many issues with bugs. They turn the wi-fi off at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for four nights in March 2014 and I have waited until the end of the year to write this review. The owner is the most dishonest person I have come across while travelling during 2014. Hanthana House provides nice, clean and comfortable accomodation complete with fair four poster beds / mosquito net beds. Unfortunately the place is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Puchong, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Located away from Kandy town, we get to enjoy the absolute peace during our stay. (They are doing some renovation, but only during day time, we spent most of our daylight hours sight seeing so does not bother us.) Food is absolutely amazing, delicious, plentiful and varies everyday!! Enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back if we are ever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We spend 3 nights there, the owners are very nice and helpful. We had dinner there everyday and we had such a lovely time each time enjoying the sri lankan food. They are donig everything to make sure you are enjoying your stay. Howeverthe dinner are bit more expensive than the other guest house we have been to. They helped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights. We were greeted with welcome drinks, before being shown the room. The room was big and spacious with a comfy bed and nice en suite. However, the room had its fair share of insect inhabitants which my partner and I were now used to having been in Sri Lanka for about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

spent 2 nights at Hanthana house. it definitely is a great place to stay. The room is big and very clean, and you will have a excellent sleep here. Food is great. I love Sri Lanka breakfast a lot. You must try it. Pathi and his family are all lovely. they will give you very good suggestions of your tour.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka Thanks More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here for 2 nights in August 2014. Pathi and his family were very welcoming and the food was really delicious; breakfasts were huge. Rooms and bathrooms were spotless and spacious, beds very comfortable and wifi and AC worked well though we didn't really need the AC. Pathi can also arrange transport and tours around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Pathi, his family and staff all made our stay at Kandy so special. It was one of the highlights of our amazing trip to Sri Lanka in August 2014. Our bedroom and bathroom were immaculate and very comfortable. The location on the lower ground was so tranquil and picturesque. The food was delicious and Pathi's wife went to great lengths... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More 

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed at Hanthana House for two nights and would definitely recommend it for anyone visiting Kandy. Pros: - The room was lovely - very clean and spacious including a good bathroom and huge balcony - Food was excellent and different each day - Family was always very welcoming and hospitable - Offered lots of advice, tours, cooking lessons etc.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More 

Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I stayed at Hathana house in August with my daughter. I chose it to have a the experience of a smaller homestyle stay, because the owner is also a partner in Tikalanka Tours who I was travelling with and because I wanted to try their cooking class! Hathana did offer a great home experience. Pathi and his wife Suba were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hanthana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana House

Address: 108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hanthana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay