We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 195 Kandy B&Bs / inns

Hanthana House

108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Hanthana House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hanthana House to your Saves list
95%
Ranked #10 of 195 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sanil P
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights. We were greeted with welcome drinks, before being shown the room. The room was big and spacious with a comfy bed and nice en suite. However, the room had its fair share of insect inhabitants which my partner and I were now used to having been in Sri Lanka for about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

spent 2 nights at Hanthana house. it definitely is a great place to stay. The room is big and very clean, and you will have a excellent sleep here. Food is great. I love Sri Lanka breakfast a lot. You must try it. Pathi and his family are all lovely. they will give you very good suggestions of your tour.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka Thanks More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here for 2 nights in August 2014. Pathi and his family were very welcoming and the food was really delicious; breakfasts were huge. Rooms and bathrooms were spotless and spacious, beds very comfortable and wifi and AC worked well though we didn't really need the AC. Pathi can also arrange transport and tours around the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Pathi, his family and staff all made our stay at Kandy so special. It was one of the highlights of our amazing trip to Sri Lanka in August 2014. Our bedroom and bathroom were immaculate and very comfortable. The location on the lower ground was so tranquil and picturesque. The food was delicious and Pathi's wife went to great lengths... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed at Hanthana House for two nights and would definitely recommend it for anyone visiting Kandy. Pros: - The room was lovely - very clean and spacious including a good bathroom and huge balcony - Food was excellent and different each day - Family was always very welcoming and hospitable - Offered lots of advice, tours, cooking lessons etc.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More

Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I stayed at Hathana house in August with my daughter. I chose it to have a the experience of a smaller homestyle stay, because the owner is also a partner in Tikalanka Tours who I was travelling with and because I wanted to try their cooking class! Hathana did offer a great home experience. Pathi and his wife Suba were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Is what the owner said greeting us late one night with actual his family by his side. Right away he sat us down and asked if we had eaten, and I thought here we go with the up sale, he insisted they cook some food for us. I was pleasantly surprised when the food had come out of genuine concern... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to see you again in Sri Lanka….. Thanks More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this guesthouse according to good reviews ... Big deception... The owner is travel agent and used little tricks on us to make money... It is very sad. The location is remoted so you will have to ask his services... He is very pressuring for giving you advices and then sell them to you. We are very disappointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Dear customer, The thinks that you mention in your Review according to my memory it was not happening at Hanthana house. I don’t have any idea about you or your reservation. Let me know about your booking details. Then I will reply what happened. Thanks More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We chose Hanthana House to experience something other than hotels; it was an excellent decision. The owners are keen to make your visit enjoyable. Realising the train from Ella was late Pathi, the owner, sent his driver to meet us at an earlier stop so we didn't have to change trains for Kandy. That was very thoughtful. We ate twice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to See you again in Sri Lanka….. More

Zeist, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We loved staying with Mr Pathi and his family. A very neat and spacious room with own spacious bathroom. Dinner and Breakfast were superb, made fresh just before or at the moment you sat down for it. Far too much food for us, and perfect taste!! Mr Pathi is very helpfull with information about the surrounding and Sri Lanka in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pathirana, Owner at Hanthana House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review about Hanthana House. It helped us a lot! We hope to See you again in Sri Lanka….. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hanthana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana House

Address: 108 Thapodarama Road | Hanthana, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hanthana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay