We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels

Kudawaskaduwa. Waskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Ramada Resort Kalutara)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels
Professional photos View all
The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    123
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
71
136
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

The food is very various of Sri Lanka dishes and very good. The service is exellent and the clening is good. The pool area is very calm and relaxing and you can find shadow from the tree in the garden. The ocen is raith outside the hotel and you have seaview from the balcony.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting The Sands Kalutara as your preferred accommodation partner in the Southern West Coast, Sri Lanka and for posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor for the knowledge & benefit of ours & our future guests. As you have mentioned in your comments, we are indeed delighted to hear regarding your pleasant experience during... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 via mobile

This is the second hotel of Aitken Spence I have stayed. It's a nice place, but staff was the excellent. Lovely place facing Indian Ocean. Clean beach. As it was off season, activity was lower, so good time for families as less crowded. I got very good price too. Only drawback was I was struck with safe locker.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting The Sands Kalutara as your preferred holiday destination and for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer during your... More 

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Friendly staff, great food and specious rooms. Our daughter loved the pool. The staff at the reception was great. We had booked two rooms..but got only one immediately. ..and the other one a bit late..any way overall it was a grat stay. The staff at the restaurant was also really helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting The Sands Kalutara as your preferred accommodation partner in the Southern West Coast, Sri Lanka and for posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor for the knowledge & benefit of ours & our future guests. We are indeed delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the overall facilities and the services that the... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

It was our first visit to this Hotel and I have heard about their delayed check- ins and I must say these reviews don't lie. We reached the hotel around 12.15pm was told to have our lunch since the rooms were not ready even when we came back after lunch the room was still not ready would have stayed for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting The Sands Kalutara as your preferred accommodation partner in the Southern West Coast, Sri Lanka and for posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor for the knowledge & benefit of ours & our future guests. Further to the comments you have made in your review, we are deeply disappointed to hear regarding the... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Hotel is a nice place, the room and amenities are in really good condition. Having said, I'm not fully happy about the hospitality and the service. Maybe it is because me and my husband are Sri Lankans, and the hotel is more focus on international guests. That is not good, I noticed the service given to foreign visitors are really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting The Sands Kalutara as your preferred accommodation partner in the Southern West Coast, Sri Lanka and for posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor for the knowledge & benefit of ours & our future guests. Further to the comments you have made in your valuable feedback, we are extremely disappointed to hear regarding... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Me and my wife booked Sands to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary which I think was a wise decision. I think they deserve a 5 star rating, not a 4 star. Rooms were clean and spacious. We were on the second floor room with a garden. I booked on HSBC credit card promotion which I think is worth for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting The Sands Kalutara as your preferred holiday destination on your special occasion and for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities, the culinary experience and the overall services that... More 

Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This was our 1st visit and this hotel is great for a nice quiet holiday with the beach right on front of the hotel. Service was excellent and we found the staff to be extremely helpful. Lovely beach views from nearly every room and a nice laid back ambiance was just what we were looking for. I would recommend though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting The Sands Kalutara as your preferred accommodation partner in the Southern West Coast, Sri Lanka and for posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor for the knowledge & benefit of ours & our future guests. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

This was our 3rd visit to the Sands and you may ask why we repeat our stay. Like many others who we meet year in year out, it must have some magical attraction. Apart from its sea side location its charm is enhanced by the staff and meticulous management that nothing is of 'no trouble' to please you. Dining on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting The Sands Kalutara as your preferred accommodation partner in the Southern West Coast, Sri Lanka and for posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor for the knowledge & benefit of ours & our future guests. Further to the comments you have mentioned in your valuable feedback, we are extremely delighted to note that... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

A very good hotel and friendly staffs. Had a great time overall. Our room had a beach view which made it even more awesome. Food was great. Ambience was good too.Would love to visit this place again in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting The Sands Kalutara as your preferred accommodation partner in the Southern West Coast, Sri Lanka and for posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor for the knowledge & benefit of ours & our future guests. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the... More 

Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

The best thing about this hotel is that it is a "stone's throw" to the beach. The hotel itself is nice enough, the rooms are clean and the buffets are average, nothing special. Wi-fi is free and works best in the lobby area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at The Sands by Aitken Spence Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting The Sands Kalutara as your preferred accommodation partner in the Southern West Coast, Sri Lanka and for posting an insightful review on Trip Advisor for the knowledge & benefit of ours & our future guests. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

252 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (233)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (56)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question