We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Citrus Hikkaduwa

3.0 of 5 400 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Amaya Reef)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citrus Hikkaduwa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Citrus Hikkaduwa
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    115
    56
    24
    18
See reviews for
65
120
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Bangalore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Citrus for 2 nights and loved the location of this hotel. Beach was beautiful, clean and mesmerizing. We found a lot of colorful fishes in the Ocean which was awesome. Rooms were small, bathroom were really sad - shower area wasn't managed very well. The balcony was nice with a sea view. Breakfast was delicious and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nikaweratiya, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are going to citrus Hikkaduwa for our company annual outing. Hotel staff is really good friendly and help full. Location is god for relaxing. But outer space is small so difficult to conduct out door activities. Our DJ also disturb to other guest. Food are average and not much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mashhad, Iran
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we stayed a night in this hotel and the main problem was limitation in wifi accessability in corner suites. They said to us to come to the lobby for internet accessbility. by the way, they serve a breakfast with different tropical friuts and some various foods . overall we had a good time in this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking time to review your experience with us. We have noted your observations on the wifi facilities available at the property. We will take necessary action to investigate and rectify the issue. Thank you for your commendations on the food options available. Our F&B team strive hard to provide the choicest delicacies to our guests... More 

Singapore
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
54 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is pretty run down - lots of little things, like the lifts not working, bathrooms being a little grotty and strangely they don't give you a blanket for the bed, just a sheet. The pool is also fairly run down and looked quite dirty. That said, the view from the rooms was amazing, as was the breakfast! It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We sincerely regret that the hotel facilities did not meet your requirements. We will look into the areas you have highlighted to improve our service standards. We are grateful for your commendations of the view from the rooms and the delectable cuisine that was provided for... More 

san giorgio a cremano
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The pictures make it better, but it's nice! !! The room was comfortable and tidy! The breakfast was good, but the waiters very slow. The garden with sea views during the sunset it's an amazing scenery of this place! !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are delighted to hear that your overall experience with us was to your satisfaction. We apologise however,that the speed of service was not up to your satisfaction and will take steps to improve on it. We look forward to welcoming you again in future.... More 

Malmö
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed for two nights. Just make sure that you book a Room facing the beach. And leave the key at the desk. We payed 6000 rupees for installing a new lock when the ocean took our key. The barbecue night was Very good. There is a tuk tuk driver that usually stands outside of citrus that we want particularly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We trust your stay with us filled with memorable moments complemented by Citrus hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Sri Lanka. Best Wishes. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my mother had a chance to stayed at Citrus from 2nd-4th Dec14 A big thanks to everyone, you were always available and keen to assist us in every way, not only Comfortable bed the food was amazing and delicious, especial original Sri Lanka menu The location of the property has its value Excellent place to stay if looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are most delighted to receive the review of your stay at Citrus. Looking at the content of your review, we believe you were staying at our sister property: Citrus Waskaduwa. Nevertheless, we are glad to hear that you have experienced extraordinary service and hospitality during your stay. It is rewarding for our colleagues to receive such positive... More 

Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked two of the Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View on the ground floor. (Has to be the best rooms in the hotel) for 2 nights. We were 6 friends travelling. We booked this hotel for our 2 day stay in Hikkaduwa mainly based on the images we found on the net of this hotel. As soon as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are thrilled to receive the review of your stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed our beach property in aspects of location, cleanliness of rooms, great food and most of all warm Citrus hospitality. We have well noted your note on our pool and will take immediate action to... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid this place please. Terrible multi-room soulless monolith of a hotel. Nothing here remotely resembles Sri Lankan brilliant and fascinating culture, or its beautiful people. This hotel would be better located along the throngs of similar types in Kuta or Phuket. No service, no character, no personality no charm. Just say no.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We regret that you did not find the property to your satisfaction. We appreciate if you could contact us directly so that we can investigate into the issues that you were faced with during your stay to rectify them and ensure an improved service to our guests.... More 

perth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were pokey and the hotel very run down, the front of house staff unhelpful, the beach out the front is gross. Not worth the money, you can get way better value for money. The website pictures make it looks lot better than what it is

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you have taken in reviewing your stay with us. We sincerely regret that your stay did not reach your expectations. However, we will look into the issues you have highlighted to ensure a better and memorable experience to our guests. Best Wishes. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Citrus Hikkaduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hikkaduwa

Address: 400 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Amaya Reef)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hikkaduwa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Citrus Hikkaduwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Hikkaduwa Hotel Hikkaduwa
Amaya Reef Hikkaduwa
Amaya Reef Hotel Hikkaduwa
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa

294 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (255)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (71)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay