We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Hikkaduwa hotels

Citrus Hikkaduwa

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Amaya Reef)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Citrus Hikkaduwa to your Saves list
Citrus Hikkaduwa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Hikkaduwa
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
DPMMumbai Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Overview
  • Reviews (236)
  • Photos (264)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (78)
  • More
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    90
    41
    18
    13
See reviews for
51
92
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Citrus hotel is located in the middle of Hikkadua city and has direct access to the sea. First we were given a beautiful deluxe room in new wing, but as it was little far from the main area , they changed the room as per our request. We stayed in second floor of the old wing . All rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shavindri_A, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent commendations of Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are extremely happy to note that you found the service and helpfulness of the staff according to your satisfaction. We are happy to hear that the overall ambience of the hotel and the quality and variety of food contributed to a very satisfied stay with us. Thank you... More

Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

me and my wife stayed at this hotel for our anniversary the staff at the hotel deserve all the praise they get as they were courteous polite and helpful at every occasion the standard of the room was superb and air con that actually worked without noise deafness due to it being a special event for us the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shavindri_A, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are so glad that you found all aspects of the hotel from the room and its arrangements, food and most of all the courteous and friendly staff service to your satisfaction. We are glad to be able to contribute in making your... More

Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been stayed at this hotel from 26th of June to 5th of July. The hotel is constructed very well. Our room was with an ocean view and it was quite comfortable. We had a standard room for two. Every day the room was cleaned and the fresh towels were brought. Also, every day we were given tea, coffee,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shavindri_A, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are extremely humbled to receive the review of your recent stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. Our goal is to provide memorable and happy moments for our guests and we are glad that we have been successful in achieving it. Your comprehensive review provides light to all aspects of our hotel from ambience, property location, food and... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose to come here during off season so the town was deserted. Therefore a lot of great eating spots in town were closed. The hotel is at a great location with clean beaches and a great pool. We were in the twin sharing room and they were so so. Bathrooms not that great and no proper lighting. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shavindri_A, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are glad to note that you have had a pleasant experience at our hotel. Yes, we are strategically located in the centre of Hikkaduwa town and hence, have easy access to sea, beach, excursion activities and shopping centres. Sorry to hear that you... More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 days & enjoyed it. It is in off season so there were a few storms & the area surrounding the hotel is quite dead. The staff were excellent & went out of their way to make your stay a good one. At times though there seemed to be a lot of staff hanging around with not much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shavindri_A, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are thrilled to note that you enjoyed your stay with us including the food, the location, the pool and most of all the friendly and hospitable staff. We do hope you will visit us again during your next visit to... More

Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently returned from a 10 day stay at Citrus Hikkaduwa, my first visit to this particular hotel, but my second trip to Sri Lanka. Overall, a very enjoyable stay. Accommodation is comfortable and spotlessly clean, with very attentive service from the housekeeping department twice every day. The reception staff deserve a particular mention as they were consistantly brilliant; from a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shavindri_A, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are grateful for your extensive feedback on your recent stay with us at Citrus Hikkadduwa. Your feedback is helpful for us to improve our service standards and move towards providing excellent customer service. We pride ourselves in our hospitable staff and attentive service to our guests. Hence, your comments on the issues met are being addressed by... More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a very peaceful stay at Citrus. After longtime I could find a place where can relax. Had a friendly staff unlike other places. Nice breakfast with lots of choices. Really enjoyed the food including my 3 years old one, staff gave extra care to treat the small one. Keep it up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shavindri_A, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your excellent review on your recent stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are happy to note that you have been able to experience a peaceful and enjoyable stay with us. Our F&B staff will be happy to hear that their efforts in providing gastronomic delights to our guests have borne fruit and that both... More

Negombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Overall brilliant experience. Everything was up to expectations apart from in room dinning. We decided to have our dinner in room due because we were both tired after traveling. We ordered a meat float, which disappointingly was a Salad with Chicken and beef. Yes the salad was very good, but I did not expect to get more salad than meat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shavindri_A, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review on your stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are happy to hear that your overall experience with us was to your satisfaction. We do apologise, however, for the unsatisfactory room service that you received during your stay. We will immediately address this issue to avoid similar experiences in the future.... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have had many meals at this hotel two years ago and now we have booked to stay here We had a good deal from Mercury Direct in England and are really looking forward to our holiday in September the 22nd the views from the rooms are amazing, the food truly tasty and we had good experience with the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shavindri_A, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so thrilled to receive your lovely review on Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are really happy to hear that the services that we provided you during your last visit to us has finally prompt you to stay with us. We look forward to having you with us and we are sure that you will have a memorable stay!... More

Jordan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is just what you would expect for a 3 star hotel, the room was nice and clean expect for some small stains on the bed sheets. The view from the room is amazing, and the location is perfect right in front of a supermarket and a short walk to many restaurants and shops. Although the sea was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shavindri_A, E-Business Development Executive at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are glad that you had an overall good experience with us. We are at an advantage due to our strategic location, with close access to shopping malls, main roads and beach/sea access. We are happy to note that you are satisfied with the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Citrus Hikkaduwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Citrus Hikkaduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hikkaduwa

Address: 400 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Amaya Reef)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hikkaduwa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Citrus Hikkaduwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Hikkaduwa Hotel Hikkaduwa
Amaya Reef Hikkaduwa
Amaya Reef Hotel Hikkaduwa

264 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (225)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (71)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Miles of golden sands. Days spent lazing on the beach in the heart of Sri Lanka's Southern Coastal Belt, or exploring the ocean, diving shipwrecks, and snorkeling the reef. Poolside cocktails. Seaside lobster. Beach walks. Rainforest excursions. Friendly smiles and personalized service, whether you are a first-time guest or one of the many repeat visitors. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer