We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Citrus Hikkaduwa

3.0 of 5 400 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Amaya Reef)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citrus Hikkaduwa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Citrus Hikkaduwa
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    126
    66
    26
    20
See reviews for
73
133
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (333)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The citrus hotel lines doing really well I visited here after my stay at citrus waskaduwa I'm happy to say that the standard was the same however this is smaller compared to waskaduwa. But the staff were great, food was brilliant and the rooms had the greatest space. Would love to visit again if I am ever in hikka again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 5 nights in Feb 13th until the 18th. We found the hotel to be in a perfect location. Close to the major surf breaks and beach restaurants, bars and snorkelling. The breakfast was the best we had in Sri Lanka - lots of different options. We tried most things on the A la carte menu and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my boyfriend stayed at citrus for 6 nights in February. We had booked a superior room. It felt like it was part of the old building, dark, dirty and small. We got upgraded to a deluxe room on the top floor, which was much better. The views from the balcony was amazing. The only negative I would say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were basic and clean. Location was right on the Main Street of hikkaduwa. We were 'upgraded' to a deluxe room - 606 which at first impressions was quite good as it had fantastic views of the beach. However at night and early morning, the noise from the road outside was way too loud. Starting at 6am, the buses start... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the roadside noise during your stay. However, we do hope that you were satisfied with the rest of the facilities of the hotel and enjoyed the Citrus hospitality and warmth. We hope this will not deter you from... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Citrus Hikka with my friends for a weekend as we were planned to night party at Den and Mambo. Got a good deal and happy with all aspects of the hotel. As its sea faced enjoyed a night sea bath after a full booze. Fab experiences. My special thankx to Inoka and restaurant supervisor as they looked after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to receive your review of your stay with us at Citrus Hikakduwa. We are truly ecstatic to note that you were happy with the ambience of the hotel and the hospitality and friendliness of staff. Our staff will truly be encouraged by your recommendations. We are hope to welcome you again during your next visit... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the best hotels backing on to the beach but you have turn left and walk for some time along the beach to get to a place where you can swim away from the coral reef, great for surfing or just wave jumping. The hotel rooms were a bit shabby but had everything you need, the towels and sheets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Altea, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel in Novemeber and have mixed reviews of it. Good ones first The staff could not be more friendly and the reception area and restaurant is lovely. The breakfast has a good selection including freshly made omelettes and local food. Its in a good location and central and there are lots of buses you can get to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Citrus over the Christmas and New Year. We stayed in a deluxe room on top floor, with our bedroom facing the ocean and palm trees. What a view! We could also see the pool and the restaurant area. The hotel room was probably fairly basic (compared to the other 4* hotels we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited in jan for 2wks......best 2wks ever....sun....sand.....sea.....hotel was in a great position straight onto the beach Staff were friendly and polite....never met such a nice bunch. Bedding and towells changed every day....always cleaning the boys. Food in the hotel was ok but lots of places to eat out. We had the perfect room 606....with the perfect view........want to go back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Surat, India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a family of four pax( 2 adults + 2 children above 18 yrs of age )!We have booked 2 delux rooms ! Rooms were quite big and have all reqd room ameneties like aircon,LCD, hot&cold shower etc and all were in good working conditions ! The food prepared was also good and enjoyable ! The location was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Citrus Hikkaduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hikkaduwa

Address: 400 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka (Formerly Amaya Reef)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hikkaduwa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citrus Hikkaduwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Hikkaduwa Hotel Hikkaduwa
Amaya Reef Hikkaduwa
Amaya Reef Hotel Hikkaduwa
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa

318 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (278)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (88)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay