We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Hikkaduwa hotels

Coral Sands Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.326, Galle Rd, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Coral Sands Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
adarshkp89 Hyderabad, India
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    108
    50
    9
    17
See reviews for
67
125
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went with our team for an offsite. The rooms are too good and are all sea facing. The hotel staff is very helpful and will make your stay comfortable. The pool area is one to enjoy a lot. It offers a clean, large pool but it closes at 8Pm, so check with them before you go in. Breakfast is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from CORAL SANDS Dear Guest, My team & I are delighted with your superb review which will certainly earn us a good ranking on the customer satisfaction index. We are glad that you & your colleagues enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all the positive comments re. our rooms, the breakfast buffet as well as the ever... More

Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked few rooms in this resort for a group of friends. The rooms are clean and are facing sea (and pool too). The food was really great but little costlier. The resort is near to Diving Station and you can book a dive at a great price, if you bargain. You will find many restaurants from a little distance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from CORAL SANDS Dear Guest, Thank you for your review & it’s positive comments following your recent visit to Coral Sands. We are certain that you had a pleasant time at Coral Sands. Many divers have been fortunate to encounter the friendly turtles that frequent our area. Hope you had similar luck ! We look forward to welcome you... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived soaked after a huge storm, and the hotel didn't seem to know of my reservation. I waited about half an hour at reception while they got organized. The room was clean, the bathroom not so much. No safe although none was promised, still seems strange at this price. There was a very small TV on the wall which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from CORAL SANDS Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Your comment in respect of our location & the staff is appreciated. I have investigated the reasons for your delay at check in. The confusion seems to stem from the fact that the name on the booking & the name on your passport not tallying. We had unusual thunder... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a twelve night stay at the recently renovated Coral Sands Hotel. We had booked for a standard room but on arrival decided that we would prefer a deluxe room. This was very quickly sorted out by the extremely helpful young lady on reception and we were given a lovely room with a great balcony for a reasonable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from CORAL SANDS Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review. My team & are glad that you had an enjoyable holiday at Coral Sands. Thank you for all your positive comments in respect of the location, food & service as well as general information which would be useful for future guests. As you rightly say ‘nothing is too... More

Goa, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had people rave to me about Unawatunna. Honestly, I think Unawatunna is just a waste of time in every aspect when you compare it to Hikkaduwa and the Coral Sands Hotel. There some other fine hotels and resorts along the Hikkaduwa coastline but Coral Sands is bang on the best stretch. The staff at Coral Sands is very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Siri_G_12, managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review and for your recommendation of Hikkaduwa. My team & I are appreciative of all your positive comments. We had extremely good feedback from your group which confirms their satisfaction beyond doubt. In the midst of the very unusual rain that we had during the last few weeks, your group was lucky that... More

Sneek, Nederland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this hotel had the most nice view from the room. We looked over the sea how romantic. The staff is not very kind. The look angry but in the same way they like to help. Maybe it was the circumstance the hotel was under constructrion at the time we were there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from CORAL SANDS Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the view from the room. Your comment regarding the staff has caused much concern. I sincerely apologize on their behalf for any shortcoming. Most reviews carry very good comments about them. The renovation work is now over & the new pics will be... More

Yekaterinburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

We were staying at this hotel in August 2014. Initially our plan was just to stop for one night and then we wanted something better. But we were staying here for 5 nights,including the fact,that hotel was under renovation, price was significantly lower and we paid 60$ per each night. The hotel is very clean. During several days there were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from CORAL SANDS Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Even though the hotel was being refurbished at the time of your visit, the House-keeping staff continued with their daily cleaning as well as sprucing up of the rooms in order to be ready for the winter season.... More

basingstoke
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

my wife and I spent four days at Coral Sands on our recent trip to Sri Lanka. Although parts of the hotel were under renovation we had full use of all the facilities and had a wonderful time. The room and the food was really very good.The staff were fantastic and did everything to make our stay memorable. Hope to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from CORAL SANDS Dear Guest, Thank you for your superb review. My team & I are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Coral Sands. We hope you will visit us soon to enjoy the enhanced facilities, friendly service & good food, especially as the hotel is back in ‘full operation mode’ with the renovation work complete. The new... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I visited this hotel with a group of my friends. They had clean,good rooms. Good food and the hotel is almost on the beach. Hotel staff was friendly too. Only thing was the drinking water served in the restaurent was bit salty. Taste was away from normal drinking water. Felt the taste of salt a lot

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from CORAL SANDS Dear Guest, Thank you for your review & it’s positive comments. While we do welcome constructive criticism, we would like to request our guests to alert our staff whenever something is amiss. They would definitely do whatever possible to correct it. The hotel has been extensively refurbished since your visit in November 2013. We hope you... More

UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We found Coral Sands through the internet and couldn't have been more pleased with our selection. Our initial impression was that it might be noisy being close to the road but thereafter we never heard the traffic unless we went out shopping. Our room was perfect and the room service delightfully attentive. The hotel was busy when we were there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Siri_G_12, Managing Director at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from CORAL SANDS Dear Guest, My team & I are delighted with your comments. Thank you for your ‘absolutely great’ review - apologies for my delayed response. We’ve just completed extensive refurbishing of the public areas with the primary objective of enlarging the south pool & the restaurant. We are certain that you would be impressed with the improvements... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Address: No.326, Galle Rd, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

220 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (220)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (62)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay