We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YKD Tourist Rest

Certificate of Excellence
259, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
YKD Tourist Rest
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    18
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
23
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location with bars, restaurants, beaches & coral reef and forex in close walking distance. Calm, Clean and safe place with CCTVs on corridors. Excellent sleep quality because of quietness. Provision of good full-service laundry. White ceiling lights in room was bothersome, so had to use the lampshade; out of the four lampshades, only one was functioning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

i really appreciate your review More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean, good location for Hikkaduwa however we found the place in itself to be quiet with not a lot going on. Nice hot shower, secure building with a key to the main door (at 10 they lock that) so felt safe, friendly staff, good price :) thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This guest house was definitely the best value we had experienced in Sri Lanka so far. It was in a central location in Hikkaduwa, just a few minutes walk from the beach and restaurants. The room was spacious with a small balcony and the A/C was excellent. There was lots of communal seating and a kitchen with a fridge for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More 

Goa, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Stayed here for just one night and found the place quite average. Nothing luxurious, but nothing to complain about. It has all the essentials to make for a comfortable holiday. It's got a great location being situated just a minute walk to Hikkaduwa beach. The rooms are clean and have air conditioning. The service is also good. They don't go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More 

Den Bosch, Nederland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We payed over 9000rps. And was the lowest price the maneger said he could give. A business down the streets would have done it for 7000 they said. And the driver was 30 mins late!! pretty frustrating when you need to catch a flight. Further more. Ok hotel. Good breakfast. Nearby beach is bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

First I apologize for the delay. I am the one who suggest when we start about 9.00 to 9.30 pm can reach to the airport around 12.30 am and there are more than 3 hours to his flight schedule time. My driver take him to the airport before the time we hope to reach. We are arranging separate car for... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

Our group of six spended 6 nights in YKD Tourist rest. Everything was ok, good airconditioning and clean rooms. Take a suite room, it has more fresh air and its upstair, not so much different between prices. Water pressure in the shower was poor. Hot and cold water in different showers. Owner Tilak arranged us an airport transfer and everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More 

Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Called to make a reservation and agreed on a price. When i got there the lady was confused-they had forgotten about me only a day later. Had to switch rooms the two nights that i was there because of this. Found COCKROACHES in both rooms!!! BEWARE!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

This lady book our hotel for two days and stayed with us but when she is there she did not inform us that there is cockroaches. I offer her reasonable price too . Our hotel do not have cockroaches because we clean rooms everyday we can prove it from the other reviews. She came to our hotel from the other... More 

Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

YKD is a very nice place and a good value for money, not overpriced like other places in the area. It is just a few meter from the beach but the best part is the welcoming. The owner is very friendly and it makes you feel take care of. He gave us suggestions about bars and restaurant in the area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Exceptionally clean hotel run by a charming and welcoming family. It's a little far out of the main area, and as it's by the train station you can hear it a couple times a day/night Highly recommended, great value for money. Would definitely go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here over New Year and had a brilliant time. The owner is so helpful, giving advice on the best bars and clubs in Hikkaduwa! I was travelling with 3 friends and the location was perfect for us. It is right opposite a beautiful beach and just a 100R tuktuk ride from the YKD was the main strip of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bansei by Hotel J
Bansei by Hotel J
#14 of 23 in Hikkaduwa
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa
Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa
#6 of 23 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#7 of 23 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 23 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay