We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 83 Hikkaduwa B&Bs / inns

YKD Tourist Rest

259, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YKD Tourist Rest to your Saves list
YKD Tourist Rest
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
Ranked #10 of 83 Hikkaduwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014
Lucy F Reading, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (48)
  • Photos (54)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
15
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night with a group of friends in Feb 2014. There were 5 of us in total so we had 3 rooms. We found the place very clean, welcoming and friendly. The rooms were well equipped, and it was so close to the beach. In the morning we were all provided with a very large breakfast,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More

Wateringen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 for 9 days. It`s a nice guesthouse with clean rooms, very close to the beach and to the restaurants and bars! You can also book some nice daytrips with the owner of the guesthouse, we did a one day trip going to the river lagoon, turtle sanctuary and moonstone mine! We had a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More

Mangalore, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

One of the good options in Hikkaduwa. A family owned guest house offers good rooms at reasonable prices. However, the prices exclude breakfast which can be ordered at additional cost. This should not matter as there is no dearth of restaurants in hikkaduwa. You need to pay extra for A/c. In one of the rooms the A/c was not working,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I can only assume that, given good reviews, not all rooms are equal. Walking around piles of discarded furniture at the back of the building, you find the room I had. Filled with locked cabinets and wardrobes, it felt like a storage room. Hotchpotch fittings were rather poor quality. Grubby walls and doors, too. Building work was going on LITERALLY... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and sorry for the inconvenience More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This place location is great you just cross the road and you will reach the best beach .we stayed in this rest for 3 days ,the first day we had a room that we didn't like it a lot, but 2nd day and third day we changed our room to a nice room in the 2nd floor near the terrace.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

i really appreciate your review More

Brest, Belarus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Located across from the coral beach! Rooms and furniture is very fresh layout of the hotel resembles a private home, it was nice to live there 9 days the only negative - a busy road daily cleaning, there is a kitchen, which you can use

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

i really appreciate your review More

Astana, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This place is very comfortable and tidy. Room service is very good and bed sheets are clean and ironed. We stayed as a couple in the room #3 on the 2nd floor, it was quiet and calm place, breakfast can be ordered for additional pay during all day long and it is really good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate your review More

Cancun, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

YKD is a budget-friendly hotel in a great location in Hikkaduwa. It is across the street from the beautiful beach and reefs with lots of colorful fish. There are many restaurants and convenience stores just a few meters away. You can also take buses or tuk tuks right there on the main road. The owner is very friendly, helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

I really appreciate you review More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We lived in YKD about 11 days. Owner is friendly and helpful. Room was clean.Good location for snorkeling.Good protection around guest house.Owner s wife cooked us local food.All service had reasonable price for available facilities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

i really appreciate your review More

Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

It's a perfect place to relax and enjoy the surroundings of Hikkaduwa. Easy access to the beach and food outlets. The owner and the staff are friendly and helpful. Reasonable price for the available facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TilakYKD, Owner at YKD Tourist Rest, responded to this review

Thank you More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YKD Tourist Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YKD Tourist Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YKD Tourist Rest

Address: 259, Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your YKD Tourist Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YKD Tourist Rest is set in Hikkaduwa city. Just 20m away from the world famous coral reef, opposite the International Diving School and very close to the other diving Stations. While snorkeling you can watch beautiful fish and corals. It is an owner operated guest house with 10 rooms, attached bath with hot/cold water. Eight of them are air-conditioned. Second floor can rent as apartment basis with kitchen, refrigerator, microwave and washing machine. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

See which rooms travelers prefer