We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sundaras Resort

Certificate of Excellence
189 Kandy Road, Dambulla 7777, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sundaras Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sundaras Resort
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    66
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
30
90
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (253)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sundaras Resort
See the most recent reviews
Katowice, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We enjoyed our short stay in this hotel. It is clean, comfortable and well located to visit Dambulla temple caves. The staff is attentive and the owner is friendly and helpful. The relation price - quality is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. They also helped me to arrange a motorbike for a reasonable price. I can definately recommand this place. The food quality was also good but sometimes a little slow;-) Price-Value was absolutely ok!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I am unsure why the past few reviewers have been been giving this property 5 out of 5 but it is interesting that some of them only have ever used Tripadvisor once before and interestingly it is on the Sundaras "Resort" Dambulla. We stayed in seven hotels across Sri Lanka on a our 4 week holiday and this got our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great place to stay, when you plan to visit Dambulla tample and Sighiriya. Sundaras Team is very friendly and helpfull, Damian will help you with everything. We found this place, whene we get into troubles and they helped us a lot. I will come back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

the boss and staffs are so friendly and helpful.the food at restaurant is amazing. I'll stay at this hotel if I come again around there. 本当にみんな親切丁寧で、旅のアドバイスしてくれたりひました。 レストランの料理もとても美味しくて、楽しい時間を過ごせました。

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Me and my family stayed 2 nights & we loved every moment the service was excellent and rooms were well kept every day and the food was excellent with the prices my family dfntly will return nxt year too..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colombo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is so far my favorite hotel in Sri Lanka for sure! Lovely place with great atmosphere! Damien does everything he can to make you feel welcome and home! Normally I never feel home "away from home" but here I really do! I have been here a few times now and Damien and his staff never disappoints me! Together they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sundaras R, Guest Relations Manager at Sundaras Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valuable guest! Thank you for your thoughtful amazing comments. We highly appreciate that you choose staying with us at Sundaras Resort and that you are sharing your positive experiences with us. The fact that you have been with us several times shows that we must do something to match your expectations. The staff at Sundaras Resort are working hard... More 

Colombo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed at the Sundaras Resort for 2 nights with a friend and it was a really nice place with minor problems. The first room we had, had a broken lock. So we switched rooms. The second had a broken bathroom lock but we did not want to switch rooms again. But therefore, we could not open the bathrrom door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I will try to review this from a backpackers POV. Place had clean atmosphere as well as friendly staff. But your expectation should stop there. Rooms are average as a clean bed does not qualify as a great thing. Thats expected. Issues with all the doors not locking and particularly the door to the bath would not even close. we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sundaras R, Guest Relations Manager at Sundaras Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valuable guest! Thank you for your valued comments about Sundaras Resort and for choosing Sundaras as your holiday destination. We highly appreciate your review and we take every word very serious as a help to improve our standards and service.  Im sorry to hear that you had issues with the lockers in your room. I have informed all our staff already. Now... More 

Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Awful place that could have ruined our 2 week holiday were it not for the fact we only stayed one night. We were poorly adviced to stay one night in Dambulla before moving on to Sigiriya, which was ridiculous because Sigiriya is only 20 minutes up the road. No hot water, unhelpful staff, shocking food. What hurts even more is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Sundaras R, Guest Relations Manager at Sundaras Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valuable guest! Thank you for choosing Sundaras Resort as a destination for your holiday. We highly appreciate your honest and genuine review which is helping us resolve the problems and  improve our service to match our guests expectations.  We are sincerely sorry to hear that you became one of the minority of our guests who experienced that our standard... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question