We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MPS Village

Kalundewa Road | Dambullu Oya Junction, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
MPS Village
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #8 of 47 Dambulla B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Riotzone
Add Your Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    65
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
44
57
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At the end of a rather bumpy road, surrounded by teak plantations and cashew nut trees you'll find MPS Village. A hotel that indeed has a village feel to it. We stayed at the MPS for two nights in the new(er) building at the back of the property. Our room was spacious and had a bathroom you could get lost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Excellent Location - Rooms are small and need a upgrade Food is good and well arranged stayed for a night... but you cant get out off room during nights Lake view is excellent, pool is well maintained. All can stay in this hotel/resort to enjoy the natures beauty Excellent room service and reception service

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The "hotel" is a shack in The middle of a lagoon. The humidity surrunds you. The room we went in was basic, maybe rudimental, dirty and dark. No room service, no cleaning service..nothing at all! The restaurant was sad and also the meals. The price should be cheaper for the quality of the "cabanas"!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
pulislk, Front Office Manager at MPS Village, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I do take reference to your comments regarding the humidity and the unfortunate mildew smell in the room you occupied,first of all let me apologize for the inconvenience you had,at the same time I would like to inform you that Srilanka was undergoing very bad weather during your stay in Srilanka,we had two bad weather fronts,one was the... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Nice place to stay ! It's comfortable and clean ! You can stay in a village with a nice garden, small lake and a swimming pool ! The staff is very gentle. It's also a good place if you like to take some pictures (mostly macros, birds and free animals). PS They also have accommodation for the driver in case... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

"One of the nicest places we have stayed in Dambulla area and it's my son's favourite place. Very clean and modern rooms with facilities. Members of the Management & Staff are very friendly, polite and attentive. Very homely place with Beautiful views of the lake and surrounding. Plenty of bird life there. Ideal spot for Bird lovers, family outings and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sri Lanka
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one week. The service was absolutely brilliant and the staff fulfilled you every wish. The hotel is set at a beautiful lake and its location within the country is great when you want to visit the old cities like Anuradhapura or Pollonaruwa and climb the rock of Sigiriya. We loved the lake, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

The area is really nice, peaceful and relaxing after visiting all the attractions around Dambulla. It is not close to anything to go out and have dinner so just be aware of it. The hotel is quitely liked by families... The staff tries its best but the hotel is getting old with basic rooms...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I had a great time staying at this hotel. The service staff was attentive and polite. Very good service, wifi works in each corner of the hotel, room is clean and highly recommended. My room is facing to a wonderful view of their own lake and I had a great stay with highly quality services served by staff. MPS Village... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor - must have stayed in the hotel in a parallel world because it was just awful. Worst hotel i stayed in in Sri Lanka BY FAR! Check in was a nightmare - they couldn't find my booking details then wanted to charge me for the phone calls they had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pulislk, Front Office Manager at MPS Village, responded to this review

Reference to the comments you have written in the Trip Adviser, I would like to inform you that your comments do not tally with our hotel. Number.one, We do not have a bar, if a gust brings his own Liquor we give him, her or them a service without a extra charge, in the hotel trade we call it corkage.... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Initially we found slight difficulty in finding the place as it's quite far from the main road and the area is really quiet. Credits to Tripadvisor apps for helping us pointing the exact location of the place on the map. Anyway, I was feeling unwell when I reached the hotel (catched cold a day earlier), so I went for quick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question