We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MPS Village

Kalundewa Road | Dambullu Oya Junction, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
MPS Village
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    67
    69
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
63
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, quiet and peaceful. Friendly English speaking staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Comfy bed. Great Place for Familys and kids. Manager was friendly and helpfull. Kids loved the pool. One thing I got to remark was the sharp edges between the kids and "adult" pool. Very sharped tiles, two of us including one of my kids got cuts. This should be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved this place after rough bus ride and dusty tuk-tuk ride. The facilities are modern and the grounds are beautiful. The pool is nice...a contrast next to the pond. For the price, our room was large and the food extra delicious (curry with very fresh vegetables). The staff was very polite and left us to enjoy the solitude. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is divine, green and quiet, the staff is so sweet. The rooms are large (we had deluxe rooms), the beds are very comfy. Food is good, pool is lovely. No mass location, we liked that also We would recommend this place. Two things: The bathroom might be a bit cleaner, i.e. the toilet, the mirror and the wash... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The place is remotely located in Dambulla but still accessible by cars. It was quiet and peaceful but no nearby restaurants. They have swimming pool. The rooms have balcony and overlooking the lake. The room was clean. The restaurant's food was okay although they can still improve it. Overall, we liked our stay in this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This hotel is in a very remote location, no shops or restaurants around. This turned out to be a positive as it was very peaceful with beautiful scenery. Received an upgrade and stayed in the deluxe rooms. Very large and clean. Restaurant had the standard Sri lankan menu. Food is good quality and beautifully served, my husband's curry was huge.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

At the end of a rather bumpy road, surrounded by teak plantations and cashew nut trees you'll find MPS Village. A hotel that indeed has a village feel to it. We stayed at the MPS for two nights in the new(er) building at the back of the property. Our room was spacious and had a bathroom you could get lost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Excellent Location - Rooms are small and need a upgrade Food is good and well arranged stayed for a night... but you cant get out off room during nights Lake view is excellent, pool is well maintained. All can stay in this hotel/resort to enjoy the natures beauty Excellent room service and reception service

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The "hotel" is a shack in The middle of a lagoon. The humidity surrunds you. The room we went in was basic, maybe rudimental, dirty and dark. No room service, no cleaning service..nothing at all! The restaurant was sad and also the meals. The price should be cheaper for the quality of the "cabanas"!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pulislk, Front Office Manager at MPS Village, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I do take reference to your comments regarding the humidity and the unfortunate mildew smell in the room you occupied,first of all let me apologize for the inconvenience you had,at the same time I would like to inform you that Srilanka was undergoing very bad weather during your stay in Srilanka,we had two bad weather fronts,one was the... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Nice place to stay ! It's comfortable and clean ! You can stay in a village with a nice garden, small lake and a swimming pool ! The staff is very gentle. It's also a good place if you like to take some pictures (mostly macros, birds and free animals). PS They also have accommodation for the driver in case... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

"One of the nicest places we have stayed in Dambulla area and it's my son's favourite place. Very clean and modern rooms with facilities. Members of the Management & Staff are very friendly, polite and attentive. Very homely place with Beautiful views of the lake and surrounding. Plenty of bird life there. Ideal spot for Bird lovers, family outings and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
4.8 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 12 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#3 of 8 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sundaras Resort
Sundaras Resort
#8 of 12 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#7 of 12 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#5 of 53 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Thilanka Resort and Spa
#6 of 12 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay