We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MPS Village

Kalundewa Road | Dambullu Oya Junction, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
MPS Village
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Stayed here for two nights with friends , the service was excellent and they went out of their way accommodate our requests. The food on offer was very tasty but we found the cost of food was far too much and above what one would expect price wise. The accommodation was average nothing great but comfortable,with a lovely view of... More 

Helpful?
Thank khairy60
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

I'm very frequent visitor to this place coz it's Simply an awesome getaway blessed with lovely surroundings in Kalundewa, Dambulla. If you have a liking for Nature.... experience the Sri Lankan Culture.... taste some lovely Mouthwatering food.... expecting a very Personalized service with a True Sri Lankan smile... The answer is at MPS Village !!!

Helpful?
Thank Pra1969
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Great location, quiet and peaceful. Friendly English speaking staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Comfy bed. Great Place for Familys and kids. Manager was friendly and helpfull. Kids loved the pool. One thing I got to remark was the sharp edges between the kids and "adult" pool. Very sharped tiles, two of us including one of my kids got cuts. This should be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gianni D
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We loved this place after rough bus ride and dusty tuk-tuk ride. The facilities are modern and the grounds are beautiful. The pool is nice...a contrast next to the pond. For the price, our room was large and the food extra delicious (curry with very fresh vegetables). The staff was very polite and left us to enjoy the solitude. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank ebfuhrman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015 via mobile

The location is divine, green and quiet, the staff is so sweet. The rooms are large (we had deluxe rooms), the beds are very comfy. Food is good, pool is lovely. No mass location, we liked that also We would recommend this place. Two things: The bathroom might be a bit cleaner, i.e. the toilet, the mirror and the wash... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carro2006
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

The place is remotely located in Dambulla but still accessible by cars. It was quiet and peaceful but no nearby restaurants. They have swimming pool. The rooms have balcony and overlooking the lake. The room was clean. The restaurant's food was okay although they can still improve it. Overall, we liked our stay in this place.

Helpful?
Thank Beverly A
Newcastle
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This hotel is in a very remote location, no shops or restaurants around. This turned out to be a positive as it was very peaceful with beautiful scenery. Received an upgrade and stayed in the deluxe rooms. Very large and clean. Restaurant had the standard Sri lankan menu. Food is good quality and beautifully served, my husband's curry was huge.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holidays_soon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

At the end of a rather bumpy road, surrounded by teak plantations and cashew nut trees you'll find MPS Village. A hotel that indeed has a village feel to it. We stayed at the MPS for two nights in the new(er) building at the back of the property. Our room was spacious and had a bathroom you could get lost... More 

Helpful?
Thank Riotzone
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Excellent Location - Rooms are small and need a upgrade Food is good and well arranged stayed for a night... but you cant get out off room during nights Lake view is excellent, pool is well maintained. All can stay in this hotel/resort to enjoy the natures beauty Excellent room service and reception service

Helpful?
Thank TourWizard
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015 via mobile

The "hotel" is a shack in The middle of a lagoon. The humidity surrunds you. The room we went in was basic, maybe rudimental, dirty and dark. No room service, no cleaning service..nothing at all! The restaurant was sad and also the meals. The price should be cheaper for the quality of the "cabanas"!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank anna4586
pulislk, Front Office Manager at MPS Village, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I do take reference to your comments regarding the humidity and the unfortunate mildew smell in the room you occupied,first of all let me apologize for the inconvenience you had,at the same time I would like to inform you that Srilanka was undergoing very bad weather during your stay in Srilanka,we had two bad weather fronts,one was the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
4.8 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 13 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 stars 2,553 reviews
6.0 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#3 of 13 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#6 of 13 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Aliya Resort and Spa
Aliya Resort and Spa
#2 of 13 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 stars 824 reviews
6.0 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#7 of 13 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sundaras Resort
Sundaras Resort
#9 of 13 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay