We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MPS Village

Kalundewa Road | Dambullu Oya Junction, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
MPS Village
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 52 Dambulla B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Beverly A Davao City, Philippines
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    67
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
44
60
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is remotely located in Dambulla but still accessible by cars. It was quiet and peaceful but no nearby restaurants. They have swimming pool. The rooms have balcony and overlooking the lake. The room was clean. The restaurant's food was okay although they can still improve it. Overall, we liked our stay in this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This hotel is in a very remote location, no shops or restaurants around. This turned out to be a positive as it was very peaceful with beautiful scenery. Received an upgrade and stayed in the deluxe rooms. Very large and clean. Restaurant had the standard Sri lankan menu. Food is good quality and beautifully served, my husband's curry was huge.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

At the end of a rather bumpy road, surrounded by teak plantations and cashew nut trees you'll find MPS Village. A hotel that indeed has a village feel to it. We stayed at the MPS for two nights in the new(er) building at the back of the property. Our room was spacious and had a bathroom you could get lost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Excellent Location - Rooms are small and need a upgrade Food is good and well arranged stayed for a night... but you cant get out off room during nights Lake view is excellent, pool is well maintained. All can stay in this hotel/resort to enjoy the natures beauty Excellent room service and reception service

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The "hotel" is a shack in The middle of a lagoon. The humidity surrunds you. The room we went in was basic, maybe rudimental, dirty and dark. No room service, no cleaning service..nothing at all! The restaurant was sad and also the meals. The price should be cheaper for the quality of the "cabanas"!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pulislk, Front Office Manager at MPS Village, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I do take reference to your comments regarding the humidity and the unfortunate mildew smell in the room you occupied,first of all let me apologize for the inconvenience you had,at the same time I would like to inform you that Srilanka was undergoing very bad weather during your stay in Srilanka,we had two bad weather fronts,one was the... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Nice place to stay ! It's comfortable and clean ! You can stay in a village with a nice garden, small lake and a swimming pool ! The staff is very gentle. It's also a good place if you like to take some pictures (mostly macros, birds and free animals). PS They also have accommodation for the driver in case... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

"One of the nicest places we have stayed in Dambulla area and it's my son's favourite place. Very clean and modern rooms with facilities. Members of the Management & Staff are very friendly, polite and attentive. Very homely place with Beautiful views of the lake and surrounding. Plenty of bird life there. Ideal spot for Bird lovers, family outings and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sri Lanka
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one week. The service was absolutely brilliant and the staff fulfilled you every wish. The hotel is set at a beautiful lake and its location within the country is great when you want to visit the old cities like Anuradhapura or Pollonaruwa and climb the rock of Sigiriya. We loved the lake, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

The area is really nice, peaceful and relaxing after visiting all the attractions around Dambulla. It is not close to anything to go out and have dinner so just be aware of it. The hotel is quitely liked by families... The staff tries its best but the hotel is getting old with basic rooms...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I had a great time staying at this hotel. The service staff was attentive and polite. Very good service, wifi works in each corner of the hotel, room is clean and highly recommended. My room is facing to a wonderful view of their own lake and I had a great stay with highly quality services served by staff. MPS Village... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
4.8 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 12 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 stars 2,198 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kassapa Lions Rock
Kassapa Lions Rock
#3 of 8 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#4 of 8 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#9 of 12 in Dambulla
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Thilanka Resort and Spa
#6 of 12 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#11 of 52 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay