We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heritage Hotel

3.0 of 5 Galwala Road | Pothanegama, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Heritage Hotel
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    57
    20
    22
See reviews for
47
52
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (177)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's quite something on arrival, temples across the lake, an impressive sweep up the drive through glorious gardens, this is a hotel built on a grand - possibly over-reaching - scale, The bedrooms are generously spacious with well designed furnishings and bathrooms of a high standard. The pool area is particularly appealing. So much to appreciate. Come dinner, however, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were stayed as a group at a legand of Anuradhapura heritage site in this calm,quite place which is having great view of "Thissa Wawa"...It was a fantastic stay and surrounding is all historic places ..All the anciant ruins can be seen by side of the lake and it was a fabulos experiance in the night...We were staid for 3night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I decided to stay in this hotel while our trip to Anuradhapura Sri lanka despite few bad comments on Trip adviser. We arrived at the hotel on 12th December. Initially we were planning to stay this hotel for two days. No sooner we checked in our nightmare started. Door lock was broken. Technically you have to turn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Srilanka_10, Director of Sales at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Marianfer, Let me thank you first of all for your comments both positive and negative posted on Tripadvisor. By going through your review, we realized that you were really disappointed with your holiday. Therefore we wish to apologize for all the trouble you had at the hotel and we assure you that we will be taking... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I always choose Heritage hotel when I come to Anuradhapura. Staff is friendly and room service was very quick. I really love their scenery around the hotel especially beautiful view of tissa wewa. Buffet had a good selection from Western to Sri Lankan food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a three star hotel. The rooms are spacious and fairly good. Most of them face the "Tissa weva" lake. The staff are good and cordial.Helpful at all times. Food is fair.Nothing out o the world, but good and tasty.Specially in the morning you would get a lot of Sri Lankan delicacies. At advertised prices, it may be too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Como, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I Made a tour of Sri Lanka and my tour operator travel agency choosed this hotel for the stop in Anaradhapura. When we arrived the lobby was quiet nice but we didn't see yet the other! Room was very old, not property clean, with a hole in the ceiling because I think they remove ONE light. There was only ONE... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Srilanka_10, Director of Sales at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Let me thank you first of all for your comments both positive and negative posted on Tripadvisor. By going through your review, we realized that you were disappointed with your holiday. Therefore we wish to apologize for all the trouble you had at the hotel and we assure you that we will be taking necessary actions to rectify the areas... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

A hotel with a feel to it, lovely experience, food was amazing as well!! Lovely city to travel to with so many places to see and heritage provides facilities allowing to experience everything the city has to offer. Will be visitng again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Anuradhapura has many incredible sites to visit, however there aren't many hotels in the area. Heritage is one of the bigger hotels that you will find here. The reception is large and nice and the hotel staff quite friendly. The rooms are large and spacious as well. The hotel is located next to the tank, so evening walks are nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Has clean rooms, though our blanket was stained. No mould or other nasties though. Wifi in common areas. Good omelettes at breakfast and reasonably priced a la carte menu for dinner, also buffet but we didn't try. Missing half the light fixtures in our room which was weird. In a nice quiet area next to lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Did stay only one night on our trip to the beginning of. The culture triangle. Love the location, just steps from the biggest "water tank" reservoir. Very helpful staff, good food. Large pool, but did not use, due to massive rain showers. Great. Value

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Address: Galwala Road | Pothanegama, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay