We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heritage Hotel

Galwala Road | Pothanegama, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Heritage Hotel
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    60
    20
    22
See reviews for
47
55
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Winterswijk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hertiage Hotel in Anaradaphura is nicely located near the lake. The hotel itself has a big, nice decorated lobby, but the rooms (especially the bathrooms) are really outdated. The restaurant is even more outdated, it’s a large room with almost no decoration. But the swimming pool and garden are really nice. The staff was helpful and friendly at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

quiet location, somewhat old hotel, large room with an unusual see-through curtain, Only one English language channel (which was not always running), good size bathroom. WiFi did not work in the room, at times it did not work in the lobby and other public areas. Breakfast and dinner buffet were good, with a variety of Western and Asian foods. Average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who is interested to visit anuradhapura ( ancient city). This hotel is located in great place, with natural lake opposite to it. Pool side is amazing and friendly staff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Anuradhapura Heritage Hotel It was our second stay at Heritage hotel in Anuradhapura and management did not disappoint us again, on the contrary. Staff is again friendly and service minded, especially for one of our disabled companions. The scenery from the hotel is magic: the beautiful view of Thissa Wewa with all the 2000 year old large Dagoba’s on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

It's quite something on arrival, temples across the lake, an impressive sweep up the drive through glorious gardens, this is a hotel built on a grand - possibly over-reaching - scale, The bedrooms are generously spacious with well designed furnishings and bathrooms of a high standard. The pool area is particularly appealing. So much to appreciate. Come dinner, however, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We were stayed as a group at a legand of Anuradhapura heritage site in this calm,quite place which is having great view of "Thissa Wawa"...It was a fantastic stay and surrounding is all historic places ..All the anciant ruins can be seen by side of the lake and it was a fabulos experiance in the night...We were staid for 3night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

My husband and I decided to stay in this hotel while our trip to Anuradhapura Sri lanka despite few bad comments on Trip adviser. We arrived at the hotel on 12th December. Initially we were planning to stay this hotel for two days. No sooner we checked in our nightmare started. Door lock was broken. Technically you have to turn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Srilanka_10, Director of Sales at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Marianfer, Let me thank you first of all for your comments both positive and negative posted on Tripadvisor. By going through your review, we realized that you were really disappointed with your holiday. Therefore we wish to apologize for all the trouble you had at the hotel and we assure you that we will be taking... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I always choose Heritage hotel when I come to Anuradhapura. Staff is friendly and room service was very quick. I really love their scenery around the hotel especially beautiful view of tissa wewa. Buffet had a good selection from Western to Sri Lankan food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

This is a three star hotel. The rooms are spacious and fairly good. Most of them face the "Tissa weva" lake. The staff are good and cordial.Helpful at all times. Food is fair.Nothing out o the world, but good and tasty.Specially in the morning you would get a lot of Sri Lankan delicacies. At advertised prices, it may be too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Como, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

I Made a tour of Sri Lanka and my tour operator travel agency choosed this hotel for the stop in Anaradhapura. When we arrived the lobby was quiet nice but we didn't see yet the other! Room was very old, not property clean, with a hole in the ceiling because I think they remove ONE light. There was only ONE... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Srilanka_10, Director of Sales at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Let me thank you first of all for your comments both positive and negative posted on Tripadvisor. By going through your review, we realized that you were disappointed with your holiday. Therefore we wish to apologize for all the trouble you had at the hotel and we assure you that we will be taking necessary actions to rectify the areas... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question