We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Gwangju

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
55, Sangmunuri-ro, Seo-gu, Gwangju 502-827, South Korea
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off.
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Gwangju
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I must say that the Superior Room is one of the largest rooms that we stayed in during our 3 week stay in Korea this year. The room looked almost brand new and was beautifully modelled. Bathroom was really spacious but could have done with a bit brighter lighting. Location-wise, it is a bit off the beaten track, right next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trumommy
holidayinngwanju, Guest Service Champion at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review

Dear Trumommy, Warmest greeting from Holiday Inn Gwangju in South Korea. Above all, We would like to show sincere appreciation for your great experiences and compliments for your recent staying such as room condition, location , and concierge service. Once again, Thank you for your precious commenting with us. Thank you. Best regards, Chloe Lee Guest Service Champion More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

I was an invited guest of a large design congress. The congress organizers housed the invited guests at the Holiday Inn Gwangju, which is right across the street from the convention center. This is not the Holiday Inn franchise I am familiar with as an American. This is a 4-star hotel primarily for business travelers as the hotel is located... More 

Helpful?
Thank ElizRes
holidayinngwanju, Acting Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review

Dear ElizRes, First of all, we would like to express deep appreciation for sharing your experiences with us. Your precious comment and review will be shared with the team for further improvement for your future staying next time. We do hope that there will be another chance to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back soon in Gwangju.... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

I was there for two dinner events. The ballroom on the 3rd floor was spacious, and the food very good each time I was there. Parking was ample, and the hotel is also next to a wedding hall and convention center.

Helpful?
Thank Jamal A
holidayinngwanju, Acting Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review

Dear Jamal A, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Gwangju. Thank you for the choosing Holiday Inn Gwangju for your recent staying with us and we would like to show sincere appreciation for your great story sharing with us such as spacious conference room and good food. We will always try to provide the best level of services as well as... More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

The rooms were spacious. The decor was lovely and modern Internet was ok, not very fast though. Only issue is that thermostat doesn't work. Way too hot and you can't open window. Breakfast was included. It was adequate but nothing spectacular Too bad that the place was located in a non-tourist friendly area. There really is nothing to do here... More 

Helpful?
Thank scrappying
holidayinngwanju, Acting Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review

Dear Scrappying, Warmest greeting from Holiday Inn Gwangju in South Korea. Thank you for the choosing Holiday Inn Gwangju for your recent staying with us and we would like to show sincere appreciation for your great story sharing with us such as room and decor. However some areas does not meet your expectations the areas you have commented will be... More 

singapore
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

The hotel was new and felt very comfortable on first glance. However, as the air conditioning was not working and the hotel could not lend us a decent fan, our stay was very uncomfortable. The hotel coffee house had rather inattentive staff - my sister's minestrone soup was supposed to be served with focaccia bread but arrived without any bread.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pl55
holidayinngwanju, Guest Service Champion at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review

Dear pl55, Warmest greeting from Holiday Inn Gwangju in South Korea. First of all, We would like to show sincere appreciation for your great experience and comments sharing with us for your recent recent staying with us. In the meantime, It is very sad about that some areas does not meet your expectations air conditioner in the room and miss... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

We are presently staying in this hotel while attending a 7 day conference. The hotel is well located for the large convention centre across the road. The room (522) is nice enough and a comfortable size. There are plenty of restaurants within a couple of blocks walk. Sadly the house keeping is the worst we have ever struck in any... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamOfAdelaide
holidayinngwanju, Acting Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review

Dear GrahamOfAdelaide, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Gwangju, Korea. First of all, We would like to show sincere appreciation for your great experience and comments sharing with us for your recent recent staying with us. However, it is very sad to find out that we have failed good level of services as well as your requests during your stay. Please... More 

Emirate of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015 via mobile

Even though this hotel locate in excellent area but, staying in here is terrible. I faced a lot of problems in this hotel which reflect a bad impression. First problem i face was with the house keeping. They took my camping device (camping cooker) from my room without my permission. when i asked about the reason, their answer was it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hassan4401
holidayinngwanju, Actiong Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review

Dear Hassan4401, Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very delighted to hear that you are our loyal guest and liked our location of hotel. Regarding your problems caused, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience . It will be well-noted and we have shared your feedback with management. Once again, Thank you for your great... More 

Seoul
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

I went to the Holiday Inn this past Sunday. We stayed there for two days. The room was a little small. It had 1 ultra large bed,a comfortable cushion chair which was beside a 10 foot wooden desk. On the desk their was free Lavazza coffea capsules. The bathroom (very large) had a super-sized bathtub. The bathroom floor was made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mohammedyu
holidayinngwanju, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review

Dear Mohammedyu, Warmest greetings from Holiday Inn Gwangju, Korea. We would like to extend our appreciation to you for selecting the hotel and sharing your precious experiences with us. It is very pleased to know that on your visit this time, you have enjoyed and had good experiences with each departments and their good conditions provided. We do hope that... More 

Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Hotel is located on the outskirt of the city, in the developing part of the town. The city itself doesn't have too much tour attraction, especially for the foreigners. The province is known for good Korean food, which was also the reason for my trip with my wife. Hotel is fairly new and clean. Yet it is a bit distant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zustin
holidayinngwanju, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review

Dear zustin, Warmest greeting from Holiday Inn Gwangju in South Korea. First of all, Thank you for your great story and compliments for your recent staying with us especially "The staff were nice and sauna is humble" The concierge service you have commented will be carefully noted for further improvements in future. We appreciated for your great effort and kind... More 

Gwangju, South Korea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Disadvantages 1. The cheapest rooms do not have baths. 2. Guests of the pool is free. However, because the pay wearing a swimsuit in the sauna room wearing a robe has a very uncomfortable position to be in the pool. There is no swimming pool changing rooms. Advantages 1. The promotions frequently. 2. It is easy to relax, thanks to... More 

Helpful?
Thank rilishi
holidayinngwanju, Manager at Holiday Inn Gwangju, responded to this review

Dear rilishi, Warmest greeting from Holiday Inn Gwangju in South Korea. First of all, We would like to show sincere appreciation for your great experience and comments sharing with us for your recent recent staying with us. In the meantime, It is very sad about that some areas does not meet your expectations no bathtub in the normal room and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gwangju hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gwangju
Ramada Plaza Gwangju
#3 of 24 in Gwangju
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
4.7 mi away
Geumsoojang Tourist Hotel
0.8 mi away
Tourist Hotel Masters
Tourist Hotel Masters
#19 of 24 in Gwangju
3.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Benikea Hotel Art Hall
Benikea Hotel Art Hall
#8 of 24 in Gwangju
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel B
Hotel B
#2 of 24 in Gwangju
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#5 of 24 in Gwangju
4.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay