We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Supertramp Hostel

Calle Chaskatika 203, Barrio Las Orquideas | Plaza de la Cultura, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Supertramp Hostel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Supertramp Hostel
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    70
    45
    10
    9
See reviews for
3
64
84
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (276)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and a friend stayed in supertramp hostel for one night in February 2015. Supertramp is (to my knowledge) one of very few, if not the only proper hostel in the whole of aguas calientes. Most of the cheap accomodation consists of super budget hotels. Indeed, these options can be found (with a bit of perseverence) for 10 S per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SupertrampHostelM, Guest Relations Manager at Supertramp Hostel, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! As for your "rose amongst thorns" comment, you definitely got an awwww out of us. Thanks! Not to pat ourselves on the back on anything, but we try. Welcome back anytime! More 

Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You need a place to stay in AC. We all do. Rooms are smelly and not very clean. Bathrooms are OK, nothing great or terrible. Wifi doesn't really work well. Free hot tea downstairs. Use it as a crashpad for a night, nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SupertrampHostelM, Guest Relations Manager at Supertramp Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you had a blah experience with us but thanks for the feedback. We're aware that the internet sometimes isn't awesome, we're working on it with the phone company. It sucks you didn't get to do anything but crash with us for the night, we're so much more than that. Hope you enjoyed your time in Peru! Good travels! More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Located around 6 blocks from the train terminal, this hostel is a good option for Machu Picchu visitors. The dorms are clean with comfortable beds. The bathrooms and showers are also ok. There was a blackout that affected all the village when I was there. So there was not electric light, hot showers and wifi for more 24 hours. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

My husband and I showed up and shockingly the receptionist didn't speak English. I don't judge in normal cities but this is Aguas Calientes, a city that ONLY exists for tourists. It wouldn't have been a problem but they messed up our reservation. When they took us to the wrong rooms I tried to explain what we paid for and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

The staff is very nice and helpful, present 24/24h. The place is clean, free tea, free wifi and a nice places to chill and meet other travelers (reception and terraces). The breakfast could be a little more plentiful for the price paid, and one oof the dorms (the one I stayed in) actually gives just on plaza de la cultura... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Best food, best staff, BEST COLOMBIANS. I've been traveling for a few months and this was the best place I stayed : ) Most of the staff at Supertramp is from Colombia and all of them are amazing. I want to go back just to hangout with everyone again! The food is incredible and the Argentinian lady that cooks it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I am happy with my choice to stay at Supertramp. The choices in Aguas Calientes are lousy - the hotels are mostly mediocre and expensive, so Supertramp seemed like the best choice. We only stayed for one night before Machu Picchu and then heading back to Cusco. Pluses: good price, good location, great rooftop bar/hangout area, clean, friendly staff. Minuses:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Good place to stay, free tea, wi-fi (just one computer though), good showers and good breakfast (including eggs). Rooms are nice and the place has a good decoration too. The supermarkets around are expensive, so bring all you water and food from the previous city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Good location, but really don't understand the hype. There are three toilets that are meant to be shared between three dorms and two private rooms. No kitchen, no common room apart from a closed bar. No power outlets in the dorms either. However the worst thing was NO ventilation in the dorms. Most of the people here have either done... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Decent vibes, comfy bed, cool aesthetic. That being said the wifi is painfully slow, the bathrooms are filthy and sparse (total 3 toilets for the whole place and you can't flush toilet paper...think about it), the showers are freezing, and there's no communal kitchen. Only a kitchen with a territorial cook who charges way too much for menu items. Some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Supertramp Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Supertramp Hostel

Address: Calle Chaskatika 203, Barrio Las Orquideas | Plaza de la Cultura, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Supertramp Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay