We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Supertramp Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Calle Chaskatika 203, Barrio Las Orquideas | Plaza de la Cultura, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Supertramp Hostel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Supertramp Hostel
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    73
    45
    10
    9
See reviews for
3
64
87
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If I were to do it again, I would just go back to Ollantaytambo or Cusco instead of staying in Aguas Calientes, but if you're getting to be spending the night there this is the place to do it. A private room with two double beds is a great deal compared to the dorm prices. They're pretty comfortable, especially after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SupertrampHostelM, Guest Relations Manager at Supertramp Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Allen! Glad you found yourself comfortable with us. Next time I'm in the mood for soup I'll check out you caldo de gallina recommendation. Safe travels. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I got a private room with 2 double beds for about $45 USD. There's a fun atmosphere and the staff is really friendly. The beds were comfortable. No hot water in the showers, but it's a hostel, that's expected. No heat/ac, but I wasn't cold or hot and slept well. Get a fruit drink in their cafe. They blend frozen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SupertrampHostelM, Guest Relations Manager at Supertramp Hostel, responded to this review

Hey thanks for the awesome review Jennifer! We always love hearing about great experiences. I'm pretty hooked on those fruit drinks myself. If you don't mind, would you hop over to our palate bistro trip advisor page, we're trying to get it going. Glad you enjoyed your time with us, and welcome back whenever!!! Safe travels. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Me and a friend stayed in supertramp hostel for one night in February 2015. Supertramp is (to my knowledge) one of very few, if not the only proper hostel in the whole of aguas calientes. Most of the cheap accomodation consists of super budget hotels. Indeed, these options can be found (with a bit of perseverence) for 10 S per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SupertrampHostelM, Guest Relations Manager at Supertramp Hostel, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! As for your "rose amongst thorns" comment, you definitely got an awwww out of us. Thanks! Not to pat ourselves on the back on anything, but we try. Welcome back anytime! More 

Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

You need a place to stay in AC. We all do. Rooms are smelly and not very clean. Bathrooms are OK, nothing great or terrible. Wifi doesn't really work well. Free hot tea downstairs. Use it as a crashpad for a night, nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SupertrampHostelM, Guest Relations Manager at Supertramp Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you had a blah experience with us but thanks for the feedback. We're aware that the internet sometimes isn't awesome, we're working on it with the phone company. It sucks you didn't get to do anything but crash with us for the night, we're so much more than that. Hope you enjoyed your time in Peru! Good travels! More 

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Located around 6 blocks from the train terminal, this hostel is a good option for Machu Picchu visitors. The dorms are clean with comfortable beds. The bathrooms and showers are also ok. There was a blackout that affected all the village when I was there. So there was not electric light, hot showers and wifi for more 24 hours. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

My husband and I showed up and shockingly the receptionist didn't speak English. I don't judge in normal cities but this is Aguas Calientes, a city that ONLY exists for tourists. It wouldn't have been a problem but they messed up our reservation. When they took us to the wrong rooms I tried to explain what we paid for and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

The staff is very nice and helpful, present 24/24h. The place is clean, free tea, free wifi and a nice places to chill and meet other travelers (reception and terraces). The breakfast could be a little more plentiful for the price paid, and one oof the dorms (the one I stayed in) actually gives just on plaza de la cultura... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Best food, best staff, BEST COLOMBIANS. I've been traveling for a few months and this was the best place I stayed : ) Most of the staff at Supertramp is from Colombia and all of them are amazing. I want to go back just to hangout with everyone again! The food is incredible and the Argentinian lady that cooks it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I am happy with my choice to stay at Supertramp. The choices in Aguas Calientes are lousy - the hotels are mostly mediocre and expensive, so Supertramp seemed like the best choice. We only stayed for one night before Machu Picchu and then heading back to Cusco. Pluses: good price, good location, great rooftop bar/hangout area, clean, friendly staff. Minuses:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Good place to stay, free tea, wi-fi (just one computer though), good showers and good breakfast (including eggs). Rooms are nice and the place has a good decoration too. The supermarkets around are expensive, so bring all you water and food from the previous city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question