We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

2.0 of 5 Tupac Inca Yupanqui 103, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    51
    24
    19
See reviews for
11
54
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (152)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfect location, just a minute walk from the busses up to Machu Picchu, its right off one of the main streets with all the bars and restaurants. The actual hotel is beyond disgusting, mold all over the shower curtain, we ended up washing our feet with soap and water after getting out of the shower because we were scared of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, 10min from the train station and very close from the market, restaurants, main square and thermal baths. Breakfast include since 4am (fruits, yogurt, bread, coffee,milk). Have a kitchen where you can cook and a little store in front of the hostel. The rooms are comfortable and the rooms in the first floor are bigger than the others. Free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Aguas calientes is a tourist town and the hostels are all overpriced and average. However, Pirwa hostel is a great place to stay for one night. The hostel is very close to the bus stop to Machu Pichu and they pick you up from the train station! There is storage space and they let you hang around (and use the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently I stayed at Pirwa Hostel in Aguas Calientes in Peru, together with 3 my friends. Unfortunately, we had very bad experience, as we were robbed during the night while sleeping in the room. All our money was stolen. We tried to contact with manager, but neither manager of Pirwa hostel in Aguas Calientes or in Cusco did not want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed there for only one night there wasnt hot water and one room smell so horrible that we couldnt get inside linen wasnt fresh as well.. thet gave us different room but still water wasnt really warm.. we skipped breakafast - had a sip of coffee only everybody were rude in this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trujillo, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got robbed in the same line of this hostel in Aguas Calientes, Pirwa Backapackers. Someone got into the room while we were sleeping and cash money from me and 3 other friends. Owner never came to face us or hear what happened, never show any interest. We only talked to a lady, administartor called Sachenka Mendivi, in this hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pirwa H, Gerente at Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu, responded to this review

4 people traveling together, stayed alone in a 4-bed dorm, and alleged that while they slept, roughly US$1150 was taken from their collective backpacks, all left outside the security lockers. They didn’t wake, no one inside or out of the dorm noticed any intrusion, nor did reception. Due to these claims, all other hostel guests had to be disturbed &... More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked online thinking this was more of a standard Hostal, but they only have a charmless backpacker facility in Aguascalientes anymore. We did have private room with bath, but it was kind of dingy. They wanted payment upon arrival and charged a premium for using Visa, even higher for Mastercard. The breakfast was ready at 4:30am as advertised, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Big let down for the money you pay, rather dirty and lots of flies in the kitchen, wouldn't recommend staying here. Didn't acknowledge our online deposit either. Staff were not very helpful and wifi is terrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed on this place to have an overnight place to stay before going to Machu Picchu the next morning. It was not busy during my stay but as expected everything went well with the amount of money I paid for the Hostel and the service I got from them - Worth it. Carlos the front desk guy was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stay here for one night before getting up at the break of dawn to get to the gates of Machu Picchu when they open. The rooms are fine/standard -- nothing to rave about. Helpful staff with maps and info., included breakfast was very nice and ABOVE average - hearty for the large day ahead. Also begins at 4:30am so you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Address: Tupac Inca Yupanqui 103, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay