We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu

Tupac Inca Yupanqui 103, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    57
    26
    23
See reviews for
12
58
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (175)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Pirwa Cusco and the hotel was pretty good, so without checking it, we reserved in Aqua Caliente trusting that it would be comparable. Our first nigt was great, in a 4 beds with bathroom, but then they changed us to a 5 bed without bathroom and that was not even human. It smelled awfull of stagnant humidity,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

We stayed here because it was the sister hostel of a place we'd stayed in Cusco, that wasn't bad. This version was not as good; the hostel is very bare, and was still having building work done to it (on the top floor) when we stayed. The rooms are pretty bare, although there were some handy hooks on the walls.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We enjoyed the hotel, great location, with very clean room.The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast at 4h30 in the morning, perfect for those who will go up to sunrise/sunset at Machu Picchu. We recommend this hotel - We did the travel to Machu Picchu with the Pirwa Travel all good. Thanks Pirwa Hostels and Pirwa Travel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Perfect location, just a minute walk from the busses up to Machu Picchu, its right off one of the main streets with all the bars and restaurants. The actual hotel is beyond disgusting, mold all over the shower curtain, we ended up washing our feet with soap and water after getting out of the shower because we were scared of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Great location, 10min from the train station and very close from the market, restaurants, main square and thermal baths. Breakfast include since 4am (fruits, yogurt, bread, coffee,milk). Have a kitchen where you can cook and a little store in front of the hostel. The rooms are comfortable and the rooms in the first floor are bigger than the others. Free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Aguas calientes is a tourist town and the hostels are all overpriced and average. However, Pirwa hostel is a great place to stay for one night. The hostel is very close to the bus stop to Machu Pichu and they pick you up from the train station! There is storage space and they let you hang around (and use the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Recently I stayed at Pirwa Hostel in Aguas Calientes in Peru, together with 3 my friends. Unfortunately, we had very bad experience, as we were robbed during the night while sleeping in the room. All our money was stolen. We tried to contact with manager, but neither manager of Pirwa hostel in Aguas Calientes or in Cusco did not want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Travelers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

we stayed there for only one night there wasnt hot water and one room smell so horrible that we couldnt get inside linen wasnt fresh as well.. thet gave us different room but still water wasnt really warm.. we skipped breakafast - had a sip of coffee only everybody were rude in this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trujillo, Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We got robbed in the same line of this hostel in Aguas Calientes, Pirwa Backapackers. Someone got into the room while we were sleeping and cash money from me and 3 other friends. Owner never came to face us or hear what happened, never show any interest. We only talked to a lady, administartor called Sachenka Mendivi, in this hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pirwa H, Gerente at Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu, responded to this review

4 people traveling together, stayed alone in a 4-bed dorm, and alleged that while they slept, roughly US$1150 was taken from their collective backpacks, all left outside the security lockers. They didn’t wake, no one inside or out of the dorm noticed any intrusion, nor did reception. Due to these claims, all other hostel guests had to be disturbed &... More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I booked online thinking this was more of a standard Hostal, but they only have a charmless backpacker facility in Aguascalientes anymore. We did have private room with bath, but it was kind of dingy. They wanted payment upon arrival and charged a premium for using Visa, even higher for Mastercard. The breakfast was ready at 4:30am as advertised, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay