We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

The Wheatbaker

Travelers' Choice award winner
| Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Hotel amenities
The Wheatbaker
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Lagos
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Mohammed A
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    44
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
10
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A beautiful, tastefully furnished hotel located in a quite part of Ikoyi, Lagos. It has some of the most amazing hotel food ever, especially for meat lovers. The complimentary inclusive breakfast is best experienced and on its own merit is reason enough to visit the hotel. Prices are steep but are fair against other comparator establishments. Staff are well trained,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear MohammedA We are all very grateful for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at The Wheatbaker, Lagos. I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, and found the staff to be well trained. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Sincerely Simon Grindrod More 

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my first visit - business - to Nigeria (and to the African continent). I must admit that the trip was with some apprehension. And this hotel put me at ease. Clean, excellent service, and well-secured. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear USMA74 Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Wheatbaker, Lagos I am very glad my team were able to deliver the standard of service you expected and helped make your first visit to Lagos pleasant. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Sincerely Simon Grindrod More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel for business and would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to lagos for business. Rooms are clean and well managed. Even though a little small on long term stays. Breakfast has good selection and the coffee is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear 4Abade Thank you for your comments following your stay with us. Should you return to us for a long stay we could see what can be offered in terms of room type and size. We will continue to deliver the best service possible and never take your business for granted. Sincerely Simon Grindrod More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed this week for the first time at The Wheatbaker and must say, what a gem. Excellent facilities, great breakfast and well apointed rooms. Definitely will return and can easily recommend as the preferred hotel in Lagos.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear Nazeemm2014 The Wheatbaker Team are very grateful to you for posting your perceptions of our hotel following your stay with us. Rest assured we will continue to maintain our service offering to you and all of our valued Guests. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely Simon Grindrod More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

There is no place better to wind down after the hassle of the Lagos traffic. Tranquility in the middle of Lagos is a luxury and there is no better luxury than the Wheatbaker. Service impeccable, security excellent. For such a small place it has a lot to offer. See you again later this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear David L Thank you from the Team and myself for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay with us. Both your patronage and kind comments are valued. We hope to be of service to you again when you next visit Lagos. Sincerely Simon Grindrod More 

Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I was here for a workshop followed by a series of meetings and I had an excellent stay. This is located in a quiet, residential-type neighbourhood but still close enough to the happening Victoria Island area that you don't feel too isolated or out of town. The meeting room for the workshop was set up wonderfully and everyone in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear SienaMcN On behalf of the entire team here at The Wheatbaker may I thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comprehensive impressions of our hotel following your recent stay with us. Detailed feedback such as yours is critical in assisting us to provide only the highest levels of service, quality and value. Each of the... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Visited the hotel in company of friends and we were impressed by its understated luxury. It's a home away from home. We all promised to come back again. The food was great. The hotel staff were so courteous. Very inviting ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member Thank you very much for your feedback following a recent stay with us. All of us here at The Wheatbaker are committed to the satisfaction of all our guests and observations such as yours further assist us to improve. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely Simon Grindrod More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Stayed at the Wheatbaker in Lagos on a recent business trip and also hosted a small event there at the same time. Hotel and rooms are of the highest standard. The Food in the Grill restaurant was very disappointing, but tasty and enjoyable in the buffet restaurant. When everyone gets back to the hotel in the evenings and they settle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear David B Thank you for taking the time to provide your observations following a recent stay with us at The Wheatbaker. The team and I have noted very carefully the points you have made and I have sent you a private email to request further detail on aspects where we can try to improve our Service, especially your experience... More 

Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

A hotel room is a safe haven when you travel frequently! This hotel got it right. Modern, spacious, clean and functional. Not cheap but the best hotel I stayed in after multiple visits to Lagos. Good food options and attentive and professional service

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear GertdeBeer The team and I thank you for your patronage and observations of The Wheatbaker, Lagos. We are proud and pleased that we could deliver on your expectations and hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely Simon Grindrod More 

Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

clean, modern, boutique (its me classifying it as one) hotel. broad roads. outstanding staff who are ready to help and makes you feel they mean it. its not close to any shops and so on. i got an upgrade, so was pleased. breakfast is great. dont think they are as big as other hotels in lagos, i would guess some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear mjacob007 Thank you for taking the time to provide input following your recent stay with us. We are grateful to you for choosing to stay with us and your observations mean a great deal given your extensive travels and reviews. I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future and we extend our best wishes.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question