We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info
All 110 Lagos hotels

The Wheatbaker

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Hotel amenities
The Wheatbaker
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wheatbaker to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Lagos
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
SienaMcN New Orleans, Louisiana
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
9
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here for a workshop followed by a series of meetings and I had an excellent stay. This is located in a quiet, residential-type neighbourhood but still close enough to the happening Victoria Island area that you don't feel too isolated or out of town. The meeting room for the workshop was set up wonderfully and everyone in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear SienaMcN On behalf of the entire team here at The Wheatbaker may I thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comprehensive impressions of our hotel following your recent stay with us. Detailed feedback such as yours is critical in assisting us to provide only the highest levels of service, quality and value. Each of the... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the hotel in company of friends and we were impressed by its understated luxury. It's a home away from home. We all promised to come back again. The food was great. The hotel staff were so courteous. Very inviting ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member Thank you very much for your feedback following a recent stay with us. All of us here at The Wheatbaker are committed to the satisfaction of all our guests and observations such as yours further assist us to improve. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely Simon Grindrod More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Wheatbaker in Lagos on a recent business trip and also hosted a small event there at the same time. Hotel and rooms are of the highest standard. The Food in the Grill restaurant was very disappointing, but tasty and enjoyable in the buffet restaurant. When everyone gets back to the hotel in the evenings and they settle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear David B Thank you for taking the time to provide your observations following a recent stay with us at The Wheatbaker. The team and I have noted very carefully the points you have made and I have sent you a private email to request further detail on aspects where we can try to improve our Service, especially your experience... More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A hotel room is a safe haven when you travel frequently! This hotel got it right. Modern, spacious, clean and functional. Not cheap but the best hotel I stayed in after multiple visits to Lagos. Good food options and attentive and professional service

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear GertdeBeer The team and I thank you for your patronage and observations of The Wheatbaker, Lagos. We are proud and pleased that we could deliver on your expectations and hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely Simon Grindrod More 

Mumbai
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

clean, modern, boutique (its me classifying it as one) hotel. broad roads. outstanding staff who are ready to help and makes you feel they mean it. its not close to any shops and so on. i got an upgrade, so was pleased. breakfast is great. dont think they are as big as other hotels in lagos, i would guess some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear mjacob007 Thank you for taking the time to provide input following your recent stay with us. We are grateful to you for choosing to stay with us and your observations mean a great deal given your extensive travels and reviews. I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future and we extend our best wishes.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stay here whenever there's availability. Heads and shoulders above the rest in terms of service and attention to detail. Good sized, clean and comfortable rooms. Great food. Efficient and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear Nndebele13 The Wheatbaker Team and I thank you for your very kind comment and for your valued patronage. We are pleased to have met your expectations and standards and assure you of our ongoing commitment to maintaining and improving these. I hope to welcome you back should you visit Lagos in the future. Sincerely Simon Grindrod More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

conviently situated, quite area however, small enough to give excellent and polite service. Restaurants very good quality. Room comfort is excellent, luck me - even got an upgrade to suite! Doing business in Lagos is tough, Wheatbaker makes the evenings relaxing with all the facilities!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear Craig W Thank you from all of us here at The Wheatbaker for taking the time to provide valuable feedback following your stay with us. We are very happy to hear you found our Service to be to your satisfaction and this further motivates us to try harder and reach higher. We will remember to keep our Cappuccino's readily... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I've spent the best part of two months at the Wheatbaker as a return guest for business. Spending this long at a hotel is never "fun" but there is no better place to do it. Top class management and personal service. Friendly and happy staff who are engaged. Good food, drink and ambiance. This is a very good hotel for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear Rob G All of us here at The Wheatbaker extend to you our warm best wishes for a great 2015. Thank you for your observations, which mean all the more given that you were a long stay guest. I am glad we managed to meet your expectations for the period you were with us. We hope to welcome you... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

I've had some pretty bad hotel experiences in Lagos. Wheatbaker is the exception. The rooms are clean and comfortable - being fairly new the decor is up to date and the place is fresh. Service was the best I've had from anyone in Nigeria. As far as being able to offer tourist info they could sharpen up. It's situated out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear B1ades A happy new year from all of us at The Wheatbaker, Lagos. Thank you for your kind comments, especially our need to offer more comprehensive tourist information. We shall certainly look into how this can be done better by our Guest Relations colleagues. I hope you will choose us again if you visit Lagos in the future and... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at The Wheatbaker. The staff were very polite and courteous and the food was good. My room was lovely but the minibar is locked unless you ask for a key, which I find strange! I do believe that it's exceptionally expensive but then, hotels in Lagos generally are and to have a haven to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear Joeyc86 On behalf of the entire Wheatbaker Team I extend our genuine thanks for providing your feedback following your stay with us. We have noted your valid observation about over eager service which can be intrusive. We will work on always trying to find the balance between attentiveness and intrusiveness. I do hope that you will choose to visit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Wheatbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay