We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Ikeja

4.0 of 5 42/44 Isaac John Street | Gra, Lagos, Nigeria
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Protea Hotel Ikeja
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Ikeja
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
2
11
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked in at Protea, Ikeja for a night stay. The room was Fab!! The price was on the higher side, but with a separate dining/living and bed rooms, it made it worth it. Found it very clean. Close to Airport.Room service was good in the evening, but no response early morning. The lobby for nice one, though the room numbers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Most of the staff including security staff very friendly and helpful. Had room on 2nd floor, a bit odd room numbers are 300 plus. Getting into elevator it was confusing that there is no 3rd floor button. Room pretty nice only down side was that the only working air conditioning was in the lounge area of room. So had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Bad. Filthy, smelly rooms. Rooms facing the streets are very noisy. Bad breakfast, bad dinner with same limited choice every night. Internet doesn't work. Front desk people rather unfriendly. The pool area reminds me on a prison. Very bad experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DerikJacobsz, General Manager at Protea Hotel Ikeja, responded to this review

Good Day JimLeonard1, We have received your comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your input. Could you kindly advise us which dates specifically you stayed with us and perhaps the correct name as we can't find your stay on our system. We also don't recognize the photos posted. Could it be that it was perhaps a different hotel? Kindly forward... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Stunning rooms, the photos don't do it justice. It was one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in, especially if you are on a business trip and you don't plan to leave the hotel. The shower was huge, I felt so comfortable in my short stay. The staff were welcoming upon arrival, but upon check out, the woman at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Hotel appeared clean, rooms were of good size and bed also. Bathroom was nice with big shower. What disappointed me was there was no iron or ironing board facilities. Calling up housekeeping and 1.5hrs later still waiting for the ironing board and iron. Ended up leaving without ironing my shirt. Gym is pretty old and dated and the pool is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here after a local Nigerian friend advised me against my original booking at the Sheraton Hotel in Ikeja. I was happy for the advice as the service has been excellent, with good internet speeds and absolutely excellent food. The buffet selections at breakfast and dinner are extremely wide ranging. The wait staff are very polite and the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Conroe, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I frequently stay at Protea hotel, in the Ikeja district of Lagos, Nigeria, but the past few stays have been highly disappointing. I am finding myself constantly calling reception to complain about my room being hot, intermittent power, phone not working, very few channels come in clear, and the internet being very slow or not working at all (it has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Visited on a business trip. Smaller of the two Protea Hotels in Ikeja, but has a nice feel to the place. Friendly staff, food very good, and gym, swimming pool all nice. Rooms were fine, and bed comfortable. Only thing wrong was the poor water pressure and cold shower. But in this part of the world, its not so bad.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I have been to Lagos about 7 years back and I was staying in Sheraton hotel which was very old.. This time,my company put us in this hotel. Room is in good size,big bed,very cozy layout,quite ok selection of TV channels,big bathroom with separate shower and bathtub . I woke up in the morning to the sound of rooster ..Isnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Gave 3 out of 5 because of restaurant and bar staff and service, otherwise overall the stay would be a 2. I set the bar very low for Protea hotels in general and Nigeria specifically, and they exceeded in their ability to disappoint. The place is generally in average condition but with the annoyance of always having one or two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Ikeja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Ikeja

Address: 42/44 Isaac John Street | Gra, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Ikeja 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Ikeja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lagos

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay