We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info
All 71 Lagos hotels

Southern Sun Ikoyi

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$404 (USD)
Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Ikoyi to your Saves list
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #3 of 71 hotels in Lagos
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
KobusLou Centurion, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (330)
  • Photos (27)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (74)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    128
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
10
6
28
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stay here regularly for work and they keep on impressing me, the hotel is in a nice area of the city. The consistency in service and guest experience ensures that from check in to check out you feel like the only person staying here. Secondly the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Thank you for a great experience, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was traveling to Nigeria alone for the first time and found this hotel sensitive and alert to to customer needs.The breakfast spread was amazing,especially loved the cheeses and fruit,quick switch over with the power outages common in this country.Chikwudi the barman deserves special recognition,his mocktails and cocktails were superb.The vibe at the bar was great,decent mixed crowd too.I also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First room I was given had an odd scent, second room was dirty as work had been done in the bathroom and resulted in plaster/silicone all over the bedroom floor. Alarms went off in the middle of the night on 4 occasions. I work for NEC Africa we have a number of staff that stay in your hotel regularly and... More

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review

Dear SunnyWorldTraveller Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your time to share your experience. I am truly disappointed to know about your bad experience and the state of our rooms,and the alarm that went off in the middle of the night. All these issues have been sorted. I would like you to know that I... More

Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Southern Sun hotel is located in a secure and fairly quiet part of town in Ikoyi. It's located on a major road so easily accessible both within and outside the island. I spent only one night there but I did enjoy it. Although it's expensive, the quality of service compared to other similarly priced hotels is better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review

Dear Viviani204 Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Southern Sun Ikoyi, and taking your time to share your experience . We are delighted to learn that the location and the service were acceptable to you. We looking forward to welcoming you back soon. With Best Regards Cliff Shiridzinodya More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service I experienced during the my stay was excellent. Staff are friendly, polite and very professional. Excellent customer care and goes the extra mile to help guests. The room was spacious and decorated well. It looked extremely well maintained with high quality furniture & linen. Bathroom was modern, spacious and extremely clean. The hotel is located in a convenient, central... More

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review

Dear Priyanka Thank you for taking time to share your comment and feedback with us. We truly value your feedback as your absolute satisfiaction is our goal. Thank you for your comments about the rooms, and our staff. I will definitely share your comments with the team. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, I look forward... More

Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Southern Sun is one of the nicer, if not the nicest full service hotel experience in Ikoyi. The entire staff, regardless of position, greets you with a smile and seems to genuinely appreciate you being there. I use the gym on a regular basis. The facility is always clean and the machines are well maintained. There is a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review

Dear Chicagowino Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that the service rendered by the team members were to your satisfaction. You good comments have been passed on to them and they are happy to hear that their effort is recognized. We are committed to provide the highest level of... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow. I hate coming to Lagos! My 1st impression and last of the country, both being at the airport, sour my feelings of the place every time I am here. But then I was advised to stay here. And even though its a business trip, it is fantastic. I have never had such efficient, happy and friendly assistance with anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review

Dear Craigharwood Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also taking your time to share your experience with us. Your appreciative comments about the facilities and staff are highly appreciated. We are also proud of their professionalism as they continue to deliver professional service. Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed here a number of times on business. The hotel is perfectly fine, not a bad oasis amongst all the chaos. If you're staying here you really need to be doing business on the island as the traffic across the bridge is chaotic. Nice gym, good bar and safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review

Dear Tenny500 Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Southern Sun Ikoyi and taking your time to share your experience. We delighted to learn that our location, gym and bar were acceptable to you. We looking forward to welcoming back again soon. regards Cliff Shiridziodya More

Manama, Bahrain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Some of the elevator buttons are faulty. I hurt my nail badly while pressing one of the buttons, however the button was promptly repaired when I pointed this out, but the remaining faulty buttons weren't checked or repaired. Room used to be hot when entering the room - it took an hour or so for the temperature to stabilize. The... More

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review

Dear SSN702 Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.We truly value your feedback. I am terribly sorry to hear that your hurt your nail, and also our facilities and the menu which were not up to the standard that you wanted. We have discuss all your comments with our staff to avoid any re-occurrence. Thank you... More

Dubai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel on several occassions. The only reason why I put myself throught he torture is the location being convenient to our clients and meetings. Please do not stay here if you expect consistency in service or facilities. My list of unfortunate experiences on this trip are as follows: Air conditioning had to be replaced 2... More

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ssih, Deputy General Manager at Southern Sun Ikoyi, responded to this review

Dear AshGDubai Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I am truly disappointed to know about your negative experience, the inconvenience you had with the AC, WiFi, room service and the bar. I regret that we were not able to deliver personalised service as we should.On behalf of the Southern Sun... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Southern Sun Ikoyi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Sun Ikoyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ikoyi

Address: 47 Alfred Rewane Road Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ikoyi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Southern Sun Ikoyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ikoyi Hotel Lagos

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Business Hotel in Lagos #3 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi LagosAddress 47 Alfred Rewane Road (Kingsway Road)Ikoyi – Lagos Nigeria.Location Southern Sun Ikoyi is strategically located in the GovernmentArea of the City. It offers the corporate business travelers an excellent accommodation and irresistible Services. The hotel is situated within a few kilometers from the Atlantic Ocean (popularly called Bar Beach), 5km from the City Centre and 30km from the International Airport.Accommodation Southern Sun Hotel Ikoyi has a total of 195 rooms tastefully furnished with luxurious amenities and offers various segments of rooms to meet our clients’ needs. The Hotel rooms are categorized as follows: 86 Standard Rooms 75 Executive Rooms (One Double Bed) 22 Executive Rooms (Two Double Beds) 5 Junior Suites 4 Suites 2 Executive Suites 1 Paraplegic RoomAll the above mentioned rooms are non-smokingGuests Rooms All rooms are fitted with the followings: Air-conditioning Flat Screen 32” LCD TV DSTV and Local Channels Hitv Channels High Speed Complementary Internet Access WIFI internet connectivity IDD Telephone System in rooms Safe Deposit Boxes Electronic Door Lock Tea/Coffee Making facilities Fully Stock Mini Bar Hair Dryer Iron/Ironing Board (on request) Work Desk with LampExecutive Floors The Executive floors (8th & 9th) offer our esteemedguests exclusive services as follows: Executive Lounge Complimentary:o Continental/Buffet Breakfasto Fruit Basket on Arrivalo Bottle of Wineo Newspaperso Bathrobeso Slipperso Loffa Business & Secretarial Services Turndown ServiceFamily Children under 3 years and below stay and eat freeServices Our Hotel Services include: 24 hours effective and efficient security system 24 hours, 7 days a week room service Laundry and Dry Cleaning Services Secured Environment Free Parking Business Centre with state-of-the-art facilities Daily Secretarial Services Fitness Centre with modern equipment ATM Services on site WIFI internet connectivity throughout the Hotel High Speed Internet Access Outdoor Swimming PoolConference/MeetingOur professional Staff will assist our Corporate and Business Clients to plan their meetings/functions. Our meeting rooms are fully equipped with state-of-art-facilities.Restaurant/Bar Our Restaurants our open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and offer elegant Nigerian and Continental dishes to the delight of all guests. Restaurant Capacityo Main Restaurant - 80 Seatso Mezzanine Lounge/Bar - 20 Seats Operation Hourso Breakfast - 6.30am – 10.00amo Lunch - 12.00pm – 3.00pmo Dinner - 6.00pm – 10.00pmSports/Recreation * Swimming Pool Fitness Centre Gym Sauna/Steam RoomUseful Information The Hotel does not operate Airport Shuttle, but could assist our guests to make arrangement with a reliable Car Rentals on request. Rates are inclusive of Full Continental/Buffet Breakfast 5% VAT and 10% Service Charge.Interested Placesin Lagos Ikoyi Club – Established 1938 is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and it offers various sporting facilities. It has about 15,000 members of high profile people in Nigeria. Muson Centre – meaning Musical Society of Nigeria. Is 10 minutes drive from the hotel and most musical concert are staged at the Centre. Bar Beach – is located 5km drive from the Hotel. This is the main beach on Victoria Island, Lagos. The Bar Beach is named historically after the sand bars on long the Lagos Coastline. Silverbird Calleria – Is situated on Victoria Island, a 10 minutes drive from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Shoprite – Is located along Lekki Expressway, is 20 minutes from Southern Sun Ikoyi. Eleko Beach – Is about 45minutes drive along the Lekki-Epe Expressway. It is one the most popular among the beaches in Lagos. It is very busy during festive and public holidays.Language *English and three (3) other major Nigerian Languages –Yoruba, Igbo and HausaCurrency Naira(Local)Credit Card Visa and Master CardsElectricity 220vTime Zone GMT-1Climate Tropical Climate all year round with temperature of 25c and 40c.Major Airlines South African Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Egypt Air, Kenya Airways, Delta Airlines, Arik Air, Turkish AirRates are Inclusive of:  Full Buffet Breakfast 10% Service charge Other Added Values are:  Wifi/Internet Service Two bottled water in Room Daily Gym, Sauna and Steam Swimming Pool Free Car Parking ... more   less 
Number of rooms
195

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer