We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dar Gabriel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Bab Souk | Medina, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Offers & Announcements
Best breakfast in town!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Gabriel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    40
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
49
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Broome, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We ended up at Dar Gabriel after a recommendation from Casa Perleta, which was full. Well proportioned rooms with essentials around the usual courtyard with lots of plants and rugs. Typical CC riad style. Nice rooftop lounge area with views over the village and mountains and lots of different positions to escape the sun no matter the the time of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

it was an amazing trip to chefchaoun we had really fun we were well acomodating by dar gabriel's stuff we felt at home a very calm, clean house special thanks to soufiane and hamza they were very kind they treat us as members of their family i hope u best of luck rajae essaouira

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dargabriel, Owner at Dar Gabriel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hello Muchas gracias for your repuesta, hasta la proxima. Un saludo Penelope More 

portland oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel as part of our 15 day trek through Morocco. I did extensive research through Trip Advisor and felt like this Guest House was the best for us. We were very unsatisfied with how things worked once we actually arrived. I will outline our experience beginning with the pros; - Booking communication was great. We booked 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dargabriel, Owner at Dar Gabriel, responded to this review

Dear Madam I am sorry, I thought I had sent you directions, though they are on our web site, I will check again that they are still on there. Plumbing is always a challenge in the hotel, and I am glad we had shower fixed so quickly. The ladies - we waited for them until 1.00 am. It was the... More 

Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked two nights at this establishment, at my arrival, I learned that my booking is not effective, Quickly the manager, very rude, did insult me, he almost hit me, I was scared, I quickly flushed, I filed a complaint with the police, I think it was useless, I call the owner, and I inform him of what happened, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Casablanca, Morocco
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After making a phone booking 2 days earlier, we got a nasty surprise when we wanted to make sure that our room was still available. We phoned Dar Gabriel on the way to Chefchaouen to be greeted by someone unwilling to help or tell us why our booking was not taken into consideration! He just put the phone down shouting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dargabriel, Owner at Dar Gabriel, responded to this review

Dear Sir We were unable to accommodate you unfortunately, we do not take telephone bookings without confirming on our booking system. I am sure your reaction was perhaps of frustration at not having two nights accommodation booked on the busiest weekend of the year. Greetings Penelope More 

Boise, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

The two gentlemen who operate Dar Gabriel, Mustafa and Soufiane were outstanding. Their help started two week before we left Idaho. The arranged transportation from the ferry at Tangier to Chefchaouen. They also prearranged a day hike in the mountains. Once in residences at the hotel, their attention to detail was outstanding. For example, I had not converted any money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dargabriel, Owner at Dar Gabriel, responded to this review

Apologies for the late reply, and thank you for the encouragement, we hope to see you again. Penelope More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

A nice little dar with good location. The friendly and very serviceminded staff, Mustafa and Soufiane, takes really good care of you - good breakfasts, lots of suggestions on what to see, eat and do in Chefchauen. /Camilla

Was this review helpful? Yes
dargabriel, Owner at Dar Gabriel, responded to this review

Thank you so miuch for your review, we wish you a good onward journey, and would love to see you again. Kind regards Penelope More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

A wonderful riad, beautifully decorated and couldn't have been a better location. Inside the medina walls but easy to find and we had secure parking for our camper nearby. We were unlucky with cold wet weather and it was chilly inside but the warmth of Soufiane and Mustafa more than made up for it. The wood burner was lit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dargabriel, Owner at Dar Gabriel, responded to this review

Hello - I remember you booking, and am glad it worked out with having the kids in the room next door, Berri and Hboba are a good combination. Soufiane and Mustafa really love to host, and they are perfect, warm and informed, do come back and stay, you are more than welcome. Penelope More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Travelled from Fez to Chefchaouen with my boyfriend and we spent one night in this beautiful town at Dar Gabriel. Soufiane met us upon arrival and was absolutely lovely. He served us mint tea and plied us with delicious dates as he could tell we were hungry after the journey. He showed us two rooms and allowed us to pick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dargabriel, Owner at Dar Gabriel, responded to this review

Hello, lovely review, really appreciated. We are happy you felt at home, and hope you will come back one day, let us know if you are a returning guest, and we will make sure there are some fresh dates waiting for you! Penelope More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We were 8 of us and stayed for 2 night 2 weeks ago. Dar Garbiel's very handy location and beautiful interior. We were so happy to stayed Dar Garbriel. Firstly, two receptionist (Mustafa & Soufian) were very helpful, friendly and hard working. They were really nice during our stay. Our room was small but comfy. But there were few maintenance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dargabriel, Owner at Dar Gabriel, responded to this review

Hello Thanks for the review you have given us. The good news is we have brought over new shower heads and hoses, from Spain, so the plumbing in the area for all the rooms is improved. We are so happy to have our team there, it makes up for any little Moroccan domestic challenges we may come across, do hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities