We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ombak Inn Chalet

Coral Bay, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Ombak Inn Chalet
Professional photos
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    Write a Review

    65 reviews from our community

    Traveler rating
      15
      19
      13
      7
      11
    See reviews for
    2
    27
    5
    Business
    0
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      3 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      3 of 5 stars
    • Value
      3 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
    Date | Rating
    • Dutch first
    • English first
    • French first
    • German first
    • Italian first
    • Spanish first
    • Swedish first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (65)
    • Mar-May only
      (21)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (32)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (9)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (3)
    All months
    New York
    2 reviews
    19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

    We booked this place because it was one of the few places on the Perhentians that took internet bookings. Unfortunately we were not able to then cancel after we read the reviews about bedbugs and realized how crazy expensive this place is. We later learned that there is no shortage of places, even in the high season -- you just... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
    Contributor
    16 reviews 16 reviews
    12 hotel reviews
    8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

    We really enjoyed the location of the Ombak resort. We preferred the dining options on Coral beach and calm atmosphere with long beach a short 10minute walk away for sunbathing in the daytime and drinking in the evening. (especially the fire show!) We spent our first night in a non AC room on the upper floor. We did not enjoy... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Contributor
    13 reviews 13 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

    We had dinner a couple of times at Ombak. It was mostly good, but the BBQ fish was - like all other restaurants - too dry. The chicken chop was good, as was the fish and chips and the ice cream. Eat here for the extra three ringit and you'll be happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    zürich
    2 reviews
    1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

    I stayed at Ombak for 5 nights. I had the room called Barracuda, which is located just apposite the Ombak dive center. The room is spacious enough for two with a beautiful wooden bed, a TV and DVD player if you just feel like chilling out. Most important to me was the clean bathroom. The resort cannot change nature but... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Stockholm
    1 review
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

    We came to Ombak with no expectations, the only family room that was available that week, but ended up reallly enjoying our stay. Mainly because of the friendly and serviceminded staff and good location, good snorkling nearby golden sands beach and lighthouse, and ten minute easy walk to long beach. Cosy restaurant on the beach. One disturbing thing that they... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Reviewer
    5 reviews 5 reviews
    2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

    On recent trip my brother and I decided to go diving with our 3 sons. We picked Ombak due to the outstanding friendliness of the staff and the excellent condition of their, near new, equipment. Initially we had only planned to complete our Open Water course with these guys but our instructors, Nick and Gemma, made us feel so welcome... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Paris, France
    Contributor
    20 reviews 20 reviews
    6 hotel reviews
    5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

    Don't go there, rooms full of bedbugs!!!! Very expensive for what it is compared to the others hotels on perhentian! Old and broken furnitures, bad breakfast, lot of noise! You'll find better for the same price!

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    London, United Kingdom
    Contributor
    11 reviews 11 reviews
    5 hotel reviews
    15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

    This is the worst place I have ever stayed overall. It is not the least clean and it did have fairly new looking rooms but the overall experience was horrendous. They have bed bugs. The staff are the surliest people I have ever come across, they act like the existence of the human race causes them pain. If they hate... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    2 reviews
    1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

    Paid for 6 nights a t a discounted rate. Was told that I could extend at the same discounted rate, however was rudely told no, now management says must pay full rate without even so much as an apology. Bad business sense, one would think if they no longer with to discount rooms for extended stay, you would do this... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Ombak_Resort, Manager at Ombak Inn Chalet, responded to this review

    Hi Seth, In our policy there is no discounted rate for long stay. We only allow the discounted rate when we do the promotion. During your stay, the 7th night is fall under peak season in our annual calender, that is why the price is slightly higher. And as you choose to have a holiday on an island that is... More 

    Aberdeen, United Kingdom
    Contributor
    11 reviews 11 reviews
    5 hotel reviews
    9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

    We came on purpose to dive here in Perhentian. Overall - we would definitely recommend you to stay here. Location: The beach is nothing like Long Beach, but we were diving during the days so we didn't really get a chance to sun bathed and lie back. Dive center: Amazing service. They have the dives on the board so you... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Ombak_Resort, Manager at Ombak Inn Chalet, responded to this review

    Hi Hazleen, Thank you for your reviews and hope you enjoy during your stay... hope to see you again... ;-) More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
    Owners: What's your side of the story?
    Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
    Manage your listing

    Been to Ombak Inn Chalet? Share your experiences!

    Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

    Additional Information about Ombak Inn Chalet

    Address: Coral Bay, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia
    Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
    Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
    Number of rooms: 20
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ombak Inn Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

    56 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (56)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (17)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (6)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (11)
    Viewed
    Dining (4)
    Viewed
    View from room (1)
    Viewed
    Other (17)
    Hotels you might also like...
    Check In Check Out
    Price Your Stay

    Amenities

    Highlights
    • Beach
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Breakfast
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    About the property
    • Beach
    Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Family Rooms
    In your room
    • Air Conditioning
    Internet
    • Free Internet
    • Public Wifi
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    Services
    • Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
    • Free Breakfast
    • Laundry Service
    Official Description (provided by the hotel)
    Clean, brand new furniture, 24 hour electricity, Cozy and new place. ... more   less 
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Questions & Answers

    Questions? Get answers from Ombak Inn Chalet staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    Hotels around Pulau Perhentian Kecil

    Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
    Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort 4.0 out of 5, 668 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 1, 2015
    Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
    Ombak Resort Perhentian Island 3.0 out of 5, 15 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 28, 2015
    Cocohut Chalets
    Cocohut Chalets 3.5 out of 5, 58 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 27, 2015
    Coral View Island Resort
    Coral View Island Resort 3.5 out of 5, 412 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 27, 2015
    Suhaila Palace
    Suhaila Palace 3.5 out of 5, 44 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 27, 2015
    The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
    The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort 4.0 out of 5, 3 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 27, 2015
    New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
    New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets 3.0 out of 5, 214 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 26, 2015
    D'Lagoon
    D'Lagoon 3.5 out of 5, 110 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 25, 2015
    Mohsin Chalets
    Mohsin Chalets 3.0 out of 5, 72 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 24, 2015
    Perhentian Island Resort
    Perhentian Island Resort 3.0 out of 5, 495 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 24, 2015
    Senja Bay Resort
    Senja Bay Resort 3.0 out of 5, 230 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015
    Shari-La Island Resort
    Shari-La Island Resort 3.5 out of 5, 297 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 16, 2015
    D'Ayumni House
    D'Ayumni House 3.5 out of 5, 51 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 19, 2015
    Bintang View Chalet and Restaurant
    Bintang View Chalet and Restaurant 3.5 out of 5, 92 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 28, 2014
    Lemongrass Chalets & Restaurant
    Lemongrass Chalets & Restaurant 3.5 out of 5, 27 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 8, 2014