We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Bay, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Ombak Inn Chalet
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ombak Inn Chalet to your Saves list
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014
Katy G Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
2
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
New York
2 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We booked this place because it was one of the few places on the Perhentians that took internet bookings. Unfortunately we were not able to then cancel after we read the reviews about bedbugs and realized how crazy expensive this place is. We later learned that there is no shortage of places, even in the high season -- you just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We really enjoyed the location of the Ombak resort. We preferred the dining options on Coral beach and calm atmosphere with long beach a short 10minute walk away for sunbathing in the daytime and drinking in the evening. (especially the fire show!) We spent our first night in a non AC room on the upper floor. We did not enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had dinner a couple of times at Ombak. It was mostly good, but the BBQ fish was - like all other restaurants - too dry. The chicken chop was good, as was the fish and chips and the ice cream. Eat here for the extra three ringit and you'll be happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
zürich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed at Ombak for 5 nights. I had the room called Barracuda, which is located just apposite the Ombak dive center. The room is spacious enough for two with a beautiful wooden bed, a TV and DVD player if you just feel like chilling out. Most important to me was the clean bathroom. The resort cannot change nature but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We came to Ombak with no expectations, the only family room that was available that week, but ended up reallly enjoying our stay. Mainly because of the friendly and serviceminded staff and good location, good snorkling nearby golden sands beach and lighthouse, and ten minute easy walk to long beach. Cosy restaurant on the beach. One disturbing thing that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

On recent trip my brother and I decided to go diving with our 3 sons. We picked Ombak due to the outstanding friendliness of the staff and the excellent condition of their, near new, equipment. Initially we had only planned to complete our Open Water course with these guys but our instructors, Nick and Gemma, made us feel so welcome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Don't go there, rooms full of bedbugs!!!! Very expensive for what it is compared to the others hotels on perhentian! Old and broken furnitures, bad breakfast, lot of noise! You'll find better for the same price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst place I have ever stayed overall. It is not the least clean and it did have fairly new looking rooms but the overall experience was horrendous. They have bed bugs. The staff are the surliest people I have ever come across, they act like the existence of the human race causes them pain. If they hate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Paid for 6 nights a t a discounted rate. Was told that I could extend at the same discounted rate, however was rudely told no, now management says must pay full rate without even so much as an apology. Bad business sense, one would think if they no longer with to discount rooms for extended stay, you would do this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ombak_Resort, Manager at Ombak Inn Chalet, responded to this review

Hi Seth, In our policy there is no discounted rate for long stay. We only allow the discounted rate when we do the promotion. During your stay, the 7th night is fall under peak season in our annual calender, that is why the price is slightly higher. And as you choose to have a holiday on an island that is... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We came on purpose to dive here in Perhentian. Overall - we would definitely recommend you to stay here. Location: The beach is nothing like Long Beach, but we were diving during the days so we didn't really get a chance to sun bathed and lie back. Dive center: Amazing service. They have the dives on the board so you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ombak_Resort, Manager at Ombak Inn Chalet, responded to this review

Hi Hazleen, Thank you for your reviews and hope you enjoy during your stay... hope to see you again... ;-) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ombak Inn Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ombak Inn Chalet

Address: Coral Bay, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ombak Inn Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay