We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Bay, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ombak Inn Chalet to your Saves list
Ombak Inn Chalet
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
52%
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (54)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On recent trip my brother and I decided to go diving with our 3 sons. We picked Ombak due to the outstanding friendliness of the staff and the excellent condition of their, near new, equipment. Initially we had only planned to complete our Open Water course with these guys but our instructors, Nick and Gemma, made us feel so welcome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't go there, rooms full of bedbugs!!!! Very expensive for what it is compared to the others hotels on perhentian! Old and broken furnitures, bad breakfast, lot of noise! You'll find better for the same price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst place I have ever stayed overall. It is not the least clean and it did have fairly new looking rooms but the overall experience was horrendous. They have bed bugs. The staff are the surliest people I have ever come across, they act like the existence of the human race causes them pain. If they hate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Paid for 6 nights a t a discounted rate. Was told that I could extend at the same discounted rate, however was rudely told no, now management says must pay full rate without even so much as an apology. Bad business sense, one would think if they no longer with to discount rooms for extended stay, you would do this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ombak_Resort, Manager at Ombak Inn Chalet, responded to this review

Hi Seth, In our policy there is no discounted rate for long stay. We only allow the discounted rate when we do the promotion. During your stay, the 7th night is fall under peak season in our annual calender, that is why the price is slightly higher. And as you choose to have a holiday on an island that is... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We came on purpose to dive here in Perhentian. Overall - we would definitely recommend you to stay here. Location: The beach is nothing like Long Beach, but we were diving during the days so we didn't really get a chance to sun bathed and lie back. Dive center: Amazing service. They have the dives on the board so you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ombak_Resort, Manager at Ombak Inn Chalet, responded to this review

Hi Hazleen, Thank you for your reviews and hope you enjoy during your stay... hope to see you again... ;-) More

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

When you consider the cost of this place the facilities are excellent. The rooms are basic but have all the facilities required including en-suite bathrooms. There was no AC in our room however the fan provided more than enough cooling. The restaurant is excellent with great food at fantastic prices, giving you the chance to try local cuisine, freshly caught... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ombak_Resort, Manager at Ombak Inn Chalet, responded to this review

Hi Wazza, We are glad to hear that you satisfied with the room you stayed. Thank you also for your compliments to the foods served at Ombak Cafe. Hope you enjoy during your stay at Ombak Resort and feels entertained with our open air cinema by the beach.. Please come back and travel safe! More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Thanks to the reviews on tripadvisor I chose to visit the Ombak resort which really had everything I was looking for: clean and nice rooms with new and clean bathrooms, mosquito nets, top restaurant with evening entertainment (movies), great dive center and team! Really enjoyed my stay. There are only two little areas for improvement: mosquito net in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ombak_Resort, Manager at Ombak Inn Chalet, responded to this review

Hi Carina, Glad that you happy with our hospitality and enjoy the foods served and our open air cinema by the beach. The movie we play is follow the sequence ;) New mosquito net has arrived... and we will change the one that has hole. Thank you for your good review and have a safe trip! More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Highly recommended. Rooms are comfortable and bathrooms are clean. Good friendly staffs. A very nice place to relax and to do activities like snorkelling and diving, or just relaxing. Food was fantastic. Tasted the red tomyam. It was really superb. Wish to go there again. Just don't forget to bring mosquito patches for an extra restful night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ombak_Resort, Manager at Ombak Inn Chalet, responded to this review

Hi Ayulexa, Thank you for your positive review about Ombak. We are happy to hear that you comfortable with the accommodation and satisfied with foods you had at Ombak Cafe. Plan to come here again!! More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed in fan room which they termed as Wrasse room. Relatively clean, everything you need is there, and staff are generally courteous and try to meet your requests. Everyone here is laid back and relaxed though, and in such an environment, they should be too I guess. For such a basic room it should be much less than RM200, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Most importantly, This chalet provides a 24hr electricity. The rooms is quite cozy compared to sharila resort. Selective rooms, an advice, go for the air condiotioned rooms. RM150nett per night (walk-in). The room, specially the bathroom was a satisfaction, very clean and spacious. Im so glad that my husband enjoyed his stay as he is kinda fussy and very particullar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ombak Inn Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ombak Inn Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ombak Inn Chalet

Address: Coral Bay, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ombak Inn Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clean, brand new furniture, 24 hour electricity, Cozy and new place. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer