We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Sandakan hotels

Sepilok Jungle Resort

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sepilok Jungle Resort to your Saves list
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Sandakan
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
flanbers Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
  • Reviews (335)
  • Photos (180)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (56)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    118
    92
    40
    28
See reviews for
60
157
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Really enjoyed my second trip to Sepilok and Sepilok Jungle Resort. I last visited in January 2013 and I have really noticed improvements since then - notably the staff. Happy, smiley and attentive, especially in the restaurant. The reception staff are fantastic and helped to book a transfer back to the airport. I stayed as a backpacker last time in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The grounds are simply gorgeous, and within walking distance to the Orang Utan and Sun Bear Rehab centers as well as the Rainforest Conservation Center. The staff are friendly and helpful, and because their sister property is the Bilit Rainforest Lodge (or something akin to that) it was very easy to arrange a visit to the Kinabatangan River. My room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear lcf805, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We will inform our staff and I am sure they will be delighted and it will motivate them to serve and work harder. Our sister lodge is called Bilit Adventure Lodge located at Kinabatangan River. Best to go for... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the budget rooms here. The room was very simple but clean and the shower was hot (what more do you need?) The place is massive and pretty much backs on to the sunbears and orang utan rehabilitation centres (an orang utan walked through the place about half an hour before we turned up!) so it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nos21, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. The fan room has just been renovated and currently we are doing the reception area. As we have set aside 20 acres of land for the wildlife in the area, it is not surprising to see wildlife in the... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my partner stayed here while visiting Borneo. We choose to stay here because its only 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehab Center. The place is wonderful but is very much tired and a bit runs down. We stayed at the Fan room and the room was renovated. The staff was also friendly and helpful at all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear babyboy1972, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Playing mah-jong is the only entertainment the staff has here in the jungle. Only staff who are not working is allowed to play at the corner - max 4 person per session. Since we have received a complain from you, we will review this entertainment as we value our customer... More

Kota Belud, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently went there for my elective with a few of my friends at Sepilok Rehab Centre and I chose to stay here because it was close (literally 5min walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehab Centre) and for the price. We were shocked at first to find out that our room had one fan only and a small one too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear zenmax, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Being a local Malaysian should understand that our weather is very hot and humid. Usually a room will be given a fan. We do not see the need of putting multiple fan in a standard size room. We will inform our staff about your compliments. However, we thank you for your... More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We highly recommend staying at the Sepilok Jungle Resort if you want to be within walking distance to the Sepilok Urang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. There is another hotel near the centre but it was pricier than the Sepilok Jungle Resort. The village of Sepilok is just a few minutes by taxi from the Sandakan airport (about 40 MYR). Imelda and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear ReneTeresa, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and our sister lodge, Bilit Adventure Lodge at Kinabatangan River. We are specially delighted that you are enjoying and find our food very delicious. I have forwarded your comments to all the staff and it has motivated them... More

Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have marked this review as a 5 because of what it cost us and what we received. The room was spotlessly clean and the aircon worked well. We stayed 3 nights and ate all our meals in the banana café. The breakfast was ok, not great but perfectly edible. The lunch and dinners were really good. We ate all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear marknlou, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you loved the local food that we served. Orang Utan coming to the resort is quite common as we are sharing the same forest with Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. We will let our staff know about your... More

Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Spent 2 nights here with my husband. The resort is just 10min away from orang utans and sun bear, so great location. the resort is nice, bit run down, but food in the restaurant is fresh and good. go for the prawns that are big and juicy and amazing Sabah vegetable which you cannot get outside Sabah. During our breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear minna_s_12, Thank for choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with especially the food. We will inform kitchen and I am sure it will motivates them to work harder. Orang Utan visit to the resort is not unusual as our land is just to the sepilok orang utan rehabilitation centre. They come... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel is very much "tired" looking, must have been a wonderful place to stay a few years ago but now a bit run down. Staff helpful when TV not on, breakfast disappointing and service for evening meals very slow but food good once it arrived. Room clean and comfortable. very convenient for the Orang-utans Rehabilitation centre and Rainforest Discovery.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear marian_kuyper, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We value your feedback and it is because of such feedback that we are doing renovation to the resort. At the moment, we are doing the Banana Café and the 4 sharing fan room. Once that is done, we will be doing other parts of the resort. Please give us time.... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here for two nights on either side of rainforest trip. The place could do with an upgrade, however it is good value for the price. The second time we stayed there the air-conditioning in the room wasn't too good. The rooms are clean and comfortable, they have a kettle and a tv. The restaurant is basic but the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Laspig, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us especially the food. We will inform the kitchen and I am sure they will be happy to hear. Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you again in the future. Johnny More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sepilok Jungle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (178)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer