We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sepilok Jungle Resort

Hotel website
Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sepilok Jungle Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    162
    138
    56
    38
See reviews for
81
211
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (463)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Portugalete, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We chose the deluxe room (not the cheapest room) and I was disappointed. The room was spacious and clean, but it was old and poorly iluminated. The bathroom was even older, and the corridors of the building had known better times. However, the gardens were nice, well mantained and beautiful, with amazing walk through wooden bridges connecting different buildings of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
550 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the main budget option in the area and it's decent - check out the pool and even small gym. Breakfast is included which is basic but good enough for the price you pay for the room. We tried their dinner which was nice but slightly over priced to say the same plate in the cafe by the Orang... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As part of the 10 day Trip A Deal Borneo Adventure we stayed 3 nights at this resort. When booking the tour we prepaid additional money for a room upgrade. We were extremely disappointed with the room. Only one power point worked and we had to get on hands and knees to boil the kettle and charge batteries, etc. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peter J, Thanks for staying with us. Actually the superior was renovated last year and that is why it looks so much nicer and better than the deluxe room that you have chosen to upgrade. We will renovate those deluxe room after we are have finished renovating the restaurant currently. We are glad that you have enjoyed the friendly... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night In the 4 bed dorm room with a fan, more expensive than I normally pay whilst backpacking but the surroundings of the hotel is beautiful and free use of the pool is perfect! The Pillows in the room are great, however the showers are awful! Clean but trying to get water out the shower head... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear becw647, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Johnny More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked to stay here in a deluxe room with air con for three nights. I previously worked at Sepilok for three months, 7 years ago... and stayed at SJR then, as a backpacker on a budget, so thought I knew what to expect. However, in the last 7 years ABSOLUTELY NO renovations have been made to what was then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear BP1704, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. To say that we have improved anything at all since the last 7 years is totally not true. At least we have a swimming pool, children pool and Jacuzzi since then and we have enlarge our restaurant area, renovated the superior room, std fan room and the latest is the std... More 

Brisbane Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at SJR for two nights. The rooms while small were airconditioned and comfortable enough although the buildings and facilities are old and could do with some renovation. The shower was hot but the water pressure very low. The food served at the restaurant was ok, but nothing flash. In room WiFi was free but slow and sporadic (it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pabsc, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are sorry about the Wi Fi but we cannot do much about it as it is the responsibility of the telecommunication company. They are already doing their best to give us Wi Fi and they have informed us that it is not going to be stable but we feel... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sepilok Nature Lodge was pure luxury after two nights in a river lodge. As soon as we walked in we were excited. The rooms were luxurious and very well maintained. We especially appreciated the very efficient air conditioning and the big fluffy pillows. We loved sitting on our deck and reading under the shade of the trees and sleeping in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear globetrotter3371, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serve you again in the future. Johnny More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I thought this was quite a nice facility. Don't expect 5 star. Its a bit out of the way but perfect if looking for somewhere to stay to specifically visit the Orang utan rehabilitation centre, 5 mins walk away. Picturesque jungle style facility. They have separate huts that are spacious and air conditioned. Some with a direct outlook onto a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear BeamMeUp_Melb, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to serve you again in the future. Johnny More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Sepilok experience was a little bit disappointing. And the hotel didn't help to improve it. The breakfast and food was ok, wifi very slow and not working sometimes. The rooms were so old they absolutely need a refresh, it's like being in Shining movie... The staff was nice, helped us with the transfer back to the airport. A lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valescuredo, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We have just completed in upgrading of our Std Air Cond and will work on other parts of the resort. We are in the jungle and the Wi Fi is slower than in town. People usually stay with us to enjoy nature and most of them do not want to play... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

I don't understand the bad reviews, if you want a 5 star resort go and stay in one. This is basic comfortable and friendly I would have happily stayed longer You are living in the middle of the rain forest. The rooms are air conditioned and comfortable, we all slept well. The food is simple tasty and safe, not one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
johnnylim, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review

Dear Martin W, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Sometimes we hope to receive more guests like you who understand the concept that we are trying to achieve in the jungle. However, many times we have failed because most guests prefer luxury accommodation when they stay with us. I will pass your compliment to the staff and I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

223 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (220)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel
Sabah Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
11.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
11.6 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 30 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay