We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Sandakan hotels

BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot E-1-G, Lorong Letat 3, Bandar Letat Jaya, Mile 4, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com Asiatravel.com
and 8 more sites!
51%
Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Sandakan
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013
yuriyaha Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
1
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Had our late breakfast at LJ's grill, order for fresh apple juice, ribena, nasi goreng & fried hor fun...i have to wait for an hour for my breakfast...the food was cold..taste and presentation not really good for hotel food..more dissapointed when the apple juice was actually chilled & not freshly squeeze. But on the menu they put "fresh juices" overall,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is the second time that I've been here within 2 months. Nothing much has changed. The bed, the room ambience is undeniably comfortable after a long day. But, it doesn't mean anything when you consider the ridiculous noise coming from the club downstairs. With the whole "hotel" arrangement resembling something like your school hostel, the noise really travels. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Susan M, Room Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mohd R First of all our team at BEST WESTERN Sandakan would like to thank you for feedback and we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you have encountered during your stay with us. As to the bar, we had viewed this matter seriously and since the bar has been operated by a... More

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My room was nice and spacious, my group have been treated like VIP. Thanks for the hospitality especially Mr Mohammad the sales and marketing manager of best western. He is such a very professional and always fulfill my group requests. Will come back to this hotel on November.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the cheapest room and even then it was spacious and clean. If you are a Malaysian government servant, bring your work tag along and get a big discount on you room rate. Check in and check out was swift and the staff were friendly. They also provided airport transfer for RM25/room. Didn't have a huge selection for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is my first time I'm knowing there was such a lady who never show as professional to her customer. She is never give proper respect and talk in manner to us when we query on restaurant stuff. Our business to them seems like not important and they not appreciate to deal with us. This kind of service is horrible... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DrEdwin, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review

Hi There Max H, First and foremost thank you for your stays in our Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence. We are sorry on the late reply to your review as we are in the mist of re-organizing our administration. On behalf of Best Western Sandakan Hotel I would like to apologize to you on your unpleasant experience in the... More

Henty Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is in a light industrial area, so we expected something quiet after 5 noisy days in a Kota Kinabalu hotel. The staff were great, the room was really spacious and clean. The rooms are around an interior 1st floor balcony, accessed from an arcade which has no doors so the public can freely walk up the interior stairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DrEdwin, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review

Hi Jim R, Firstly we thank you for your stay in Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence. Thank you for your precious review in our properties, as your opinion and review are important for us to further improve ourselves. We are truly sorry on your poor quality of sleep, this has been a problem to us as well. As our... More

Albury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great big room, very clean. The ridiculously loud karaoke that even drowned out the tv in our room, was truely horrible. 2 nights in a row, sat & sun. They offer a free shuttle into the city centre which is handy. Staff were ok. Overall, would not reccomend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DrEdwin, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review

Hi There Clam77, I would love to thank you for your stays in Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence. On behalf of the management i would like to apologize to your poor quality of sleep during your stay in our hotel. The karaoke is owned by 3rd party which we have no control over their operations. However we had from... More

malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is an intergral part of the new commercial and entertainment area and therefore many shops are not opened yet. We booked a van which we collected from the airport and it only took us 10 minutes to reach the hotel. This hotel was not my first preference but I had to go along with my group of friends.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Been staying here for 3 days 2 night. We book for suit with 2 rooms. The design is so modern and I like it so much. However, get a bit disappointed for the hotel which not really function well althought we has call for the housekeeping for the room maintanence. The breakfast is just simple and don expect much on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for three night's,we were offered a lovely cool drink as we checked in. Our air con was not working & we were transfered to a beautiful suite, with a queen size bed & lovely soft pillows.Breakfast was included in the very cheap price & there was a very good selection.The area the hotel is in is all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LloydGan, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review

Dear 18Marion, First and foremost, on behalf of the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback. We have noted your feedback on the air conditioning system, and will look into the matter but hope that your requests was handled in a prompt manner. We have also scheduled air cond... More

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence

Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence Sabah, Malaysia
Address: Lot E-1-G, Lorong Letat 3, Bandar Letat Jaya, Mile 4, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best WESTERN Sandakan Hotel and residence is now affiliated to RCI, THE only RCI hotel in Sabah. We have added 32 New hotel rooms and now we have a total of 80 rooms. We have mine 2 Bedrooms family apartment , 1 handicap Room, 1 honeymoon suite and 69 standard, superior and deluxe rooms.We have a new banquet hall capacity for 600 pax Fully air condition., suitable for marriage function, annual dinner, meetings , concert etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Tingo, Venere, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.