We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Lot 126, End of Jalan Dua, Harbour Square 14 | opposite Sandakan Central Market, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly Sunset Harbour Botik Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
Add Photo

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    71
    39
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
41
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fine price, good location, clean room. Loby occupied by group of local teenagers hard to find who is on duty at the desk. They were friendly, fun to talk with but absolutely unuseful for ... anything. Any serious question started "you" - "no, you" - "no, you" game. Trying to get info guided tours I scared the girl (being unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I had a short but pleasant stay at this place. I really felt taken care of and the staff always did their best to help me with my questions and requests. It's not the cleanest but if this is your price class you're probably used to it. I recommend a stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

The location is just convenient and nice to walk around the town area. The room is simple with Wi Fi. However, it would be better if thicker blanket provided. Customer service should be improved like provide useful info without calculate too much on the price would be good and show the friendliness to tourists.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The location of this hostel is nice actually, but..cleanliness of the room is not okay, Dirty Bed Sheet with hair, smelly.. and the door's lock is almost broken. Overall, you could get more standard hotel with the price that you pay in Sea View backpacker.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Nido, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Perhaps I had too high expectations from the other reviews, but the problems started the moment I got there. After a long journey I was looking forward to a nice hot shower, but the water wasn't working. The receptionist kept having to run downstairs to reset something. Then I didn't appreciate being bombarded by the owner who was trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nabistul, Public Relations Manager at Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Jessy, thank you for your review. We are sorry for your incredibly negative experiences. According to our check-in records we received no guest with name "Jessy" and only men from The Philippines during November. Please provide us the name and country you used in the check-in so that we can figure out what happened during your stay. Our... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Hostel was clean and very comfortable. Conpetitive price with welcome drink and snack as well as complimentry breakfast of tea and pancakes made our stay very enjoyable. Staff very kind and welcoming. Sangat bagus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This hostel was ok. It was very close to the see, you could actually see it from the window. It wasn't very clean, but we still thought it was ok. The road outside our window was very busy with car alarms, traffic jam and food market 24/7. Despite that I could recommend this place for a couple of days. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Sandakan is quaint and has some really fabulous wildlife sanctuaries within 15 to 30 minutes of the town center. We loved our experiences with Orangutans at Sepilok and the Proboscus and stunning Silver Leaf monkeys at Labuk, so much so we went back again during our brief 4 night stay. However, the Seaview Sandakan budget and backpackers would not rate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nabistul, Owner at Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We are sorry that our low-cost budget establishment did not meet your expectations. To avoid future disappointments, we have added information regarding the room size on our website and booking service. We are also figuring out how to solve the issues with shared bathrooms and showers. Thank you for your patronage and we wish... More 

Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

During our world trip we were in Sandakan last March. We are still not forgetting to write a review about the Lady Nabistul and her great place “Sea View Sandakan Hostel”. Although we didn't stay overnight here, we spent about two weeks at her place. When we were there we were invited by Lady Nabistul to go for a firefly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at Seaview for a week and I can honestly say that I have never felt more at home in hotel than I did here! There is a wonderful cafe on the top floor which serves an incredible pumpkin curry and you even get free syrup pancakes for breakfast! Laundry is also free if you stay for 3 nights.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay