We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Lot 126, End of Jalan Dua, Harbour Square 14 | opposite Sandakan Central Market, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly Sunset Harbour Botik Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    42
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
43
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Adinkerke, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We did not stay at the backpacker hotel, but we did book the Kinabatangan river cruise with them. We arranged the tour by mail with Nabistul, who was very helpful and swiftly answered our questions. The price was very much ok compared to tours offered by other operators. On our arrival Nabistul unfortunately was not present. We only had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

First and foremost, our expectations were not high. For the very low price, we were expecting a really cheap, small and potentially grubby backpacker style accommodation. We're grubby backpackers ourselves, so this would have been fine, but additional to being all of the above, there were no towels or toilet paper and a non-functional cafe. The air con for each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Only stayed one night in the 'Den' dorm, how cool does that sound! Wasn't so cool, quite hot actually. Good location and pancakes for breakfast were a treat. Coffee game was not on point (lukewarm) and questionable sheet cleanliness but again you could do a lot worse than staying at the sea view - sea view probably would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

This backpackers hostel is just what you need if you are on a short trip and on a budget. It is well located and all amenities within walking distance of hostel. Concierge/ reception 24/7 with a nice lounge area. I stayed in the private room with en suite bathroom, which was simple but nice and general atmosphere is very pleasant.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Fine price, good location, clean room. Loby occupied by group of local teenagers hard to find who is on duty at the desk. They were friendly, fun to talk with but absolutely unuseful for ... anything. Any serious question started "you" - "no, you" - "no, you" game. Trying to get info guided tours I scared the girl (being unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

I had a short but pleasant stay at this place. I really felt taken care of and the staff always did their best to help me with my questions and requests. It's not the cleanest but if this is your price class you're probably used to it. I recommend a stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

The location is just convenient and nice to walk around the town area. The room is simple with Wi Fi. However, it would be better if thicker blanket provided. Customer service should be improved like provide useful info without calculate too much on the price would be good and show the friendliness to tourists.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The location of this hostel is nice actually, but..cleanliness of the room is not okay, Dirty Bed Sheet with hair, smelly.. and the door's lock is almost broken. Overall, you could get more standard hotel with the price that you pay in Sea View backpacker.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Nido, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Perhaps I had too high expectations from the other reviews, but the problems started the moment I got there. After a long journey I was looking forward to a nice hot shower, but the water wasn't working. The receptionist kept having to run downstairs to reset something. Then I didn't appreciate being bombarded by the owner who was trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nabistul, Public Relations Manager at Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Jessy, thank you for your review. We are sorry for your incredibly negative experiences. According to our check-in records we received no guest with name "Jessy" and only men from The Philippines during November. Please provide us the name and country you used in the check-in so that we can figure out what happened during your stay. Our... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Hostel was clean and very comfortable. Conpetitive price with welcome drink and snack as well as complimentry breakfast of tea and pancakes made our stay very enjoyable. Staff very kind and welcoming. Sangat bagus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah
0.3 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 30 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#10 of 30 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel
Sabah Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay