We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Hotel deals
KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Add Your Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    360
    141
    59
    50
See reviews for
421
190
14
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (901)
  • Mar-May only
    (201)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (234)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (215)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (251)
All months
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose the Thistle as it had been recommended to us for a weekend get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. This it did. Not too far from KL was this great looking resort nice pools and impressive set up. The room was spacious, however there were ants in the room, as they were not in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Last weekend we went to Thistle Port Dickson for a get-away weekend to celebrate hubby's birthday... Unfortunately the hotel was experiencing power disruption on & off, so it really disturbed our mood on this special day for us. Anyway, the hotel manager was thoughtful and have arranged the free hi-tea and buffet dinner for us. But the message was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear AhNan, Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. Please accept our apologies for letting you down badly on the occasion of your recent stay with us. We fully acknowledge that our performance has not been satisfactory and we did not lift up to our promise in providing a seamless experience. We have since discussed the... More 

Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is our third time here. I should emphasize that the disappointment is due to the poor service provided at the front desk during check-in. You should really learn your "Customer Care". We were there on 22/03/14, a very nice weather Sunday. We were travelling with other family members so we booked 2 rooms. We reached around 1:30pm and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear waiyeework, We would like to thank you for posting your review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort. Please accept our sincerest of apologies for the awful experience as this is certainly not what we wish for any of our guests. We fully acknowledge that we have failed and your review will be used in our team meetings to ensure that... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is my first time to stay at a 5 star hotel. So my thought it would be wonderful to celebrate an anniversary here even to splash more cash (RM500++) for a night. Let me tell ya. Cons - Dull room, old fashion, cheap curtains, no fridge, reception counter looks like public toilet style, no carpet in the room (323),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear azer8, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your points have been taken on board and we will work hard to improve them. At the very least, we are grateful that the pool staffs were helpful. While we understand that you... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I cannot believe that this hotel standards have gone to the dogs to say the very least. My stay there to unwind ended by me and my fly being wound up max. Power supply cut on the 5 th floor for hours and dark alleys with no back up light at all!!! The towels stink and the rooms dirty. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philip O, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear bellwise, Please accept our apologies for letting you down so badly on the recent occasion of your stay with us. We fully acknowledge that our performance has not been satisfactory and we failed to provide you and your family with an enjoyable and relaxing experience. We take your comments very seriously and the power failure is indeed one of... More 

KL
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have made a really huge mistake by picking this place as our doctor's association AGM was held here. .. FIRST MISTAKE IS TO TRUST TRIVAGO SITE and book the room through Hotelopia. ..sad to say this has to be some back lane operation I suspect. .. When i arrived there the hotel had no clue of my booking...The receptionist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philip O, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear gita73, We would like to sincerely apologise for failing terribly on the recent occasion of your stay with us. We acknowledge that we did not deliver what is required of us and your comments are certainly valid. We have since convened to an urgent meeting with the team on the issues that need addressing with a view to immediate... More 

Petaling jaya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The last review I gave Thistle PD was 2 years ago, then, it was a very good review. However, after last weekend, I felt very disappointed with the hotel. For a 5 star, no more welcome drinks, no clowns at reception for the kids ..okay check in was pretty fast. Room given was very worn down, the window seat had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philip O, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear slwh23PJ, We are grateful for your continued support but are obviously very disappointed that we have let you down so badly – please accept our sincerest apologies. Rest assured I have since reviewed the matters as highlighted in your above posting with the team and we will work hard to improve our performance. We anticipate that we will be... More 

Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am writing this review at 5am usince i cannot sleep in a room with no electricty. Since 2 days ago, the electricity to my room was frequently interrupted. All they give us is an apology letter. And today is worst since the electricity went out at 3am and 2 hrs has passed and nothing. My kids are both up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philip O, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear h0ndavtec, We would like to sincerely apologise for the terrible experience we put you and your family through and I know that this is yet again an apology but I wish to salvage as much as I can of any confidence that you may have left on our Resort. I understand that no amount of apology will remedy the... More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The worst hotel ever. NO AIRCON AND LIGHTS due to interruption of power by hotel staff. We had to sleep drenching in sweat on our last night. Not value for money plus the kiddie pool was so dirty. Don't waste your money staying in this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Philip O, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear Yanzai, Please accept our sincerest of apologies for the horrible experience you and your family have to endure during your recent stay with us. While we understand that you may be reluctant to return but should you decide otherwise, we would be grateful for an opportunity to serve you again in the future. If we can be of any... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having had many lovely weekend over 10 years at the Avillion in Port Dickson, for my last ever trip away before returning back to homeland for health reasons, i took my children with me to the Thistle. It costs RM600+ for a room, for two adults (myself and a teenager) plus one child, and the room was disappointingly basic, old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philip O, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear Myfanwysmum, Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am deeply disappointed to hear of your experience and for letting you and your family down so badly. We fully acknowledge that our performance was not satisfactory and to make matters worse this being your final stay in Malaysia, heading back home – please accept our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,236 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (698)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (140)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (184)
Viewed
Room/suite (109)
Viewed
Family/play areas (21)
Viewed
View from room (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (136)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (534)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Seaview King Room (48)
Viewed
Indigo Suite (104)
Viewed
Kids’ Wet Play Zone (22)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Premium Seaview Suite (75)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (54)
Viewed
Superior Garden View Twin (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question