We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Hotel deals
KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

967 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    299
    382
    156
    75
    55
See reviews for
455
205
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (967)
  • Mar-May only
    (240)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (262)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (215)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (250)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Thistle when we came to Port Dickson for a wedding and we were pleasantly surprised by this beautiful hotel. This hotel will make everyone in the family happy. The small infinity pool and the beach side were amazing for the whole family to enjoy. The spa was wonderful and I really enjoyed the massages. There are tennis... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was not expecting if the hotel was nice coz It was a last minute booking but i was surprised that its a great hotel/resort and its just an hour and a half drive from PJ. The lobby is huge and clean with friendly greetings from the staff. Our room was upgraded to a seaview at 3rd floor. The pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear MaeMei13, We are grateful to you for choosing to stay with us and for giving us your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and our facilities met your expectation. Your feedback has been shared with the team and we will ensure they get the reward they deserve. On the part of the buffet... More 

malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Parking-anywher and everywhere Hotel room- really need refurbishment, we book 2 rooms both rooms has missing cabinet doors, unclean glass, broken lamp shades, socket is not working, aircond temp cannot be control, lamp not working, lighting are very dim, broken marble tiles in shower.. Had poor tv reception eventhough hotel using satellite channel,we had the room facing aircond compressor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear cokataci, We would like to thank you for posting your review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort. Yes, parking is on a “first come, first serve basis”. We are sorry, we do not offer valet parking. Your feedback on the condition of the rooms, maintenance and facilities have all been taken on board and I will discuss them with the... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great pools for all ages, good food expect the risotto at the Italian place, stay away from that. Cocktails not very good, even a gin and tonic is flat. Rooms are a bit worn, but okay. The beach... again not very nice but okay. Service is good and friendly, but as most places in Malaysian, slow, and not understanding a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marlene K, We are grateful to you for choosing Thistle and for giving us your comments. While we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, please do accept our sincerest apologies on the shortcomings. Rest assured your comments will be reviewed at our Team Meetings with a view to immediate improvement. Yes, we do understand “a hungry... More 

3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, Nice view and huge swimming pool but the room and beach was quite disappointed. The room was old, not clean well and the bed was old as well.Suggestion to upgrade the room as its an 5 star hotel. The beach was dirty and not well maintenance. Will not go there for 2nd times except if some upgrading have need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jessie N, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We have taken on board your comments regarding the condition of your room and its cleanliness – please accept our apologies. Rest assured, I will review the shortcomings with the team with a view to immediate improvement where cleanliness is concerned with more time required on the... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is ok. The rooms are spacious and if you have ocean view, the sunset is breathtaking! The rooms are quite noisy from corridor as well as from outside. The cleaning service needs drastic improvement, no towels or water upon returning from the beach. Therefore definitely not a five star hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pieter D, Thank you for sharing with us your experience during your recent stay with us. While we are delighted to hear that the room met your expectation, we would like to apologies for the shortcomings as highlighted. Pool Towels are available at our ‘Towel Counter’ adjacent to the Swimming Pool and if we read correctly, the ‘water’ for... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If this resort was rate at 5 star, i would only give 3 star for this resort. May be my expectations too high. We enjoyed the facilities here so much. But what i really don't like was the room not so clean(toilet look dirty, lamp full of dust), and some lamp were out of lights(7out of 2). Old and molt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear MandyC86, We are very grateful to you for choosing to stay with us and for giving us your comments. While we are glad that you did enjoy the facilities here, please accept our apologies for the elements that have prompted your overall 3-Star rating of our Resort. Your feedback has been discussed with the team and we will work... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this after reading good reviews on the Internet. We were sorely disappointed. By Malaysian standards this hotel is not cheap. The hotel has a lot of potential to be a spectacular hotel but the poor maintenance over the years (it is actually only about 6 years old) means that many parts of the hotel is in states of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear ‘A TripAdvisor Member’, Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We would like to sincerely apologise for all the shortcomings during your recent stay with us. Our promise to each guest is to provide an enjoyable and relaxing experience and we acknowledge that we have failed to do so on this occasion. We take your... More 

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The bellboy was very friendly and the receptionist serving us was polite. However if you happen to walk past any other staff, don't expect a smile or greeting. Not what you expect from a self proclaimed 5* establishment. Rooms have bathroom amenities and deluxe rooms come with two queen beds combined so it looks huge. That's about the only positives.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear WillJay, We would like to thank you for posting your review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort. We are obviously disappointed that we have let you down quite badly on the recent occasion of your stay with us. We fully acknowledge that our performance has not been satisfactory and we will work hard to ensure that we improve our performance.... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to port Dickson for short gateway and choose Thistle port Dickson for a night stay .. Check in was super fast as check in by Front office manager Mr Kasavan, he so efficient and informatics. Went to room the toilet not flush and dirty and informed this to Mr Kasavan he immediately chance the room with nice view .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S Sivanesan S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review

Dear lee_cwong, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am delighted to hear of your experience during check-in. Kesavan and all staffs in general are very important to us. We will pass your comment to him and ensure that he gets the recognition for his dedication and hard work. Your point on the room needing maintenance... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,274 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (736)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (141)
Viewed
Room/suite (115)
Viewed
Family/play areas (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (194)
Viewed
View from room (48)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (146)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (534)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Seaview King Room (48)
Viewed
Indigo Suite (104)
Viewed
Kids’ Wet Play Zone (22)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Premium Seaview Suite (75)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (54)
Viewed
Superior Garden View Twin (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Dickson
9.4 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 35 in Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
5.5 mi away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#3 of 35 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
9.4 mi away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 35 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#6 of 35 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
9.3 mi away
Glory Beach Resort
Glory Beach Resort
#9 of 35 in Port Dickson
3.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
2.8 mi away
PRIMALAND Port Dickson Resort & Convention Centre (PRCC)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay