We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Mahavelou, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Hotel amenities
Vanivola
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vanivola to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 10 Nosy Boraha B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
JackieS85 Sydney
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Vanivola is a pleasant resort with very friendly & accommodating staff. Our bungalow was clean & a 3 star quality standard. The beds were quite hard & pillows a bit lumpy. The shower head was handheld only. Our air con didn't work however they did offer to move us after they tried to fix it. Good location, close to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacques B, Guest Relations Manager at Vanivola, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripavisor.com We are delighted to know that you could enjoy your stay with us despite the inconvenience you may have encountered. See you again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I write this review to warn potential guests about the very serious risk of being robbed in this hotel, especially if you are in a bungalow. Unfortunately I speak from experience having just been relieved of my new camera, and, more importantly its memory card. I feel most strongly that this was an "inside job" and that it won't be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacques B, Guest Relations Manager at Vanivola, responded to this review

We're really sorry this happened to you. The investigation is ongoing, but it is difficult because there is no break-ins ... Moreover, the fact that we do not know the brand of the camera to limit searches. Upon receipt of the invoice of the aircraft, we will ask our insurance reimbursement. By cons, it is unfortunate that you consider selfless... More

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at Vanivola for 2 nights in a basic room. The room was clean and the bed was ok. Even though the room was not expensive, you will be able to find better places for the same price in Saint Marie. Staff were not very hospitable. The food from the restaurant was poor. The prices are the same as in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kiama, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We also stayed here as the last stop on a tour and had a pleasant stay. We had a room in the main building with its own balcony and views over the pool and beach. The room itself was a good size but the adjoining bathroom was very small with just an open shower and toilet. There was no room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the last hotel that we stayed in as part of an organised tour to Madagascar. The rooms (we had a bungalow) have views overlooking the sea and are well proportioned and clean. The bed however, was disappointing, as it was extremely hard. In addition, the shower did not have a curtain and so the bathroom tended to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent a couple of wonderful days at the Vanivola on Ile Sainte Marie. We had a spacious comfortable and clean room in the main building with a nice veranda and view of the sea. Breakfast and dinner was mainly served outdoors and with sea view. The beach however is not suitable for swimming. We found the service and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Globe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Vanivola is a very well run place... nice clean rooms and bungalows on the beach. Staff is good and friendly. Manager is one of the kind and a very great person. Specially I liked also the small pool next to the sea. Food in ok but kitchens speed is very MoraMora... be prepared to wait 2 hours before anything comes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Ile St Marie and the hotel was of a very good standard. The bungalows were very clean and had good facilities. Having a swimming pool was great as the weather in August was hot. The owner and his staff were very friendly and arranged the whale watching and 4x4 trips. You should make sure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tananarive, Antananarivo, Madagascar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

we came to madagascar first time on the first of april and we stayed 2 month because we filmed a documentary movie the we decide to come back on july for whale watching because whales in this period are stay in sainte marie Madagascar in the indian ocean , we booked in hotel called VaniVola in my opinion this one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shiskine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel and the staff are very friendly and very helpful, the bungalows are very plush indeed, the food is delicious. The manager is very pleasant and helpful in everything you need. The swimmingpool is situated on edge of beach overlooking the ocean, and has seats and a table in the pool to enjoy drinks while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Vanivola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanivola

Address: Mahavelou, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanivola 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Vanivola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanivola Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Vanivola

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby