We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vanivola

2.0 of 5 Mahavelou, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vanivola
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Vanivola
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
13
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in one of the upstairs rooms in the main building (room 108). Rooms are basic but spacious and clean with a lovely large balcony overlooking the sea. Non-bungalow rooms don't have air conditioning and we needed to request extra fans as it was so hot - which the staff happily obliged with. Only small niggle was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacques B, Responsable relations clients at Vanivola, responded to this review
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour ce merveilleux commentaire. Malgré les petits bémols que vous avez rencontré, nous sommes heureux de savoir... More 

Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Vanivola is a pleasant resort with very friendly & accommodating staff. Our bungalow was clean & a 3 star quality standard. The beds were quite hard & pillows a bit lumpy. The shower head was handheld only. Our air con didn't work however they did offer to move us after they tried to fix it. Good location, close to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacques B, Guest Relations Manager at Vanivola, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripavisor.com We are delighted to know that you could enjoy your stay with us despite the inconvenience you may have encountered. See you again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I write this review to warn potential guests about the very serious risk of being robbed in this hotel, especially if you are in a bungalow. Unfortunately I speak from experience having just been relieved of my new camera, and, more importantly its memory card. I feel most strongly that this was an "inside job" and that it won't be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacques B, Guest Relations Manager at Vanivola, responded to this review

We're really sorry this happened to you. The investigation is ongoing, but it is difficult because there is no break-ins ... Moreover, the fact that we do not know the brand of the camera to limit searches. Upon receipt of the invoice of the aircraft, we will ask our insurance reimbursement. By cons, it is unfortunate that you consider selfless... More 

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at Vanivola for 2 nights in a basic room. The room was clean and the bed was ok. Even though the room was not expensive, you will be able to find better places for the same price in Saint Marie. Staff were not very hospitable. The food from the restaurant was poor. The prices are the same as in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kiama, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We also stayed here as the last stop on a tour and had a pleasant stay. We had a room in the main building with its own balcony and views over the pool and beach. The room itself was a good size but the adjoining bathroom was very small with just an open shower and toilet. There was no room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the last hotel that we stayed in as part of an organised tour to Madagascar. The rooms (we had a bungalow) have views overlooking the sea and are well proportioned and clean. The bed however, was disappointing, as it was extremely hard. In addition, the shower did not have a curtain and so the bathroom tended to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent a couple of wonderful days at the Vanivola on Ile Sainte Marie. We had a spacious comfortable and clean room in the main building with a nice veranda and view of the sea. Breakfast and dinner was mainly served outdoors and with sea view. The beach however is not suitable for swimming. We found the service and staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Globe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Vanivola is a very well run place... nice clean rooms and bungalows on the beach. Staff is good and friendly. Manager is one of the kind and a very great person. Specially I liked also the small pool next to the sea. Food in ok but kitchens speed is very MoraMora... be prepared to wait 2 hours before anything comes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Ile St Marie and the hotel was of a very good standard. The bungalows were very clean and had good facilities. Having a swimming pool was great as the weather in August was hot. The owner and his staff were very friendly and arranged the whale watching and 4x4 trips. You should make sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tananarive, Antananarivo, Madagascar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

we came to madagascar first time on the first of april and we stayed 2 month because we filmed a documentary movie the we decide to come back on july for whale watching because whales in this period are stay in sainte marie Madagascar in the indian ocean , we booked in hotel called VaniVola in my opinion this one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Vanivola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanivola

Address: Mahavelou, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanivola 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vanivola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanivola Madagascar/Nosy Boraha

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Vanivola

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby