We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Ifaty B&Bs / inns

Princesse du Lagon

5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Mangily | Tulear-Ifaty, Ifaty 601, Madagascar
Hotel amenities
Princesse du Lagon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Princesse du Lagon to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 6 Ifaty B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014
fabiofort Merida, Mexico
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Pegomas, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

WE were supposed to stay here for 3 nights but moved out after one night. It looks like it is going out of business, which is a shame as the hotel is quite nice. The room on the top floor had a great view and a nice terrace area. The restaurant is nearly on the beach. BUT it is dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IFATYPDL, Directeur général at Princesse du Lagon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at the Princess Lagoon. We appreciated that you find the hôtel Nice. The Hôtel is not running out of business it is on the contrary one of the most succesful in Ifaty and we are running well and we had to refuse a lot of réservation... More 

Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
95 hotel reviews
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

nice boutique hotel in the middle of nowhere in ifaty. to reach it there are 20 km of unpaved madagascar road, notoriously horrible road. the only problem is the lack of hot water in the showers, you have to ask the staff and maybe get some hot water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IFATYPDL, Directeur général at Princesse du Lagon, responded to this review

Dead valable guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at the Princess Lagoon. I am very pleased that we were able to provide everything you expected. Our facility has been designed and thought in every detail to be a place dedicated to relaxation and well-being. Our motto is to make our dream... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Title summarizes my experience. Details: I stayed here in September 2014. I arranged a snorkeling excursion through the hotel. The excursion was out on a boat with the hotel's logo on it. After I was WAY out to sea and had finished snorkeling, one of the two men who took me out started repeatedly hitting my leg, harder and harder,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Klepp Municipality, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our stay at Princess du Lagon was suppose too be six nights, we ended up with three, wich was more than enough for us. It looks very romantic in the internett adverticing, but at a closer look the romance faded... The hotel lays at the beach and in the evening they serve dinner at tables on the beach, which really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IFATYPDL, Directeur général at Princesse du Lagon, responded to this review

Dead Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at the Princess Lagoon. We would like to inform you that we were surprised by your very negative comment, as we had the opposite feedback from the other members of your family (your husband wanted to put a very positive comment). Regarding your anticipated... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a very nice stay here and enjoyed the good food. The lagoon is beautiful but the downside of it is that swimming during low tide is not really possible. Staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. Didn't like the 5% charge for credit cards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IFATYPDL, Gérant at Princesse du Lagon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at the Princess Lagoon. I am very pleased that we were able to provide everything you expected. Our facility has been designed and thought in every detail to be a place dedicated to relaxation and well-being. The lagoon is one of the biggest of the world,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

on the plus side : - the hotel is directly on the beach, which allows you to ignore the dirty village for the entire stay if you wish - the hotel and beach are west facing, and offer a beautiful sunset - the common lounging areas ( lobby, garden, pool, bar) are numerous, very stylish and very pleasant - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IFATYPDL, Gérant at Princesse du Lagon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at the Princess Lagoon. We would like to sincerely thank you for your detailed and very constructive appreciation of the hotel. I am very pleased that we were able to provide everything you expected, and that you had a positive experience of the hotel. We have... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great little hotel which we stayed at for 4 nights over Christmas 2013. Right on the beach, with a lovely salt water pool. Friendly staff, very peaceful and close to the village. Would happily have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IFATYPDL, Directeur général at Princesse du Lagon, responded to this review

Dear Mike The "Princess Team" and I would liketo thank you for staying with us. We always try to provide We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would have been glad to host you longer. Best regards Yannick Kichenin General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The good: The staff were amazing and helpful. They make the place what it is. The pool is also beautiful. Restaurant serves reasonable but slightly expensive food. Beachfront location. The not good: No wifi (this annoys me as they advertised wifi on booking.com when we booked) Very little English spoken. (Madagascar after all....) No working in room safe (the safe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IFATYPDL, Directeur général at Princesse du Lagon, responded to this review

Dear Brassones, The Princesse Team and I would like to thank you for staying with us. We always try to provide a good and friendly service as we want our place to stay small and beautiful, like a big home. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we regret that you encountered some discomfort. Indeed,... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

At the end of our holiday we stayed in this very pleasant small boutique hotel directly at the beach. Nice, charming rooms, good food, pool at the seaside and the best place to relax after 2 weeks filled with hiking and traveling. The owners are very nice people, really trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible. When it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wow! What a great place to start one's holliday in Mada! Really friendly owner Yannick aka "Mrs. Schumacher" Nice clean rooms, good restaurant/ food, really comfy beds! Yannick also supports local activities and therefore gives the village an economical boost Thumbs up for this place!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Princesse du Lagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesse du Lagon

Address: Mangily | Tulear-Ifaty, Ifaty 601, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Ifaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Princesse du Lagon 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Princesse du Lagon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Princesse du Lagon

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby