We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
P.O.Box 24 Nyeri, Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Outspan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Outspan Hotel to your Saves list
49%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Dave T Horsham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
24
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In 2012 I Went to Outspan hotel for lunch, on our way to Tree Tops, a Safari lodge. The lunch was very good served by friendly and helpful staff. Whilst looking around the beautiful grounds of exotic plants and watching the colourful birds, I was approached by a member of staff whom asked if I would like to visit the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I arrived at out span on Monday at 6:45 pm after driving in a torrential downpour from Nairobi. My booking could not be found so I was assigned a new room. They said they we're upgrading me to deluxe so I felt glad. The rooms are colonial, the ambience ancient. The curtains horrendously old. The bed! It was the worst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Aberdare National Park hotels

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I spent a weekend at the outspan with some of my family members in august. The hotel in general is good on an average level......it leaves a lot to be desired.....my first room didnt have a good heating system for water but the hotel staff transferred me to a different room...though it took a while before they took action....the selection... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The reason to go to out span is to visit the final resting place of the founder of girl guides / scouts. A very special place for the worlds largest women's movement/ scouts. Enjoyed every minute. Great staff, lovely gardens, I will return, hopefully on November 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Outspan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor and good to know you enjoyed your stay at Outspan. We are glad to be associated with Founders of World Scout Movement and Paxtu that has been gazetted as a National Monument in Kenya. We look forward to hosting you In November 2015 Regards E.Nguraru More

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We decided to stay here because it was a historic lodge, however it really is in a sorry state. The staff were really friendly and it is in a lovely place. We stayed in Room 11, a wonderful size looking over the garden. Very happy with the old furniture, but the sheet on the bed was too small and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Outspan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah H, Thank you for staying in this historic hotel and we are glad that you took time to share your experience with us on Tripadviosor. We have taken note of your suggestions and have engaged the chef regarding food quality. We look forward to hosting you soon. Regards E. Nguraru More

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for a week for work. Front of house staff were great; in particular they sent someone into town to a pharmacy for me at no cost and arranged to have stuff I'd left behind forwarded to Nairobi really efficiently. Grounds really beautiful too and my room had veranda, shower and bath-tub, as well as the fire you can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bermuda
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have been avoiding this hotel like the plague, instead opting to stay at relatives' houses over the years. But for Christmas, we had 15 people going back home so I thought, Iet's try again. At least during this check in, the staff were better than the last time I was here. When I saw the room (see below) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Outspan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your feedback regarding your stay at Outspan is appreciated. In regards to product improvement, management started with Treetops refurbishment in 2012. Outspan is next and shall advise our customers once all plans are in place. However we did upgrade 9 standard rooms to deluxe status in 2009. When next in Nyeri, I recommend you book the deluxe wing... More

Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a country feel. The green grass, many trees, great climate and the sound of the river from afar are extremely relaxing. In the evening, a fire can be lit in the fireplace, on request. The food was ok, but on one day, not fresh. The staff are helpful but don't seem to enjoy their work as much.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stopped at this hotel for lunch on the way to the Treetops Hotel. It is also where one can leave large pieces of luggage as there is very little storage space in the cosy rooms at the Treetops Hotel. The Outspan hotel used to be the home of Robert Baden-Powell who was the founder of the Scouts movement. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Their rooms were nice and the building has great history, loved the furniture in the room. Real wood that one cannot find easily these days. Breakfast was great in the balcony, pity we were not able to see the mountain due to overhanging clouds. Dinner staff at the restaurant could use a bit of improvement. Otherwise, after a whole day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Outspan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outspan Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 24 Nyeri, Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Outspan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outspan Hotel Aberdare National Park
Outspan Hotel Kenya/Aberdare National Park

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay