We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thalassa Hotel

#10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
17/100 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Thalassa Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

From check in to check out morning to night the people at Thalassa were so kind and helpful. We had problems with our taxi and travel agent and they accommodated us another night as well as tried to help us get in touch with the taxi driver. The breakfast choices are simple and good. The room is so very clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaxmk5683
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From checking in, to checking out, from the Manager to waiting staff, all personnel were friendly, helpful, polite, professional and fun. King room was large, modern and clean, with very comfortable bed. Well stocked mini fridge and snacks. TV with many English channels. Large safe. Powerful shower. Restaurant had 3 option complimentary breakfast, all very good. Delicious tasty Tapas menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank j j
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good things: - The design of the hotel is really nice. Modern and well thought. - Breakfast is good. You will be offered three options (all good). - Location is good, if you don't mind some noise. This hotel is located in a vivid street close to the beach. The bad things: - No water! Of the 3 days... More 

Helpful?
Thank alfonsopgc
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alfonsopgc, Thank you for your review, we are sorry that your staying at Thalassa hotel didn't fit you. Concerning the water issues, as you may have noticed with other reviews, you came on a complicated period for the hotel. The island is very small and sometimes all the accommodations of Koh Tao meet problems with the water. The 24h... More 

australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Positives Seems relatively new Bed was comfortable The staff were helpful The Internet was consistent Negatives Tried to pay the bill a few times throughout the stay, was told to come back when the manager was back. The food at the hotel is expensive for what it is. There are much better restaurants on the main road. The first night... More 

Helpful?
Thank travel_bugs21
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear travel_bugs21, Thank you for sharing your Thalassa experience with us. We look forward to hear all the customers feedback. We apologize about the electrical issue, we are on a small island and so the electrical company can meet some troubles. We offer our customers a transport service if they want, if you met a problem it is probably due... More 

United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel in a super location, contrary to other reviews our room 203 was spacious and the bed very clean and comfortable, yes there is a slight issue with the water smelling but whose to say this is not widespread on the island. The staff are very kind and helpful and the breakfast which was included was substantial and nice especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank beverleyanne1957
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beverleyanne1957, Thank you for your very nice review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us at Thalassa Hotel. As you said, we unfortunately had some water issue due to the period and the island location. Thank you for your comprehension anyway. All the team is looking forward to see you again in Koh... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we first arrived we made a booking for two couples and they only recieved one. "Luckely" they had a room for one of us at another hotel down the street. Lets just say the rooms look much better on the internet. They are really small but the worst thing is the bathroom. The shower is over the toilet with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mizz_cherry
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mizz_cherry, Thank you to share your impressions with us. We look forward to hear about our customers feedback. We are really sorry you didn't appreciate your staying with us. Concerning the problems you had in your room unfortunately you came in a period we had some water issues since we are on a small island, it can happen. As... More 

Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has a great location near the beach, that is the only positive. The rooms are small and the breakfast is measly (You get 15 beans if you order backed beans). The main problem is the bathroom. The water is stale so every time you open the tap or shower it stinks so bad you want to vomit. Taking... More 

Helpful?
Thank GemmaShah87
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GemmaShah87, Thank you for your review, we always look forward to hear the feedback of our customers. We are really sorry you didn't appreciate your staying with us. Unfortunately as we are located on a very small island, water issues can happen, but we always try to fix the problems as soon as possible. We hope you enjoyed the... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a nice little hotel located on a side street just a few steps away from the walking street. It was clean for the most part, there was a smell in the bathroom from the sewage I believe, but it's also a small island so I don't know how well it is on the entire island. It was tolerable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicole M, Thank you for your nice review. As you said, being on an island we can have some water issues but we try to fix it as fast as possible. We are always interested in our customers feedback and we take note of your recommendations. Anyway we are glad you enjoyed your staying on Koh Tao and we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

I really liked this very clean, modern, simple yet sophisticaterd hotel. The room was exactly what was needed on the island of Koh Tao which exists mainly to serve diving lovers. I love diving as well, but was a little shocked to find that Koh Tao is overun with drunken college students and despite the fact that most everyone goes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank frankyk69
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Franky69, Thank you for your review. Of course the location of Thalassa might correspond to people who want to enjoy the night life and the animations it offers. But we are very glad you appreciate the hotel and it services though. Don't hesitate to pass by the hotel if you come back on Koh Tao. Thank you, team Thalassa. More 

Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

Very nice hotel on the street down to Sairee beach. We had a family room that was big and nice. Good breakfast, you could choose from 3 alternativs. Friendly staff. They can arrange pick up from the pier.

Helpful?
Thank Malligamalin
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Malligamalin, Thank you to share your feedback with us. We are glad you enjoyed to stay with us at Thalassa hotel and that the hotel services suited you well. It would be a pleasure for the team to receive you one more time if you come back in Koh Tao. Regards, Team Thalassa. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Haad Tien Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#21 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay