We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Montalay Beach Resort

53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Montalay Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Montalay Beach Resort
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    144
    57
    15
    12
See reviews for
56
171
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (344)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed there for 9 days and loved it. We took our advanced open water course here and definitely felt like we walked out better divers. The diving is very intimate (4-6 people on the boat at a time) which creates a good atmosphere and the possibility to brief and debrief the dives really well. On top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sornkanok, Management Team at Montalay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your valuable comments. We're so appreciated and hope to see you again :) More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as part of our travels through Thailand. We only stayed here for 2 days and it was horrible. We got in around 4pm and our room was not the room we paid for. We went Into the washroom and there was a foot long lizard living in the washroom. There was poop from the lizard all over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sornkanok, Management Team at Montalay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for you valuable comments. We're so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay at our resort. Please allow me to explain and elaborate some of your concern. * Snorkel & Kayak : are open from 8am to 6pm everyday. Rental fee is 50 thb/day for snorkel and 800 thb/day for Kayak. The reason we closed at 6pm... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would recommend this place to anyone! You can find the resort one of the most beautiful beaches of Ko Tao, located at the more peaceful site of the island. The rooms are very good and neat, the hospitality was great and the Montalay staff is super friendly. The food was delicious and you can easily grab a bite at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sornkanok, Management Team at Montalay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your valuable comments. We're so appreciated and hope to see you again :) More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

after travelling around Thailand we wanten to relax at a nice beach resort. Montalay is the perfect location, beautiful beach, great restaurant and good rooms/houses. Nice people who all speak english and can arrange tickets and taxi's for the next trip you make. Also perfect for diving, there is a diving school at the resort with a great dive instructor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sornkanok, Management Team at Montalay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your valuable comments. We're so appreciated and hope to see you again :) More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To get to Montalay you have to go along a very bumpy road, but it's not far from the pier by taxi (maybe 10-15mins). Montalay can pick you up for free. We stayed in the treetop cottage (wooden house on stilts on the hillside) and when we first arrived the staff were worried that my Dad might have trouble with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this place is perfect. You practically have the beach to yourselves. Our bungalow was great, and had everything we needed. There isn't a great deal of restaurants around but the hotel serves food and there are a few near by. Perfect for a few days to switch off, and chill with a book on the beach!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked on AGODA and was given a decent/fair rate of $56, when you check in, they advise that this doesn't include air conditioning - only a fan. If you're willing to pay 700 TBH per night, they will then give you the key that allows the air conditioning to function. The property itself is well maintained, and the villa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice place to stay. Location is beautiful. The food and beverages were well priced with the food being very good. The staff pleasant and accommodating. Room is clean and good in size with all the amenities you needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bideford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the time we climbed onto the back of the jeep to get to the hotel, we knew we were going somewhere special. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel is right next to beautiful Tanote Bay, with its fantastic snorkeling and diving opportunities. Breakfast was o.k.. There was a nice pool but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

This place was ok. Had lots of pros and cons which balanced the experience. Pros were that the room was big for the price we paid, staff were nice, and room came with decent basic amenities like a kettle and daily free water. Decent pool, beach had clear water but was quite dirty. Not exactly paradise. A big con for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

563 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (309)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (72)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Beach (11)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Tree Top Cottage (46)
Viewed
Tropical Garden Cottage (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities