We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 67 Ko Tao accommodations

Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel

Moo 2 | Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
36%
Ranked #44 of 67 Specialty lodging in Ko Tao
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014
ajpaddon1 London, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (49)
  • Photos (14)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    11
    8
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
1
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This place has got some pretty low reviews but if your a backpacker looking for a few nights cheap bunking on a tropical island it does the job. The air con was pretty noisy at night and the shower/toilet area a bit smelly but it is a hostel so you can't always expect perfection. Other than that the place was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

After travelling thailand for 9 weeks over the past year, this is by far the worst place i have stayed at. This property is where they give the divers of 'Davy Locker Room Dive School' they're free accomodation. UK Prisons are better than this. The rooms are concrete rooms (no paint on the walls or decorative flooring). Rickerty old metal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Having never spent time in a UK prison myself I'm unable to confirm your comparison, I was a little concerned however about your report that someone had stolen the paint off the walls but I have checked and it does seem to have been returned. Looking at when you stayed I think you may have been unfortunate enough to have... More

Surat Thani Province, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hostel we would rate as average, therooms were not.very clean.and we had to ask them.to clean.rooms many times, the shower was broken and no hot water, beds a bit hard as well.but worth a stay if you are on a tight budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caprino Bergamasco, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hostel is embarrassing. Dirty, old, small and the staff isn't friendly at all. The room I was in had just two electric plugs and both away from the beds. No personal light, no table, no nothing. Walls were full of spiderwebs. But the most embarrassing thing were the showers. olds, dirty, and the water pressure was almost absent. AVOID

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Well the cost really isn't that much to avoid the hostel you can stay in a nice private fan room opposite the swimming pool at Silver Sands Resort for just an additional 650 baht per night. Where you have your own light and shower with hot water and even your own TV, sorry no table though? These rooms are only... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at Koh Tao backpackers for one week. I have to say if I wasn't diving every day and hardly ever at the hostel, I would not have liked staying here. The dorm room I stayed in was ok, but there was no window to open which with 8 people got very stinky and stuffy indeed. The aircon kind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We no longer charge for towels or blankets as this seemed to be the root of many complaints we received, I just assumed it would be fairer to not charge people who were backpacking with a towel and sleeping bag/blanket and only charge people for the laundry cost if they did rent these from us. I do apologise I was... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm room which was clean enough and had lockers and air con plus a fan. Shower and toilet area constantly had a vile stench in the air but Were not the dirtiest you will find I'm sure, staff helpful and friendly enough, were given sheet and pillow case but had to pay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yangon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was travelling solo in August and wanted to find a hostel to stay. it is very close to the pier and the beach. It's also more quiet than the main beach, which I prefer. The hostel is still new, so it is clean. Perfect for backpacker.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place was in the perfect spot with a bit more care it coild be lovely and if your not a full blown backpacker then imwould stay clear the air cone worked bit didnt reach past half way so one side of the room was freezing the other side boiling. You got given a sheet and a pillow case but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A group of 4 of us stayed here, initially planning just to spend three nights. When we arrived the lady who checked us in was lovely and super helpful. We were trying to find a ferry over to Koh Pagnan for full moon party so she suggested a number of places we could go to check for ferry spaces and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As a backpacker, this is a fine place to stay. Ofcourse, there are betters, like bans avenue for example, but this place is just 20 meters away from the party. That means less noise and less annoying drunk brits, yet still in the party. You also pay less here than at bans avenue. Squeeky beds, but apart from that a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey thanks for the positive review, with the AC we do leave the remote in the room so that customers can adjust the temperature themselves. Which can mean that you'll get someone in the room who'll turn the AC right down to the lowest setting which is great if you have just walked in from outside, but if you leave... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel

Address: Moo 2 | Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Koh Tao Backpackers is in central Sairee, Koh Tao. Koh Tao Backpackers offers cheap hostel style accommodation for both divers and non divers. Located in Sairee at the Silver Sands Resort, behind Davy Jones Locker Diving who's restaurant/bar and swimming pool we use as our common areas, Koh Tao Backpackers is close to everything you'll need whilst here on Koh Tao. We also have full access to the Dive resort's swimming pool and bar restaurant. We have AC in all the dormitories, hot water showers, lockers in the dormitories and 24 hour reception with CCTV cameras. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
4

See which rooms travelers prefer