We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 59 Ko Tao accommodations

Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel

Moo 2 | Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    10
    7
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
1
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Been backpacking around south East Asia for a while now. Never written a review before because I've never stayed somewhere so bad. From the outside and reception it looks ok, so we didn't bother asking to look at the rooms. Once we had paid for two nights we realised what a mistake we had! We stayed in an 8 room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel was overall okay. Great location, close to pretty much everything. Lots of backpackers staying here, so if you want to socialize this is a good place to stay. The toilets were disgusting. They smelled really bad. The showers had NO pressure at all, had to wash out all the schampoo under the sink instead. Also there was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this place for 2nights.It was my first hostel experience.The beds weren't the most comfy but it's a hostel,I paid 350bth/night. I had to make my own bed,bedding seemed somehow clean,but the towels were nasty.they almost seemed greasy,it was hard to wipe myself with it;(( the toilets were really dirty and stinky,showers were a disaster,I showered about 3x... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel had a good location in relation to bars, restaurants and the beach but this hostel was by far the worst toilets/showers I have ever used. The rooms were basic but quite comfortable and always air conditioned but the toilets and showers were disgusting. For some people this can be expected in a hostel but I have paid less... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakewood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was my first experience using a hostel. The dorm was clean, the showers and head (bathroom), were fine. With 8 backpackers, at times there was a tolerable clutter. It was only a couple min walk to the beach, near great food places, and other stores, like 7-11, pharmacies, and convenience stores, etc. The managers were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This place has got some pretty low reviews but if your a backpacker looking for a few nights cheap bunking on a tropical island it does the job. The air con was pretty noisy at night and the shower/toilet area a bit smelly but it is a hostel so you can't always expect perfection. Other than that the place was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

After travelling thailand for 9 weeks over the past year, this is by far the worst place i have stayed at. This property is where they give the divers of 'Davy Locker Room Dive School' they're free accomodation. UK Prisons are better than this. The rooms are concrete rooms (no paint on the walls or decorative flooring). Rickerty old metal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Having never spent time in a UK prison myself I'm unable to confirm your comparison, I was a little concerned however about your report that someone had stolen the paint off the walls but I have checked and it does seem to have been returned. Looking at when you stayed I think you may have been unfortunate enough to have... More

Surat Thani Province, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hostel we would rate as average, therooms were not.very clean.and we had to ask them.to clean.rooms many times, the shower was broken and no hot water, beds a bit hard as well.but worth a stay if you are on a tight budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caprino Bergamasco, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hostel is embarrassing. Dirty, old, small and the staff isn't friendly at all. The room I was in had just two electric plugs and both away from the beds. No personal light, no table, no nothing. Walls were full of spiderwebs. But the most embarrassing thing were the showers. olds, dirty, and the water pressure was almost absent. AVOID

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Well the cost really isn't that much to avoid the hostel you can stay in a nice private fan room opposite the swimming pool at Silver Sands Resort for just an additional 650 baht per night. Where you have your own light and shower with hot water and even your own TV, sorry no table though? These rooms are only... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at Koh Tao backpackers for one week. I have to say if I wasn't diving every day and hardly ever at the hostel, I would not have liked staying here. The dorm room I stayed in was ok, but there was no window to open which with 8 people got very stinky and stuffy indeed. The aircon kind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil D, Owner at Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We no longer charge for towels or blankets as this seemed to be the root of many complaints we received, I just assumed it would be fairer to not charge people who were backpacking with a towel and sleeping bag/blanket and only charge people for the laundry cost if they did rent these from us. I do apologise I was... More

Been to Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel

Address: Moo 2 | Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 59 Specialty lodging in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Backpackers is in central Sairee, Koh Tao. Koh Tao Backpackers offers cheap hostel style accommodation for both divers and non divers. Located in Sairee at the Silver Sands Resort, behind Davy Jones Locker Diving who's restaurant/bar and swimming pool we use as our common areas, Koh Tao Backpackers is close to everything you'll need whilst here on Koh Tao. We also have full access to the Dive resort's swimming pool and bar restaurant. We have AC in all the dormitories, hot water showers, lockers in the dormitories and 24 hour reception with CCTV cameras. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list