We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beach Village Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
100/5 Moo 1 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beach Village Backpackers
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Beach Village Backpackers
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    32
    23
    10
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
24
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Beach Village Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

I've stayed here during xmas so i had to pay a little more than normal but it was worth it. You can take a dive in the pool or the sea, there's a cocktail bar and a restaurant where they serve everythig from breakfast tot burritos. Wifi in the dorms did not work but you're supposed to sleep there so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jack W, Manager at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you @Sietze B for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Lucky to stay in a bungalow just in front of the beach and at a few meters of the pool, the area is nice. The water was not clean, but the employees cleaned the beach every morning. The area was empty and I was expecting more animation (louder deep house music, more smily peoples, ect...). The bungalow have simple furniture... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jack W, Manager at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you @Deepmatic for your review. The bungalows on the beach do have amazing views. Glad you liked them. We are normally fully booked over Half Moon and Full Moon periods. When people book outside of these times our rooms are cheaper and the resort is quieter. (This is a great time to come if your wanting a more relaxed... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We ended up at the beach village booking through a Thai agency, we were not told it was a backpackers resort ideal for young people on a budget looking to party. We were disappointed on arrival as the agent had booked one of the cheapest bungalows( fan bungalow) however the two main ladies in charge at the reception,( sorry we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jack W, Manager at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you @MLondon77 for your review. We always advise people to do their own research when booking. Some (a lot of) companies do have a habit of over charging people and giving out false information. We were more than happy to help try and resolve the situation, and hope that you still had a pleasurable time with us. Take care... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here from the 2nd December to the 7th and it was honestly the best place we have stayed so far in Thailand. The staff are friendly/funny and the manager ( I'm guessing) Jack was good fun and was always making the stay better. We stayed in a bungalow for 3 nights then a dorm of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jack W, Manager at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you @Nikki F for your review. Fantastic review, thank you for telling us the good and bad. We will see what we can do about the shower in the bungalows, unfortunately this island seems to lack pressure when it comes to the water. We have just put some cushions on the beds down at the pool, we want you... More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

I've just got back from travelling Asia for 2 months and this place was without a doubt the best value for money. Best view, stayed right on the beach, big room, good shower. All members of staff were extremely friendly!! Swimming pool with a bar on the beach front with music playing, you can also play you're own if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We stayed in a beach side bungalow for 1000B. It had AC and was basic, no hot water though. The pool was nice and the bar, I'm sure it's a fun place when busy, but not when it's off season. Staff was ok, movies playing in the dining area, food takes a long time to come out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Radovljica, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the full moon party in september. The bungalow was basic, but the beds were very comfortable. Just 2 steps away from the amazing and ever popular swimming pool. A great poolside bar, with excellent service and always playing the right tunes. Great place for meeting new people before the full moon. They always organized reasonably priced transfers to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jack W, Manager at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you @Janeztrelc for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over the full moon period. We do our best to ensure that you get the 'Full' Full Moon experience, by providing that party vibe and help our guests get the most out of Koh Phangan. Thank you for staying with us and we... More 

Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Chose this place due to all the reviews I've read on how this would be the best place to meet people. I was here in late Jan 2013 and it was E-M-P-T-Y! So make sure if you are here in Koh Phangan, choose the right time. Although this island is known to have parties every weekend, it's best if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jack W, Manager at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Stephanie, I'm not quite sure that i can regard this as a relevant review, and this is because you have left it almost 2 YEARS after you stayed here to leave one! Within that time the resort has completely new owners, management and staff which have all invested alot of time and money into making this a better place... More 

Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Beautiful hostel/hotel with options from choosing to stay in a 20 something dorm or a bungalow for two people. Restaurant with breakfast and good lunch/dinner. Good service. Pool with a beach bar and the beach is right there. So litterally, we stayed in a bungalow that was 5 metres away from the pool and the pool was like 20 metres... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jack W, Manager at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, We are all very pleased when people leave here with good memories and a smile on there face. All our staff at The Beach Village have the same objective, and that is to make sure everyone is having the best time they possibly can and to provide a service that will help you... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We were originally going to stay next door at The Blue Parrot but then walked over and discovered we could stay at this amazing resort with a huge pool and cocktail bar for the same price so obviously we chose here! Jack, the manager, is very welcoming and wants to ensure everyone is happy and taken care of. He cares... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jack W, Manager at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello mate, I really appreciate your review not only for the kind words but because you have written a 'proper' review including both the pros and cons of your stay here, rather than just one or the other. This means that i know what needs to be changed or altered so that our future customers can maybe have an even... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (49)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question