We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 201 Ko Phangan accommodations

The Beach Village Backpackers

100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Beach Village Backpackers to your Saves list
The Beach Village Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Til_theman Munich
  • Reviews (133)
  • Photos (111)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    21
    13
    4
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
14
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The time I spent at the beach Village was truly amazing. Jack, the two owners (daddy and son) were so friendly and down to earth that every minute I felt like home! The rooms are very large and I got a bungalow straight on the beach - the pool with great Cocktails, the restaurant with delicious food and the private... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not at all what we expecting! We had booked to stay in the beach front villa (flash-est room) and were hopeful of a pleasant experience. The room was 1500 baht per night - on the expensive side! When we arrived; reception area is a dump, staff were unfriendly, no one to even help carry bags. They demanded we pay up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jack W, Manager at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review

BE AWARE! This is a party Resort / Hostel!! Thank you for your review, I say this because i would like the people viewing our Tripadvisor profile as a potential place to stay to read this and hopefully understand a few things about the resort. This information is on every website that our resort features on and the brochures for... More

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have to say I was quite disappointing staying here. All the reviews were so positive and I must have missed a lot of it. The locations is pretty nice, but the beach it is on is not great. The pool was awesome. The restaurant was OK. Food was not bad, but took very long to come out same with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jack W, Manager at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and i'm very glad you had a good time at The Beach Village, however i am sorry you did not enjoy your accommodation. Since the resort has only come under new management not long ago it has been our main priority to get all of our older original (Thai built) accommodation up to our what we... More

Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days and the atmosphere here is incredible. It's a resort with everything you need and the staff are great. Jack one of the managers sorted out loads of birthday gifts for my best friend and put balloons and presents in our room whilst we were out to suprise her! They didn't need to do this and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Can even call that a hostel. Its more like a resort. They have everything you need. Its close to the ferry terminal, right across the street from a grocery store and restaurants. But if you dont feel like leaving the property, because the awesome swimming pool ocean front, not a problem they have a restaurant with a lot of options... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I came to Beach Village to stay a few days and ended up staying over 2 weeks. I was travelling alone and staying in a bungalow and found it easy to meet people at the pool. The vibes at this place are amazing. Jack and the rest of the staff are very helpful and do everything they can to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days before moving on to explore more of Thailand. Well managed resort with brilliant atmosphere. Room was great - clean and all working properly and the staff couldn't do enough to help us plan our journey. Thanks especially to Jack. Hope to see you again soon mate

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Really incredible resort. I went here during my gap year based on the reviews I saw online and can say that I was not disappointed. The people were incredibly helpful throughout, a high level of hygiene/cleanliness was found and throughout my year abroad staying here was definitely one of my favourite moments. Also the pool and the general vibe I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

we have been traveling for over six months and this is the first time i have felt compelled to write a review. stayed here over the May full moon from the moment we arrived we started having fun. the owners are Thai and British and nothing was too much trouble for them. we had a run in with a scooter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Visited this place as part of my traveling. Couldn't recommend anything better - fab service, always with a smile, all the amenities you need. Top pool - everything was clean, tidy and just a really fun + vibrant place to be. Really made you feel at home and definitely enhanced my holiday experience. Best of all, very affordable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Beach Village Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Beach Village Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Village Backpackers

Address: 100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your The Beach Village Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (81)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Description: The Beach Village - The Life and Soul of Paradise on the beautiful island Koh Phangan. A place you can party and relax while looking over the gulf of Thailand at the picturesque views and sunsets over Koh Samui.The Beach Village Backpackers is a beachfront “village style” resort offering many different types of accommodation ranging from the more luxurious beachfront bungalows to clean and comfortable backpacker dorms all surrounded by all the facilities you will ever need to have a great staySituated just 5 minutes from Thongsala pier and the bustling capital town of Koh Phangan, you get straight down to business and cool down by taking a dip in our huge tropical swimming pool or relax and get a tan on the 200m of clean sandy beach. Sip on a cocktail from our new Tiki Beach Bar and get ready for a night out in the on site beach club which regularly gets names such as Netsky, DJ Friction members of the prodigy, Goldie and many others spinning all kinds of music. For a truly unique and affordable experience, with a touch of Thai culture but with all the Western comforts, The Beach Village has several areas for you to explore and enjoy including a large restaurant with a great and affordable thai/western menu. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
18

See which rooms travelers prefer