We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hacienda Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
99/39 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hacienda Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sure the WiFi isn't great. And you probably booked the resort, and were sent to backpackers. But what an island... At ten bucks a night you can't beat it. If something wasn't working or broken, Kai fixed it immediately for us. Especially the problems created by our booking agent. Kai went around handling problems with a smile every single day.... More 

Helpful?
Thank E B
Surat Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice clean, cheap and quiet room. The location is perfect as you a few minutes walk to the beach and pool and a few minutes walk to the nearest shops and cafes. Food at Mingalaba was really delicious and very cheap (50THB for some meals). I would definitely recommend this to anyone!

Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is nothing like the pictures show, especially the backpackers part.... I stayed do 6 nights, on the first night I was put in to a dorm room on my own, this wouldn't have been too bad if I wasn't sleeping on a prison style mattress! Thankfully they were blue to move me to another room the next morning... More 

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com

Helpful?
Thank conormg2016
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in hacienda backpackers for a few nights when i was on the island for partying. It was a very nice room with aircon and hot water to a very decent price. Also super friendly staff. The small restaurant next to the hotel complex had a good menu to a very good price. I also had access to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karl K
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

Didn't have any expectations. But clean cheap and friendly staff. Food at the bar is really good and That Ko Oo as bartender just put a gold edge at the visit. Close to the beach and swimmingpool. Biggest complain is the weather.

Helpful?
Thank Jacob T
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

I spent there a week preparing my dive course and full moon party. Due to a problem on my lung I stopped the dive course and they gave me the money back. The place is nice, allows you to use a pool with bar, the gym etc. Very good price and lovely ambiance. Staff is amazing. When I ll go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Herreras19
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

Visited the hostel on the full moon weekend. Had problems with the staff for the whole weekend. One girls passport was given away to another person staying at the hostel and they accepted no responsibility even though it was completely their problem. Bathroom was leaking so the floor was soaking the whole time and toilet roll was not replaced for... More 

Helpful?
Thank heleward
BeachResortHacienda, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Many thanks for your feedback and review. Firstly I would like to say that I am sorry that you found you had problems with our staff. We have a wonderful team of people who do their best to make sure that everyone is comfortable and enjoying their time here on the island. I would also like to clarify what... More 

Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

We got a room which has not been cleaned, so there were dirty rests in the whole room, especially in the bathroom!!! Our room was in front of the Muay Thai stadium (to the street), so you can hear 'tonight, the biggest fight of the year...' announces 24/7 (extremely loud!!!). In front of the window there were the electric wires... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janina R
BeachResortHacienda, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there Many thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the fact that your room had not been cleaned! This is very unusual and I can only think that reception were misinformed by housekeeping as to which rooms had been cleaned. I have since alerted... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

Firstly this back packers is super cheap, so you get what you pay for. Con's: there is no wifi, don't even try. The password never works and if it does there is no signal. (It is an island after all though). The bathroom was the most shocking thing I have ever come across. There was a bad mould situation, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Get the best of both, hostel dorms and socialness plus the ability to chill by the pool at a beach resort. Incredible staff who's main aim is to make sure you have a good time and get the most of the island. Cheap food and drink which is always handy too

Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Resort & Beach Club
Hacienda Resort & Beach Club
#53 of 117 in Ko Phangan
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
3.9 mi away
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
#18 of 279 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Beach Bed & Bar
At Beach Bed & Bar
#20 of 279 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Baan Tai Backpackers
Baan Tai Backpackers
#1 of 279 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
5.5 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#21 of 279 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay