We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 220 Ko Phangan accommodations

Hacienda Backpackers

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   99/39 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Hacienda Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hacienda Backpackers to your Saves list
84%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014
emmagh123 Jinjiang, China
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Jinjiang, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

had a great time in koh phangan. The pool area and bar were great. Met great people and quite a sociable place. The room however was a little dirty and throughout our stay here, toilet bins etc were not emptied which is a bit unpleasant. The rooms were basic which you expect when paying cheap rates but a bit more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Emmagh, We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great crew at the pool bar and they love to get everyone socializing and in party mode. Many guests stay out late and like to sleep in late also and naturally dont want to be disturbed by a cleaning crew so we inform them... More

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The staff were nicest, coolest bunch of people i've met on my trip. They truly made us feel welcome and part of the crew. We stayed in the backpackers, met some lovely guests. The rooms are really cheap,and they are a backpackers so if you're not used to backpacker styles better google it.. Constantly saw the staff cleaning the bathrooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Geni, Thank you very much for all the compliments, it was a real treat having you here. There are not to many party people out there that can keep up with Dribbles but you two hung in there till the end, respect due. Thanks again. David D. More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Firstly I have never written a review on trip advisor but since I had such a terrible experience I felt It was necessary. Me and my friend booked our accommodation for the full moon party with hacienda backpackers after it was recommended by STA. We made a conscious decision not to book any accommodation on our travels however we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Alexandra, I am quite surprised you left such a nasty, spiteful and false review. We received a booking from you for two rooms over the full moon period. When you arrived at reception you said you only booked one room. When I produced your booking voucher that showed that you indeed did reserve two rooms you immediately conceded to... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a great stay at hacienda backpackers, great value for money (with the access to the beach resort). Dribbles sorted every problem for us and was invaluable and extremely amusing/accommodating at all times despite not being up to his usual party form. Keng, Am and Diego were also fantastic staff. I even attended the shiva moon party with Am... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I loved my stay at Hacienda! The staff are so welcoming from the moment I booked (had an email conversation to organise pick up from the port). Dribbles seems to be the resident part animal, and is an absolute legend for organising some great beer pong and getting everybody chatting! We did Full moon party, Jungle Party and a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Matt, Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. It sounds like you had a great time here and it was our pleasure hosting you. Record sales of big bottles of Leo again !!! Cheers Matt, David D. More

Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Hacienda during Songkran and full moon in April. The building itself is clean with big private rooms and also has dorms available. I can't praise the staff enough. Right from the start David at the front desk gave us all the info for the island, showed us to our room, and was willing to help in absolutely anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Phillip, Great review from great guests. That was the best Songkran party we ever had, one truely amazing day. We do have some characters working for us and all very much love the recognition. Thanks again from the whole team. David D. More

Victoria, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I came for the full moon party, and could not have chosen a better place to stay! The location is perfect and the place offers so much from a pool, to scooter rentals, to a great place to eat right next door. The staff here truly make it great :) Dave is so genuine and so helpful;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Joanna, Thank you very much for the great review. Haxing guests like you make our job so much more enjoyable. You two were so laid back and always chilled out. Dribbles does it again. Cheers from the whole crew. David D. More

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Originally intended to stay here for 3 or 4 days in January and ended up staying for 3 or 4 weeks instead. Mainly because the staff were awesome, especially Nathan at the backpackers reception. He makes sure everyone is always having a good time. Thanks also to Luke who took me diving. I'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Buddy, Thanks for the review. You are not the first person to extend their stay for a few weeks and you woh't be the last. Koh Phangan and the Backpackers have that effect on some people, either way it was great having you stay here. Luke said you were a natural in the water. I'm pretty sure we will... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Hacienda backpackers was very helpful. They booked hotels and ferry trips for the rest of our trip. Would recommend to everyone!!! I hope that everyone reads this and goes there! The reception people made us feel welcome and spoke Thai to all the people needed. I was very pleased with the outcome

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Gabriella, Thank you very much for this review. As you pointed out, we are not just a hotel but also a full service travel agency. We were more than happy to assist you. Cheers from the whole team. David D. More

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We first arrived at hacienda expecting a private room which we booked through a travel agent in England. Unfortunately the travel agent made a mistake and we were put in a dorm room. Dave and dribbles at reception really helped us solve the problem and were happy to help. Through tour stay the staff were very friendly and helped us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jay, Thank you very much for taking the time to show your appreciation for our efforts. We were very happy to help you out and assist with your travel needs so that you could get on with having a great time. Thanks again from the whole team. David D. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hacienda Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Backpackers

Address: 99/39 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Road, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hacienda Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay